We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis On Old Park Lane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan London
Ranked #68 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I travel to London a lot. The grand hotels have rich history and afternoon tea, but "The Met" is a place you can call home away from home. And a Nobu restaurant, with preferred reservations for hotel guests. They are building a new spa on the second floor, to replace the really wonderful but small spa in the below ground level. The gym is great and one of the best English breakfasts in London---they literally surround you in cheery and customer-centric service. Definitely not a "value" hotel but paying extra gives you a stay to remember. The lobby level MET BAR is being renovated and I would say the location is perfect within the Golden Triangle...you can jog in Hyde Park, walk over to Harrod's, picnic in Green Park and scoot over to Le Caprice for dinner and hop a short cab to a West End show. I really could not say enough good things about this hotel. Am going back twice before end of year!

Room Tip: try to get a Park view room...there are many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BrioViajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

Excellent placement, in quiet one-way street. Room was clean, bathroom neat and internet access free (both wired and wi-fi). Only drawback was room size. You had to wiggle your way around the bed all the time, since it occupied absolutely all space between entrance, bathroom door, closet and the work bench. I have no trouble recommending this hotel (for singles! no room for more than one!), and will probably use it next time I'm going to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at The Metropolitan for 4 nights on a trip with my wife. We had a fantastic stay. The rooms were better than expected (website photos make them look garish). Service was EXCELLENT. The concierge staff went above and beyond to help track our missing luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EverettRainier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Metropolitan is tremendous hotel in a great location with exemplary service.

Room Tip: Hotel staff was happy to upgrade, recommend all visitors ask about availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJC1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at the Metropolitan for just over 3 weeks and have not got a bad word to say about it.

The door men were extremely helpful and the front desk girls were always happy to help, no matter how big or small the query.

Room service menu did get a tad tiring, but that was my own fault for not venturing out of the hotel to eat. NOBU was amazing and after having the Bento Box on room service 4 days in a row, I must say I never complained.

Bathroom and bedroom were a good size and it helped having the work area and table, as I was there for a continued stay.

Staff did make the stay very enjoyable, no one was without a smile

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahladyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Front Office Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

As Front of House Manager at the Metropolitan London I would like to thank you for your very generous comments about the hotel and the service you received. I very much appreciate your feedback and shall certainly share your comments with the teams at the hotel.

Regarding the Room Service menu I am thrilled that you enjoyed the Nobu Bento Box so much. For future stays it would be a pleasure to make our Room Service Menu more bespoke for you and we would also be happy to stock the private bar with your favourite drinks. The neighbourhood does also offer lovely restaurants with many different options to enjoy dinner - definitely worth venturing out for!

Please let me know when you are planning a return visit to London. I will handle your booking personally and discuss your preferences further.

Best regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Have just returned from a w-end break wit my husband in the above hotel. The hotel bar is under construction at the moment which we didn't realise at time of booking. When we checked into the hotel we queried the constuction work with the receptionist & she assured us it shouldn't interrupt our stay then she put us into a room on 2nd floor directly over the construcion work !!!! We went back to reception to tell them we would wait for a different room to become available - preferably over the opposite end of the building. When we arrived back to the hotel later that day we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who explained we had been moved to the 7th Floor to a "smoking room" (had ealier requested a non smoking room by first receptionist that checked us in) as both of us are non smokers, she apologised & upgraded us to a lovely room on 9th floor with great views across London & of the London Eye. So after a bad start we were happy. The staff were very nice escpecially the concierge staff Jimmy/Natalie who helped us alot with recommendations for restaurants/bars/clubs. We found the hotel to be a bit on the quite side no real atmosphere even the lobby area seemed quite all the time, maybe that is due to the bar being under construction...... We didn't eat in the hotel we moved or original dinner booking from Nobu in the hotel to their sister restaurant Nobu on Berkely Street, which we thought had a much better atmosphere & the food was lovely. Also i thought breakfast was on the expensive side £28.00 each. Hotel is in a very good location right beside the Hilton on Park Lane, & a lovely 20 mins walk away from Piccadilly. Perhaps if we had stayed when the renovation work was completed the atmosphere would have been completely different.

Room Tip: Try request room on one of the higher floors - have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlabouttownDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Front Office Manager at COMO Metropolitan London, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

As Front of House Manager at the Metropolitan, I would like to thank you for your very kind comments about our staff. I shall certainly pass your comments on to both Jimmy & Natalie. I would also like to apologise for the service failure you experienced.

It is very disappointing to hear that you were not informed of the Met Bar's closure when your booking was made. As a hotel, we believe that being honest with our guests is crucial and, as a rule, we do inform guests of any facilities that will be closed during their stay. This allows our guests to make an informed decision and avoid any misunderstandings. In your case, this did not happen and for that I am very sorry indeed.

I am also sorry for the room allocation you received upon your return to the hotel but was pleased to see that we reacted accordingly and that we were able to relocate you to a suitable alternative. The room you had been upgraded to on the 9th floor was a City Studio with fantastic views over the City of London – especially at night.

We would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel upon your next London visit to allow you the opportunity to enjoy the Metropolitan at its usual vibrant best. The exciting Met Bar project will be finished in September and we look forward to unveiling Park Lane's new venue of choice.

Please let me know when you are planning a return visit and I shall handle your booking personally.

Best regards,

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

we booked the Met hotel as we treated ourselves to a show and htel for our anniversary when we arrived they kindly valet parked the car which was a reasonable price based on where we was staying in London the rooms were lovely clean with good views adn good value i thought when we returned after shopping show and eating we went to the met bar which i had heard was a celeb hangout well i have to say i havent laughed as much in ages as it was like the black hole of calcutta i may well have been sitting next to one of the biggest stars but would never have known it i was truely amazed having worked nad run pubs how they managed this effect of it being so dark but having the ambient lighting at the bar area it was so dark i needed to be taken to the toilet as it was impossible so all in all a fab day / night reasonably priced and would definately go and book again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#9 of 1,078 in London
526 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#11 of 1,078 in London
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,078 in London
437 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,078 in London
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan London

Address: Old Park Lane, London W1K 1LB, England (Formerly Apartments at Metropolitan by COMO, London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in London
#44 Family Hotel in London
#45 Romantic Hotel in London
#64 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $349 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan London 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan London has a serene urban aesthetic that is both contemporary and timeless in sun-soaked whites with accents of vibrant yellow. Light floods all 144 rooms and suites through floor-to-ceiling windows whilst the uncluttered design and intuitive technology create a haven of calm perfect for business or leisure travel. All rooms and suites come with: Bespoke king-size beds with mattress protectors and comforters 400-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets Complimentary high speed WiFi and hardwire internet Loewe interactive TV with extensive on-demand music and over 70 channels Discreet hospitality units, mini bars and Nespresso machines Touchscreen controls Remote controlled curtains and blinds, operated by your bedside COMO Shambhala amenities Controllable lighting Rainfall showers Floor to ceiling windows with views of Hyde Park or Mayfair Fret cut-panel bespoke artwork International multi-region plug sockets Climate control Unique yoga channel Hairdryer Safe For extended stay guests COMO Metropolitan London offers some of the best serviced apartments in Central London. Situated just off Park Lane on Hertford Street and Brick Street, our apartments deliver privacy and flexibility with the hotel's signature facilities and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Metropolitan London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel London
Metropolitan London
Metropolitan Hotel London
COMO Metropolitan London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing