We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner with a friend”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #42 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

i recently visited and stayed in london and my friend booked us into one aldwich for dinner post the theatre. Dirty dancing was really worth the effort and we really enjoyed the whole show! we found some of the actors rather amusing to say the least!! im not sure if they were some replacement actors on the night but they were quiet obvious and rather hillarious on the night! we were pleasently surprised to find that this place is really modern and bustling. the menu is fairly vast and there is something to wet all appetites! i had fish for starters but for me the portion was too small, chicken for main which was devine and desert was a very small portion. its not cheap to eat here but a luxury to experience. Me??? its a roof top bar that is not for those on a budget! 2 drinks for £25! but the views are amazing and we really enjoyed people watching. im surprized we did not meet anyone famous as it was like being on made in chelsea!! after

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddybaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear biddybaxter

We were delighted to welcome you for dinner at One Aldwych and we are pleased to hear you had a successful evening at one of our many nearby theatres.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

An excellent hotel in the heart of London. Excellent personnel and well trained. Bar is very nice. Barman friendly and on my request prepared me a cocktail that was not on the list. Rooms well furbished. The evening before my check out I found in my room a sealable plastic bag to be used for liquids on board. Small details BUT those show that they care about you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Er K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Er K

Thank you for sharing your review of One Aldwych. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Lobby Bar and that our Award winning Barmen were of assistance to you.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, very friendly and easy to get around. The only thing I'd say is that their website could do with a visual display of accessibility like the Pictorial Access Description at The Hoxton. They do provide details here but it's easier if you can see them visually before you arrive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Max S

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed One Aldwych. Accessibility for all our guests is extremely important to us and I appreciate your suggestions which we will be pleased to consider.

We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My friend and I arrived at the hotel 15 minutes early and were greeted by two friendly staff members who took our coats and shopping bags then showed us to our table. The staff were very attentive and when the first part of our afternoon tea arrived the girl explained what everything was and gave us plenty time to enjoy before bringing the remainder. The whole experience was most enjoyable and I would thoroughly recommend to friends and family to pay a visit if in London. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Susan D

Thank you for sharing your experience of Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your recommendation to friends and family.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were going to the opera house and this hotel is just a 5 minute walk away. The Concierge efficiently sorted our tickets for us. The hotel is also handy for Temple tube station (if you are coming from Liverpool Street station or Victoria) and also Covent Garden tube, which gets you quickly to Oxford Street, Regent Street, Piccadilly and Mayfair.

The hotel bar is very good. The bar food is moreish, particularly the pulled pork. The chips which came with the crab cake were noticeably better than your average chip. I tend not to eat chips but these hit the mark! There were plenty of fun-and-tasty cocktails to try, and we tried a few. The atmosphere is particularly relaxed and friendly: people smile as soon as they enter the hotel. Perhaps the polite, but relaxed and including atmosphere is immediately discernible?

This was our second visit to One Aldwych. The staff are equally as attentive and kind as before and standards of service, cleanliness and such as as high as ever.

Breakfast here is not a buffet affair, thankfully, and what is on offer is good. However I do feel that the choices need to be extended and updated. Bircher muesli with berries is good, but additional healthy options would be an improvement. For example, the smoothies and juices available tend to be very fruit oriented. How about some kale and broccoli kind of breakfast shakes? And more fish choices, even kedgeree? Quinoa? Check out a Gwyneth Paltrow recipe book One Aldwych! Healthier breakfast options mean that we guests can overindulge the rest of the day with a clear conscience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barfly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear barfly67

It was a pleasure to welcome you to One Aldwych and thank you taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to read your comments regarding our convenient location in Covent Garden, our Lobby Bar and our attentive staff.

Thank you for your suggestions regarding healthy breakfast options, which I shall certainly discuss with our Chef Dominic Teague.

We very much hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to this hotel was super. Had drinks in the bar before dinner. Although it can be difficult to get a table the staff did everything for us. We had good fun and atmosphere was great.
Dinner was first class. Again the staff were exceptional!
Would go back tomorrow and I highly recommend this hotel. ♡

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear LondonStella

We were pleased to welcome you to One Aldwych and thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a lovely, cool and chilled hotel. The hotel lobby has a great atmosphere for afternoon tea and cocktails. The Charlie and The Chocolate Factory tea looked fab and children seemed to be loving it, great little touches like candy floss on colourful sticks and chocolate in milk bottle with colourful straws will be bringing the children back here prior to seeing the show in December they are going to love it!

Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the spa facilities but made use out of the bar it was great and didn't want to leave, just a great relaxed atmosphere with really nice staff. The only thing I would say is pay the extra to have a room higher than the Executive grade as the rooms are pretty basic but I am sure the higher category rooms are great. The staff are very helpful the barman was brilliant at making drinks in their lovely glasses, a great bar man you have there not sure of his name but he was at the bar at 8:30pm on Saturday evening 23rd

We eventually checked out at 2pm after having a wonderful relaxed morning in the room and do you know why it was so relaxed because not once did they bother you with a call urging you to check out by 11am which most hotels do. Not once did house keeping wake us up again like most hotels do. It really was lovely to feel so relaxed and was a great end to the entire stay will most definitely be returning to One Aldwych and am very pleased that our friends recommended us.

The Christmas tree looked amazing this morning they must of worked hard during the evening putting that up as it wasn't there the night before it looked wonderful and definitely felt like Christmas thank you One Aldwych for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tan019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Tan019

Thank you for writing a review on One Aldwych, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We very much appreciate all your kind comments and thank you for mentioning our Award winning Lobby Bar team. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Christmas Tree, inspired by the magic of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and I do hope that we will see you again during the festive season.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#18 of 1,078 in London
1,049 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#340 of 1,078 in London
4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#76 of 1,078 in London
2,858 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#37 of 1,078 in London
4,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $373 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing