We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Full of surprises” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Paul's Cathedral

St. Paul's Cathedral
London EC4M 8AD, England (City of London)
+44 20 7236 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$24*
and up
St Paul's Cathedral Entrance Ticket
Ranked #31 of 1,410 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rebuilt by Christopher Wren after the great Fire of 1666, St. Paul's has been the site of many historic state occasions, including Winston Churchill's funeral and the marriage of the Prince and Princess of Wales..
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Full of surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's years since my wife and I visited Str Paul's. Then, it was dark, dusty and not all that pleasant. I suppose the place was given a good spruce up for the Royal Wedding and now it is just magnificent.
Look inside the tower to the right of the main door and see a beautiful cantilever staircase, looking like a giant corkscrew above your head. The chapel next door (I think it was St George's) holds some surprises for Australians. There's a bishop's chair that on closer inspection was dedicated to Australian explorer John Forrest and the main stalls remember a Tasmanian bishop.
The main doors are immense and it was surprising to find a large American War Memorial behind the main altar. When we visited, it was a sunny morning and the mosaics shone as their makers intended.
The crypt was full of interest, with the tombs of Wren, Nelson, Wellington and Churchill among others. On a wall was another interesting memorial slab, for Billy Fiske, the first American to be killed in uniform in WW11 and the subject of a film being made, controversially, with Tom Cruise in the lead part.
It seems wrong to have to pay to enter a cathedral and I expect anyone would be entitled to demand free admission, but, having paid and viewed, I would say it is money well spent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarryWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,032
    2,197
    557
    187
    107
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An amazing Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided late in the day — 4pm to go to St.Paul's, it was a Saturday night.
As soon as you approach the Cathedral you are filled with awe and amazement it is such an impressive building from the outside. Inside it is even more impressive. We spent time sitting and looking up at the ceiling and artwork and then walking around reading the plaques on the wall. You could do the whole guided tour by earphone, if you want to but as we arrived just before evensong this was not an option for us but we were happy with that.
As we had arrived the choir were assembling for evensong, it was truly atmospheric. When the choir started to sing, the hairs on the back of my neck stood up, even my friends were touched by the sound and atmosphere . It was a very special experience.
If you get the chance, do St.Paul's Cathedral in the evening, you wont be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We decided to not enter because of the price : 20£ ! It's very beautiful but we weren't sure that it was worth the price. The architecture is great but we stayed outside to observe that attraction

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pilku_Feee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not the same as Westminster Abbey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Quite disappointed by a visit to St Paul's Cathedral. No sense of history or a feeling of spirituality. The building was more like a museum and lacked any atmosphere. Quite a shock after visiting the beautiful Westminster abbey!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the Eye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Like skwid, I was somewhat staggered at the £14 entrance fee - however, unlike him, we paid the money and went in. We spent an amazing four hours there, going up past the Whispering Gallery, right to the very top of the dome - and what a view awaited us - a far better and more extensive view of London (and beyond) than we got from the London Eye.
One caution, you need to be fit enough to scale the 550+ steps, but the reward for the effort is more than worthwhile.
On top of all that is the magnificent artwork, as good as any cathedral in the world - and all the history too.
A great experience which will linger long in the memory.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing