We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do for any London tourist” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Paul's Cathedral

St. Paul's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.99*
and up
St Paul's Cathedral Entrance Ticket
Ranked #27 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rebuilt by Christopher Wren after the great Fire of 1666, St. Paul's has been the site of many historic state occasions, including Winston Churchill's funeral and the marriage of the Prince and Princess of Wales..
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must do for any London tourist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

A truly spectacular icon enriched with deep history and amazing architecture. If you understand English then take the free guided tour, our guide Tom was brilliant and his passion and love for the cathedral shone through as he expertly guided us through the various spots within the cathedral And of course post the tour make the climb to the top a added bonus and well worth the effort.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chuck0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,599
    2,782
    719
    237
    145
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have vague memories of my Mother bringing me here way back when as a youngster but had not been back in many a long year so really glad I made the effort. We booked tickets on line the day before which was well worth doing as we not only saved money but could use the fast track queue. No sooner were we in than we managed to join a guided tour which was really informative & we followed this with a climb up to the inevitable Whispering Gallery.
The architecture is simply stunning & the design technicalities, especially with the dome, are quite incredible - especially given this was over 300 years ago. I was especially interested as I have family connections with Portland in Dorset where the stone was quarried for not only St Pauls but a number of other landmark London buildings after the Great Fire & up to the present day.
Oh yes - the cafe is also well worth a visit. A tad expensive but excellent food & what better than lunch in St Pauls Cathedral?
If you haven't been make the effort - you'll be well rewarded....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grasmi909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
435 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A must see in London.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is one of London's must see sites, largely for its role in history of London, indeed the UK. A magnificent structure with its rotunda and lots of little nooks and crannies, smaller chapels, and the crypt area under the main church. It is great to visit the tombs of famed individuals like the Duke of Wellington, Lord Nelson, not to mention scores of other famed folk from British history - especially those of a military background. It is a functioning Church so due reverence is proper and your visit may conflict with various religious services. Photography is not allowed - in some ways understandable but I would have loved to take a couple of shots of various luminaries’ memorials relating to my profession and for teaching purposes. An admission fee applies but is well worth the cost to spend some time in this historic building, which survived the destruction of WW2. Interestingly, no unlike the pyramids of Cairo, one suddenly comes upon the huge edifice almost out of nowhere as you wander some of London's smaller streets. To capture the dome from across the Thames in the late afternoon light with a good camera is very rewarding. The inside of the dome is magnificent and one can ascend to various levels via a mix of internal and external stairs.
Allow at least 2 hours to take in most of the major areas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“place on your secondary list”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

not as much to see or do as westminster abbey.

No photography allowed

you can see it all under 2 hours if you listen to the whole audio tour. maybe longer if you go up to the top of the dome.

If you have limited time, you can miss this sight.

Museum of London is very close and within walking distance so can do both in one day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank chuck l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enlightening visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the cathedral with a knowledgeable guide, all included in the entrance price. Allow at least one and a half to two hours to see it properly. Good cafeteria and loo facilities in the Crypt.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing