We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a London visit”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #45 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We thought this hotel was great. We arrived 6 hrs before check-in as our flight from Sydney was an early arriving one, and we were checked in to our room straight away so we could freshen up. Room was small but clean and had a good size bathroom. The lobby is gorgeous and great for relaxing with a glass of bubbles after a long day shopping! Gym is good too...and love the interior of the elevators, very cool! Staff also very friendly and helpful. Great stay, would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Dan F

Many thanks for your review of One Aldwych, we were delighted to welcome you.

We are so pleased to hear you that enjoyed the hotel, especially our Lobby Bar and Health Club. Thank you also for mentioning our helpful staff. We hope that we will see you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fabulous hotel right in the centre of theatre land, within easy walking distance of buses and tube. Bedrooms were beautifully finished, although on the small size. Bed, linen and pillows were really comfortable. Very extensive breakfast menu, all made and served to order and no buffet - well done! Plenty of staff who were all very friendly and helpful and I was made to feel most welcome. Bit expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveholidays111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear loveholidays111

It was a pleasure to welcome you to One Aldwych and thank you for your feedback.

How good to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, including our breakfast in Indigo Restaurant and our central location in London’s Theatreland.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went for a glass of champagne in this beautiful hotel lobby. The ambience is luxurious, with fabulous floral decorations. The staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. The house champagne is the best,perfectly chilled with a great mousse. Delicious nibbles are replenished ,we loved the vinegar popcorn, spiced nuts and luscious olives. Come here for a touch of glamour and a cool glass!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Picnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Picnicker

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Lobby Bar at One Aldwych.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and thank your for mentioning our friendly team and our beautiful flowers by our in-house florist Mark Siredzuk.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my sister in a twin 'Aldwych' room in early August 2013 as a joint belated/early birthday treat. We arrived before check in time and were shown into a relaxing private lounge for residents and they took care of our bags. We went off to a matineée show and returned in the early evening where Patricia on reception took time to explain the amenities of the hotel. Our room was on the second floor and was to the front of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and our bags were waiting for us. Our room was plenty big enough for two people. I would imagine those disgruntled guests who have left negative reviews about the size of the rooms must need the extra room for their egos... There was a lovely surprise complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate cake, which was delicious. We decided to go for a walk to Covent Garden (just up the road) and ate out so I am unable to comment on the restaurant or bar facilities. The bathroom facilities were very clean, the shower had very good pressure and the toiletries weren't unpleasant (albeit pretty bland, but I guess they have to appeal to/not offend a wide range of taste). The television in the bathroom is tiny and most of the channels are blank, but for the novelty factor it was amusing. The main television was a 40" (I'm guessing - I didn't actually measure it...!) HD flatscreen which had plenty of free-to-air and foreign channels, although BBC1 and ITV were weirdly pixellated. Hopefully someone will see this and get it sorted for their next guests as I forgot to mention it when we left! Bottled water was provided in the evening. We both slept very well (thanks to triple glazing ensuring no noise from outside and blackout curtains), although I think an extra blanket in one of the wardrobes wouldn't go a miss. Breakfast was included in the room price, which was delivered to our room at a time convenient to us. There's only so well an English breakfast can be cooked - it was fine. The toast was cold, but short of actually plugging the toaster in on the corridor outsideour room, this is probably unavoidable. Checkout is 12, which is a perfectly reasonable time to get up and out. They kept our bags until later in the day after we had been for a stroll to South Bank for lunch. All staff that we encountered were professionally courteous and helpful and we should very much like to return as and when our budget and circumstances allow (having a 1yr old means nights away are few and far between!)

Room Tip: Hard to say, as we only saw our room (#207) but as one of their cheapest rooms, we were perfectly sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugar2sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear sugar2sugar

Thank you for choosing One Aldwych for your birthday visit, we were delighted to welcome you.

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and facilities. We will certainly check the TV channels as mentioned and thank you for noting this.

Thank you also for noting our professional and helpful team. We hope that there is an opportunity when we will see you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night for my fiancé's birthday, on arriving we were welcomed by the staff who were really friendly and polite. We were shown to our room which was very clean and well made up & the bathroom was spacious and classy. The rooms are not massive but plenty big enough to stay in but that's what you expect in London. Before we went I emailed the staff to ask a couple of questions and mentioned it was my partners birthday that weekend, they were very quick to reply and nothing seemed to be a bother.
After a night out at a show we returned to our room to find they had put a bottle of champagne and a lovely piece of chocolate cake on a decorated plate for my fiancé.
We booked B&B and the breakfast was delicious, we both had the full English which came with fresh juice and tea or coffee.
They even put a card on the bedside table with the next days weather report and a sealable plastic bag in the bathroom in case you are flying.

All in all this is a fantastic hotel and I can honestly say that the staff are some of the best I have come across anywhere!
Thank you One Aldwych for a great stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouser487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Mouser487

Thank you for your review following your special birthday visit, we are delighted that you and your fiancé had an enjoyable time with us.

We do appreciate all your kind comments especially regarding our fantastic team. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here again on Friday night, this is about our tenth time at One Aldwych, however we have not been here for at least 3 years. Hotel is still as god as ever and the service is exceptional. If you want to stay around the Convent Garden area in London then this is the hotel to stay at, well situated for all the theatres

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0006AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear 0006AOC

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to One Aldwych and thank you for your review.

We appreciate your mention of our location in the centre of London’s Theatreland. We do hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were very impressed with the whole package - accommodation, food and service. The room was spacious, immaculately finished and with a large modern bathroom. The staff were always available and helpful.

The breakfast lounge is quiet and a great way to start the day. In the early evening, the bar is lively and a great place to enjoy a post work drink and snack.

In addition, the location is very central and convenient for whatever you plan in London. If you're looking for a bit of luxury in London then I recommend One Aldwych.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeneytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear sweeneytom

Thank you for your review of One Aldwych., we are delighted to hear your feedback.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you had the opportunity to visit both our Lobby Bar and our guests-only Lounge at One.

Thank you for staying and we hope that we will welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#72 of 1,081 in London
2,945 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#19 of 1,081 in London
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#24 of 1,081 in London
209 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#336 of 1,081 in London
4,526 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in London
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $428 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing