We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel!”
Review of Keystone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keystone House
Ranked #498 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my second time in a hostel and the Keystone was just great!
Location was perfect for my need, staff was very welcoming and ready to help.
Bed was really warm and comfortable and even if I was in a 16 beds dorm, there was a wall to split it in two so there was a good privacy. Every bed had plugs and a light and a locker. Also, every bed had a panel next to it to give more privacy. There was a small kitchenette in the room which was very useful. The bathrooms were quite a few and always clean. Breakfast was basic but included in the price and it was okay to get a cup of tea, cereals and some bread.
Price was just great for all this! 90£ for 5 nights.
I'll be back if I'll ever need a hostel in London again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tellmemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 334 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Accommodation was very comfortable. I was in an 8 bed room near the road for 20 pounds a night. Some car noise is was heard but that's to be expected in busy Kings Cross, and it was not obnoxiously bad. They had internet access for a fee, depending on how much time you wanted to use it. The showering facilities were very good with lovely hot water and water conservation devises for those who want to be environmentally friendly. The shower rooms had plenty of space to manoeuvre. TV Lounge was in the front of the hostel and bar and outdoor courtyard were available for use. There is also a kitchen for cooking your own food if wish up on the top level. Overall, a great hostel. Clean, comfortable and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Level 1 3a faced the main road. Don't know anything about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Keystone House for the long Easter weekend; it’s a really nice place, we enjoyed our stay throughout. The location is very good; it’s close to the tube and train station (St Pancras) The staff is very friendly and helpful they always made sure we were informed of any events or tube disruptions; they showed us different routes to take. The breakfast is for free (which is very unusual for London) and we were surprised with the variety they had to offer. The hostel is very lively; we meet travelers from around the world. Overall though it's a good hostel, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess_Serrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Keystone House is right next to Kings Cross Station. The rooms are quite small but comfortable and clean. Considering the price for the rooms I'd say it was a good choice. We had a room that was meant for 3 people to share with a WC in the room but the showers outside the room. Unfortunately while i was visiting, the showers on the floor we were living in we not working and we had to use the ones on the 1st floor instead which was slightly inconvenient. But other than that the staff was really good, as was the breakfast. Location is superb. If you are a budget traveler who is not too picky about everything, it is perfect for you.

Room Tip: If you are a group of 3 or in multiples of 3, i suggest you take the sharing room which has a WC ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharwari_Chitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Picked this place for it's location. Just steps from Kings Cross/St
Pancras. Overall, staff were quite helpful, though they could have
used some more during busy check in times. They seemed a bit rushed
and overwhelmed. They allow you to check your bag if you get there
too early or need to check out.
-My son and I took a double room. The room was small but functional. Bunk beds.
We didn't expect too much. Mattresses were comfortable. The room was
located above the Flying Scotsman Strip club. This was only an issue
on our first night and we wanted to get some sleep early. Otherwise,
it closes down at a reasonable 11 pm (10pm on SUndays). Music can be
kind of loud, but the strippers had good taste in music!
-The shower on our floor was broken the week we were there, so we showered in the basement. They were generally hot and with good pressure. They were, though quite small. Barely enough room to turn around. There was also a stark lack of hooks or places to set things to avoid getting wet. The floors could have been helped with some rubber matting to keep out of the puddles better.
-The kitchen was inadequate by their own admit. There was a microwave a kettle and some empty shelves and counters. There were no utensils or containers. It was not useable as cooking space.
-They did serve breakfast which I did not know about before hand. I've never had a british breakfast of baked beans, toast and sausages. Not sure how they were supposed to taste. Beans were tepid. Sausage was crisp on the outside, mushy and rather flavorless on the inside. Is that how british sausage tastes. There was a good supply of toast, spreads, juice, tea and coffee, plus fresh fruit. All is included in your price.
-The main lounge is rather tight during busy times. Nice TV and some computers for internet. Internet rates were 5 pounds for a week, unlimited. The people there when we were there didn't know how to clean up after themselves so sometimes it was a bit untidy. Really, people. Be considerate.
-The bar in the back is cozy and has a good selection of drinks. There is roof terrace which would be nice in the summer. Buy and drink and get internet access.
-All in all not a bad stay. Some simple add ons would make it much better

Room Tip: Ask for room far from club if you want a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maktmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Loved the location of it and price of it. Staff were friendly and loved the pub next door. Beds werent as comfy as they could have been but you get what you pay for. I definatley would recommend it. :)

Room Tip: Maybe one upstairs as the downstairs ones don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathrynW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I randomly picked up this place as close to kings cross. Terrible staff at bar, internet is very expensive, there are ponds on the toilets' floors, super extra noisy at night. You cant even take a proper shower as u need to keep a water tap pressed (even whilst you're taking the shower...?!?!). Rooms are dirty and people are squeezed in it. I headed somewhere else as soon as I could!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
easyHotel Paddington London
#664 of 1,077 in London
880 reviews
Home London
#520 of 948 in London
287 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#61 of 948 in London
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 948 in London
1,244 reviews
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#62 of 948 in London
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone House

Address: 272-276 Pentonville Road | Kings Cross, London N1 9JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $23 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Keystone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone House Hotel London
Keystone House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing