We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Didn't go in !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Paul's Cathedral

St. Paul's Cathedral
Book In Advance
$24*
and up
St Paul's Cathedral Entrance Ticket
Ranked #29 of 1,431 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rebuilt by Christopher Wren after the great Fire of 1666, St. Paul's has been the site of many historic state occasions, including Winston Churchill's funeral and the marriage of the Prince and Princess of Wales..
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Didn't go in !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've always wanted to have look at St Paul's, especially the 'whispering gallery', so I made the effort and ended up with a wasted journey !
After entering the main door they ask for a whopping 14 quid entrance fee !!
I refused and left as did many others, (who'd travelled a damn sight further than I had !)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPaulsLondon, Public Relations Manager at St. Paul's Cathedral, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

St Paul’s very much regrets the need to charge visitors, but remaining open and available all year round as a place of worship and a place to visit represents a huge annual cost, running into millions. No public or State funding is provided for this. The Cathedral is self-funding and relies entirely on visitor fees and donations.

We believe our current sightseeing fee offers very good value-for-money as it does not just include entrance to the Cathedral, but also access to crypt, the Whispering Gallery and two upper galleries (one at the top of the dome) offering fine views across London, as well as an audio/visual tour and also, if desired, a guided tour by highly-trained, knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour guides.

We never charge to enter the Cathedral for services or private prayer; we have four services every weekday and five on Sunday.

We are sorry if you felt your time was wasted on this occasion but we do encourage you to return at another time in the future to experience everything St Paul’s Cathedral has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,333
    2,326
    586
    195
    113
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alba Iulia, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been to many cathedrals and churches in Europe, even the famous St. Pietro in Vatican, but I have not been so impressed as I was in this cathedral. It is incredibly beautiful and impressive. It is so big and it has secret galleries-the whisper corridor-where you feel like in a different world! Do not miss it!It is amazing!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank banca80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ouaou...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Not easy to explain.. It was really really nice inside.. They give you ipods to listen to audio on your tour (included in the price), and you get to learn everything related to this church. Architecture is great. Has Ground and lower Ground Floors (Crypt), so you need at least an hour. You do not want to leave this place...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vasiliki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Peace and majesty in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

St Paul's is majestic and contains a good deal of history in itself and of London. The side chapels also provide space for private meditation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulNCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“St Paul's Cathedral - awe-inspiring!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Following the Lord Mayor's Show, we visited the impressive St Paul's Cathedral which was free on this occasion, although we did have to pay to go up to the Whispering Gallery. There were plenty of people available to ask questions of and to give directions and advice. We enjoyed magnificent views of the interior of the dome and the altar. The climb up to the Whispering Gallery was quite something - 200+ steps winding their way up the dome - but it was well worth it! The views of London's skyline and landmarks from the roof was fantastic even though it was not a particularly bright day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing