We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful production of Turandot, with champagne!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Opera House

Royal Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.25*
and up
London Covent Garden Walking Tour
Ranked #30 of 1,595 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1732, this well-known theater is the home to the Royal Ballet and Royal Opera, which regularly features world famous stars and performances throughout the year.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful production of Turandot, with champagne!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A real treat. We bought tickets and included the champagne. We sat in the left balcony row B seats 51 and 52. Superb view of the production and of the orchestra.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 454vickie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    426
    73
    21
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A one-man show not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Simon Callow excels in his one-man show 'Inside Wagner's Head'. He speaks for one & a half hours and holds the audience's attention for the whole of that time, without a break. A tour de force!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jojogluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You go to Covent Garden...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved seeing London society at its dressed up best, standing in the downstairs bar eating smoked salmon sandwiches and sipping champagne.

It isn't cheap, but nobody goes for a good family night out... You go for the experience of a night at the opera or the ballet

We saw the production of Swan Lake by the Bolshoi Ballet in August 2013 and the experience was fantastic. Would definitely go again if something is playing when next I'm in London.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanmorian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I've been here a number of times and last night I saw Turandot. The one thing which can be said with total impunity is that ROH has to be one of the finest opera houses in the world and it attracts the best of the best in terms of performers and performances.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonybassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great but too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Amazing building and performances. I have been a few times and am always impressed. However they should make an effort to offer cheaper tickets otherwise it becomes a venue only accessible by the wealthy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Royal Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing