We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel experiences I've had”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #42 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We're Americans who spend about a month a year overseas and tend toward boutique hotels. Sometimes it's just us adults: this time, we brought the two kids who are 11 and 13. One Aldwych is now on my list of top 3 European hotels and it's due in part to the hotel and its location that I so enjoyed this trip to London. The rooms are a bit small, but fabulously appointed with generous modern bathrooms that include heated towel racks, big tubs, and very good soaps/lotions. Rooms themselves are modern with comfortable beds and very tall elegant windows. What really stands out, however, is the hotel service. Twice a day fresh towels, free bottles of water, daily fresh fruit for snacks, immediate, courteous attention to every request and need.
We tend not to use hotel restaurants and prefer to get around a bit. Not here! Daily breakfast was tremendous and several times, we sat in the lobby bar, which is always packed with London types (people-watching!) having drinks and tea. Drinks, food, service--all fabulous. Can't recommend this place highly enough. We expect to return in the fall

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilyFromAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great hotel, brilliant service, fantastic food, clean rooms and superb ambience. I have been a number of times and each trip is as good as the first. The bar is a favourite and the steak in the resturant is the best.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a business trip to London. We stayed once again at One Aldwych. I have lost count of the number of times we have stayed here over the last ten years. We visit London two or three times a year, and this hotel is our automatic choice.
The service is first class. Everybody from the doorman to the concierge,cleaners and waiters/waitresses are friendly and attentive. From the minute you arrive you feel welcome.
The rooms are comfortable and well styled with a modern luxurious feel. The TV is a Bang and Olufsen. The bathrooms are finished in granite with a lovely deep bath. The bed is very comfortable with soft cotton duvets and pillows.
We always have at least one meal of tapas and cocktails in the bar. Wonderful. And, we always breakfast in the hotel. The breakfasts are excellent with an unlimited supply of freshly ground coffee served by friendly and attentive staff.
I always make time for a swim in the stylish basement pool and a sauna/steam.
It is the perfect base for a trip to London. I would not stay anywhere else unless it was fully booked.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocFerdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just returned from a quick 3 day weekend in London and stayed at One Aldwych. The room was ready when we arrived late Saturday morning, and check-in was very easy. Had brunch at Indigo Restaurant there at the hotel which was wonderful.

Really loved the room - everything is designed really well from where the outlets are located, to the dimmer switches on the lights, and being able to open the windows to the outside. The bathroom is small by American standards, but a pretty generous size for London, and the shower is wonderful - great water pressure. The room is very quiet despite being in the heart of London.

The hotel is in easy walking distance to Covent Garden, the South Bank, St. Paul's, etc. One night we walked to Somerset House to the ice skating rink. We used room service for breakfast one morning, which was excellent. On the last morning went swimming in the fabulous pool.

The staff was always helpful and friendly, whether it came to finding a restaurant to directing me to a place to buy a bathing suit, or help with printing boarding passes. The free wifi worked perfectly with my ipod touch. There were no problems at all with the bill at checkout - no extra charges or surprises. In short it was a perfect stay, and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckycharm34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed here on a trip back from Australia in 2008. The hotel was in a perfect position in London, and rooms were small but quiet and with everything we needed. The hotel food was lovely, and good portions. All the staff were friendly and helpful including a lovely doorman who was happy to give us help on where to go in London for my husband's haircut! Expensive, but if you want a central location and a haven away from the city noise then it's perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Stayed at the One Aldwych recently after dining at the Indigo restaurant with work colleagues. The first time we visited the staff at the door walked us to reception but no such service this time. The room was comfortable, yet small.

By the way, like most hotels in London your stay does not include breakfast. It's a lovely hotel, however, I do wonder if it is worth the money exc breakfast.

I am looking forward to staying at the Savoy again once it reopens.

The staff are quite pleasant, helpful and seem genuinely interested in their guests. I think we'll give it one more try before looking for another hotel. It wasn't a special occassion as we try to spend a night away from home in London when we are not travelling - more of get out the house and eat out and go to the theatre.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtravellerlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is a truly wonderful London hotel. The rooms are modern, comfortable and spacious, with superb facilities. It is superbly located - in the heart of theatreland, walking distance from Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, Covent Garden, Westminster, the Royal Parks, Buckingham Palace and (on the other side of the revier) the National Theatre and Royal Festival Hall - not to mention one of the best views of the River Thames at Waterloo Bridge just a few metres away. This inevitably means heavy traffic all around, but there is almost no disturbance from traffic noise, thanks to the soundproofing of the window glazing.

Service is polite, attrentive and helpful. The public areas are stylish, with a great bar, and the excellent Axis and Indigo restaurants belonging to the hotel. We dined at he Axis and had breakfast in our room - the food was very good indeed.

None of this comes cheap, although it is worth checking for deals.

The only real fly in the ointment was that, when we checked out, the bill (invoice) presented to us overcharged us (in two respects). This was almost certainly inadvertent, and they readily corrected the error. But it suggested a slapdash approach to invoicing, at variance with the overall professionalism of the hotel.

But overall - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME by Melia London
ME by Melia London
#72 of 1,076 in London
2,798 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,076 in London
4,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,076 in London
1,027 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#58 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in London
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $417 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing