We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea indulgence”
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Sixteen
Ranked #285 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Haven't stayed at Number 16 but have at The Haymarket and so we decided to have afternoon tea in the garden at No. 16.
You certainly don't need dinner after tea at 16. Fantastic cakes and pastries with a excellent choice of teas.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Number Sixteen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently spent six nights at Number Sixteen. It is perfectly located, a very short walk to South Kensington Station, many restaurants , museums and Hyde Park. The rooms are well-appointed ( great shower pressure - always a plus ) and beautifully decorated, and on the ground floor some common rooms for quiet relaxation. The staff are fabulous - special thanks to Ana Alves and the tireless Francesco for all their help to our family. The only downside is the breakfast. Although served in a lovely garden setting, it is too expensive. We preferred to frequent restaurants such as Muriel's Kitchen near South Ken station. Aside from that, a great hotel. If we are lucky enough to get to London again, we will certainly return to Number Sixteen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you love interesting interior design stay here. I loved the beautiful interiors, breakfast in the garden, great location and great service. I am a big fan of Kit Kemp design so it was a treat to stay at one of the Firmdale properties.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillyinphilly61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Number Sixteen on the last night of our holiday and we loved the hotel. The hotel has been beautifully decorated. We loved the honesty bar, the super friendly staff, the outdoor garden, bathrobes and a little welcome gift! Fantastic location. We would highly recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a wonderful and homey hotel with all the comforts one could wish for. Quiet rooms, very comfortable beds, nice bathrooms with good showers, clean and impeccably furnished. Great interior design throughout.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Number Sixteen is our home away from our home. It's a small, warm, intimate hotel in a nice area of London, South Kensington. Beautiful decoration. Friendly staff. Great attention to detail. A real treat to the senses, which makes you feel comfortable. Great breakfast. Expensive, though, but worth it!

P.S.: Rooms are often renovated over time, so don't be surprised if your favourite room is redone by your next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil-Brussels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our special place in London!
Location location location! Outstanding service, delicious food, comfortable and spacious rooms! Very close to the tube and walking distance to many places!
After every visit we find our selves trying to figure out when we will come back! Don't hesitate and book this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anahissnauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#143 of 1,072 in London
867 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,072 in London
3,340 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#545 of 1,072 in London
198 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#139 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#376 of 1,072 in London
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $279 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London, England
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing