We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guides and great tours in London & Paris”

British Tours - Day Tours from London
Ranked #30 of 704 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Tours Ltd. is Britain's longest-established personal tour operator established in 1958. If you are looking for personally guided day tours in and around London, extended tours of England, Scotland & Wales, and excellent tour guides, you have come to the right place.
nashville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent guides and great tours in London & Paris”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We used British tours on our trip to London and Paris and they were awesome! I can't say enough about the guides and the organization of the tours. It was our first trip to both places and they did a great job in giving us overviews and some of the little known details. In London, we did the London tour, Windsor Castle & Hampton and Bath,Stonehenge and Salisbury. Our guides provided a lot of historical information and got us to the perfect location for changing of the guard. In Paris, we did the Paris tour and Versailles. We saw so much of the city and culture and our guides took us to some of the best local places to eat. They were wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dog454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    21
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Exellent experience with British Tours!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked two private tours with British Tours in London and one in Paris after reading reviews on tripadvisor. We were traveling with two children ages five and eight that I would describe as very active and busy boys. We wanted to be able to tailor the tours based on the needs and interests of our young family.

Our first guide Nigel was very punctual and professional. He picked us up at our hotel in a very clean and comfortable vehicle. Our first tour was of Warwick Castle as our boys were fans of Terry Deary's Horrible Histories and wanted to experience the features at the castle. The drive from London to the castle was picturesque and Nigel pointed out many points of interest in the city and countryside along the way. The castle was a highlight for our boys who got to see the firing of a trebuchet, climb up the towers, practice shooting arrows at targets, paint their own shields, attend knight school, put on chainmail and see the many re-enactment shows at the castle. Nigel knew he was our guide for our second day and gave the excursion much thought so that our young boys would have a very pleasant day. He knew that we were seeing Buckingham Palace and we had Windsor Castle booked the same day. He thought it would be too much for the boys and decided we would enjoy the Tower of London and Hampton Court Palace ending with our tour of Buckingham Palace. His recommendation was excellent as our boys would not have fared will with Buckingham and Windsor the same day and Nigel's suggestions took this into consideration and as a result we had a fabulous day and the boys were engaged and stimulated and enjoyed the tours.

After Warwick Castle Nigel stopped at Stratford Upon Avon and we saw the birthplace of William Shakespeare. We also had time to visit the church where Shakespeare was buried. Nigel pointed out the side of the church where arrows were sharpened against the wall. On our return from Warwick Castle we were all jet lagged and fell asleep in the vehicle. It was so nice to have an expert guide drive us about.

Our tour of the Tower of London was exceptional. Nigel encouraged us to arrive early to the Tower and head immediately to the crown jewels. We barely had a line up and were able to take our time seeing the magnificent items. Nigel gave us the history of the Tower, the monarchy and the jewels. The boys loved the armory and Nigel had a wealth of information to share. The view of London Bridge from the site was fabulous. We did not feel rushed at all and Nigel followed our lead and stopped at the places of interest. He explained the ravens and the Beef eaters to the boys who loved the stories.

We then went to Hampton Court Palace with its Tudor style architecture and Henry the VIII history. The Palace and gardens were wonderful and the boys loved the maze. They were able to put on costumes and met actors. There was horse drawn wagon rides and a cafe.

Nigel finished off our tour with an impromptu driving tour of London. We really feel that we had a fabulous tour experience of London with this company.

For families with young children you really get the most out of your day with private guided tours if it is in your budget. We would highly recommend this company as it exceeded our expectations and delivered exceptional tours on all our days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 4oceanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Guide and Tour of Blenheim and Oxford”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a delightful day with Mike, a former tele-journalist, touring Blenheim (birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill), Oxford, and Windsor Palace. Our guide was prompt; our car was clean and comfortable; and the tour was contoured to our interests (and whims). Mike was very well-informed, but unlike many guides, was not overbearing in trying to convey facts. Our tour was very conversational, and we appreciated Mike's sense of humor. A great day. Well worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ready2go410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“British Tours is simply perfect !”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were 4 (parents and sons 21 n 23 yrs old). We had no idea of places to go during a one week stay in England, except of getting to know a little bit of Cotswold. We bought 4 different tours, including on of two days sleeping in a hotel also recommended by British Tours.
The GUIDES (yes ! with capital letters indeed !) Harry and Richard are simply the best that we have ever had. They are not the standard guides that one can meet anywhere, they are very polite persons with a high standard culture and education. Their sense of humor (very English, as Harry would say) is also a value that well pictures their sympathy. We felt as they were part of our family wright at the very beginning of our tours with either one. The attention that we have got from British Tours' partner, Catarina, was fantastic ! She's done a wonderful job in preparing an unforgettable set of tours to me and my family. To finalize, I strongly recommend British Tours to anyone that wants to make a state of the art tour in England ! Thank you British Tours ! Thank you Catarina ! Thank you Harry ! Thank you Richard !!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luiz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Luiz,

Thanks for the great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the tours with your British Tours guides Harri and Richard, and that you and your family felt well looked after.

We pride ourselves on client's satisfaction and personal attention. We hope to welcome you again to Europe in the near future.

"Muito obrigada!"

Best regards,

The British Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average and overpriced.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are a family with teens and took a day tour of London and one tour in the countryside. The guides knew their stuff but the most disappointing part was the lack of communication with head office. When we booked the tour we gave explicit instructions as to what we were looking for and unfortunately, that information was not passed on to the guides. Head office spent most of their time trying to get us to upgrade the size of vehicle.
The tour was OK but overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bonanza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sincerely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We pride ourselves in our customer service and it's with great concern that I learn about your experience.

I would very much like to hear from you directly at tours@britishtours.com, so I can look into what happened and discuss your feedback further.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Tours - Day Tours from London also viewed

 

Been to British Tours - Day Tours from London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing