We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan London
Ranked #58 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Booked 4 rooms here and I have to say the whole experience in terms of service was amongst the best I have had in a London hotel ever! Thank you for a really enjoyable stay

Rooms are good although not perfect but roomy for this part of London

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank respiratorytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDThomson, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you and your party enjoyed your stay and the service that you received so much. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Please let me know when you are planning a return to London as I would be delighted to look after your arrangements myself and ensure another memorable stay at the Metropolitan by COMO.

Warm regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

I always stay at the metropolitan as they accept dogs and they are so kind to me and my furry friend.
The service is excellent.
the rooms are large for London standards but they do tend to have a bit of a smell and a lot of the rooms look out on the airconditioning/heating units.
However their service makes up for everything.
Great hotel and if travelling with pets , the best hotel in UK

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watersoul6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDThomson, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at the Metropolitan by COMO. As a regular guest I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your stays with us so much and that we look after both you and your dog so well.

I am, however, concerned to hear your comments about a smell in the room but I am relieved that this does not appear to have spoiled your stay too much. If you would like to discuss this further with me I am at your disposal.

Alternatively, please let me know when you are planning a return to London as I would be very pleased to look after your reservation, and your room allocation, myself.

Warm regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great location, staff are very attentive and provide top customer service, which is not usually the case in london....the deluxe room with king bed was larger than most hotels in that range...totally happy and would go back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDThomson, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at the Metropolitan by COMO. I am very pleased indeed to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the service that you received.

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. Please let me know when you are planning a return as I would be delighted to look after your reservation myself.

Warm regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel, as part of a weekend away to ask my girlfriend to marry me. So first things first she said yes! So please don’t let that fact taint the level of my review.

Firstly location wise it doesn’t get much better! And with the weather finally understanding what the word Summer is all about it means you get 2 of the best parks in London right on your door step, (also the best breakfast in town at The Wolseley right round the corner if that is your thing!) Also if you enjoy a cocktail then the Met bar can conjure up some excellent cocktails!

Secondly for those that have experienced hotels in London, unless you are super rich and can warrant spending £500+ a night on a room, then the rooms are all very much alike, you get a bed and the usual pleasantries that come with a 5* hotel. Things that can change though are the views, of which I was lucky enough to get a room on the 7th floor overlooking Hyde park, so really it doesn’t get much better, and far better than the usual concrete Jungle that occupies most of the views of London.

Thirdly and probably the point that sets excellent hotels away from good hotels are the people, and you dont not have to worry here!, as you have probably read with many of the previous people who have reviewed there stay here, the level of service is excellent. I had previously sent an email of my plans to the hotel, and Atin Kathuria the front office manager promptly returned an email saying that would try to accommodate my request, but as it was a Saturday night and I only booked a couple of weeks prior and through Last Minute I did not hold out my hopes too much. Upon walking into reception I was met with the high level of service I was expecting from a 5* hotel in London and as soon as I mentioned my name Atin introduced himself and offered his services to me for the length of my stay. I have to say, that I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, and yes many of them have had excellent levels of service but the personal level of service I experienced from all the members of staff went beyond my expectations and it’s the little things like that that really make the difference. Also the free bottle of wine and fruit was a really nice touch also!

So in conclusion, the location is excellent, the rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean with an excellent view and all the extras you would come to expect of a London 5* hotel and the level of service is as good if not better than any top hotel anywhere in the world! So all in all thank you Metropolitan Hotel you made a great weekend into a magical weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDThomson, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your very generous comments following your recent stay at the Metropolitan by COMO and congratulations on your engagement.

I am delighted to hear how highly you valued your experience with us and that you enjoyed our location as well as the view from your room. I am also very pleased indeed that we were able to enhance your life changing moment in some way.

Thank you also for your comments about Atin, our Front Office Manager. It is the staff that truly make the difference at the hotel and in Atin we are very fortunate to have such a caring and guest focused individual.

Please let me know when you are planning a return to London as I would be delighted to look after your arrangements myself and ensure another truly memorable stay.

Once again congratulations and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of an anniversary trip to London. The hotel was in the perfect location for us and the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Our room, whilst big and clean was quite basic with a retro feel. The bathroom was quite small but met our needs for a short stay. The highlight of our stay was a complimentary bottle of wine that was delivered to our room as a gift on our anniversary - a very welcome and unexpected extra. We did book this hotel through Lastminute and got a good deal - I don't think I would have paid full price but as treat for our romantic getaway it was

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplenoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDThomson, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your comments following your recent stay at the Metropolitan by COMO. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and how highly you valued your experience with us. I am also very pleased indeed that we were able to enhance your anniversary celebrations in some way.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do let me know when you are planning a return as I would welcome the opportunity to look after your booking myself.

Warm regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I cannot say enough about the attentiveness of the staff at the Metropolitan. I was staying at the hotel for a business event we were hosting there over the course of two days. I arrived in the morning after a long overnight flight. As I was checking in with one of the staff at the front desk, another appeared with a hot towel with the most wonderful scent. After a 7 hour flight in economy and hour drive to the hotel, this gesture was most appreciated. They explained that the scent was their signature scent and it permeates the hallways, the towels, and the lobby area. It was wonderful. Despite my early arrival, they managed to find a room that was ready. After check in, the manager, Scott, escorted me to the room, and pointed out the hotel's amenities. We had a lovely conversation. I mentioned that I had but a few hours that day to see as much of London as I could as the next two days would be spent at work. He recommended I speak to the concierge. I wish I could remember the name of the gentlemen at the concierge desk because both were wonderful. After I unpacked and took a quick shower, I talked to the concierge who mapped out a walking plan for me and a boat tour of the Thames so that I could cover as much ground in six hours as possible. The boat and walking tour was so much better than my original plan of the bus tour. I feel as though he managed to set it up so I could enjoy Green and St James parks as well as the major points of interest. When I returned to the hotel after hours of walking in the extremely hot weather, I returned to the concierge to ask if there was a nice casual spot nearby where I could perhaps eat outside without having to get changed for dinner. Another extremely helpful gentleman set me up with a reservation in a wonderful little spot called Shepherd's market a few blocks from the hotel in charming back streets in Mayfair. When I arrived at the restuarant, they had a nice tall glass of ice tea waiting for me as they mentioned that the concierge asked for it to be waiting for me as I had had a long day of walking in the hot sun! Both these staff members helped me make the most of the few hours of time I had to myself in London.
The hotel is in a wonderful location on Park Lane close to Hyde and Green Parks and perfect for lovely strolls in Mayfair in the evenings. The room itself was small but comfortable and very well appointed. There was adequate work space, a small bathroom but with a nice large soaking tub and a comfortable bed. I did not have a view of Hyde Park but was happy to have any room available at such an early arrival time in the morning. I have to say I so enjoyed the heated and fragrant towels after a long soak in the tub that first evening.
The staff who worked the events we hosted in the hotel was extremely attentive and the events were executed splendidly. The AV equipment worked on the first try and the room was set up beautifully with gorgeous centerpieces.
When it was time to leave on Friday, the staff allowed me a late check out so that I might change and pack after our Friday morning event at the hotel. When it was time to go, the manager Scott once again helped me with bags to my waiting car. I was there in the midst of the heat wave so the hallways were a bit hot and I wished I had been able to lower the air temperature in the room a bit but those were minor issues and really out of their control given the unusually high temperatures. I did not have the opportunity to experience the spa but maybe next time!
The staff really stands out at this hotel and I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDThomson, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at the Metropolitan by COMO. I am delighted to hear how highly you valued your experience with us and that your event was a success. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hotel, our Mayfair location and that we managed to enhance your stay by providing you with the early check in upon arrival as well as a late check out on the day of your departure.

I am particularly pleased to hear your comments about the service you received throughout the hotel, especially from Scott and our Concierge and Events Teams. It is the staff at the hotel that truly make the difference and in all of these areas we are very lucky to have some very talented individuals. Many of our frequent guests have remarked likewise so it is terrific that you felt the same way and I shall certainly share your comments with them all.

Your recommendation is hugely appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please do let me know when you are planning a return as I would be very pleased indeed to look after your reservation personally and ensure another truly memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stay here recurringly and generally like this hotel. However, there have been too many issues - some minor and some not - with my recent stays.

The most annoying one is room service. On my last two stays, I ordered room service and was told it would arrive within 15 - 20 minutes. In both cases I ended up having to leave my room without eating breakfast since it took 30 - 40 minutes to deliver. I appreciate the apologies of the manager in charge, but when I pay 300 GBP for a room, I expect things to work.

On that note, I don't understand why every time I come to the hotel, I end up having to fill in all my personal details. Surely a modern, high-end hotel can figure out that I've stayed there multiple times and have the forms pre-filled?

My last issue is that no matter how many times I stay there, I always get a room with a crappy view.

So in summary, I'm not convinced I will be staying here on my next trip to London.

Room Tip: Pray to a god I have not yet discovered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDThomson, Hotel Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

All guest feedback is taken immensely seriously at the hotel and I am very sorry indeed to hear your last two stays have been less than perfect. You are indeed right that your experience does not appear to have met the rigorous standards that we set ourselves and that our guests have come to expect. If you would like to discuss any element of your stay with me further I am at your disposal.

Please let me know when you are planning your next London visit as I would very much appreciate the opportunity to restore faith and ensure that the Metropolitan remains your hotel of choice in London. I will be delighted to look after your room allocation myself, meet you in person and ensure your entire stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#9 of 1,077 in London
525 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,077 in London
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#226 of 1,077 in London
4,847 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan London

Address: Old Park Lane, London W1K 1LB, England (Formerly Apartments at Metropolitan by COMO, London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#45 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Family Hotel in London
#113 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $349 - $808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan London 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan London has a serene urban aesthetic that is both contemporary and timeless in sun-soaked whites with accents of vibrant yellow. Light floods all 144 rooms and suites through floor-to-ceiling windows whilst the uncluttered design and intuitive technology create a haven of calm perfect for business or leisure travel. All rooms and suites come with: Bespoke king-size beds with mattress protectors and comforters 400-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets Complimentary high speed WiFi and hardwire internet Loewe interactive TV with extensive on-demand music and over 70 channels Discreet hospitality units, mini bars and Nespresso machines Touchscreen controls Remote controlled curtains and blinds, operated by your bedside COMO Shambhala amenities Controllable lighting Rainfall showers Floor to ceiling windows with views of Hyde Park or Mayfair Fret cut-panel bespoke artwork International multi-region plug sockets Climate control Unique yoga channel Hairdryer Safe For extended stay guests COMO Metropolitan London offers some of the best serviced apartments in Central London. Situated just off Park Lane on Hertford Street and Brick Street, our apartments deliver privacy and flexibility with the hotel's signature facilities and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your COMO Metropolitan London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel London
Metropolitan London
Metropolitan Hotel London
COMO Metropolitan London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing