We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family friendly hotel”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #41 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic family friendly hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed the weekend of the 29/30 June with our two children (4yrs & 9yrs). We were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were so friendly, the service impeccable and my children were made to feel so welcome. The welcome milkshake and cookies were very much appreciated by my children. We will certainly be back. Thank you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JenWr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear JenWr35

Thank you for writing a review following your anniversary stay at One Aldwych. We are delighted to receive your feedback and especially to know your young children enjoyed their time with us. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you all again.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    356
    101
    30
    10
See reviews for
430
795
97
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Expected a lot given some of the reviews on TA. Overall I was disappointed. Check in was ok and staff generally were polite. The room was very small for two people. For example the chair would not pull out fully from the desk so that you could sit at it to do some work. Dreadful positioning of plug sockets - I had to crawl under the desk with the chair in the way to plug in my laptop. Fruit and water in the room was good but would have preferred a tea tray (although where they would have put it I don't know). The plumbing system is weird and very noisy. Beds are comfy but the rooms are hot so you need the aircon on all night - you can open the windows but there is lots of street noise and the smell from the kitchens in the pub next door is overpowering. Breakfast on mezzanine was overpriced and the service was slow. I waited 15 mins before I was asked if I was ready to order. And then they brought everything at once so the toast was cold before I got to it. Breakfast is nothing special - labelling muesli as 'organic muesli' and then serving up Alpen is a bit of a let down! Room service breakfast the next day was very poor. The bar was always busy every night so it is obviously a 'go to' place for the cocktail set - was very noisy so opted to go out. Overall a let down and have stayed in suites in other hotels for half the price, with twice the space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear avidtraveller57

I am extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It is rare that we receive such comments and I am keen to address the issues you raise.

I hope that you do not mind if we contact you directly to request the details of your booking. In the meantime, my sincere apologies that you did not have the experience that you had hoped for.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I arrived at the hotel mid-morning due to my overnight flight. I figured I would not be able to check in so early. I had to take care of a couple of things and asked Stephane if he could point me in the right direction. He actually walked me outside the hotel and showed which way to go, great customer service. Most people just show you on the map and send you on your way. When I got back the room wasn't quite ready, again still before check-in. I was treated to a complimentary tea and biscuits. When I finally did get my room it was wonderful. It had a huge living room, big bedroom and bathroom and even a small kitchenette. The living room had windows all around and over looked the streets. This hotel is in the perfect place in Covent Garden. Walking distance to the theaters and the tube.

The best part of this hotel was the special high tea. It was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory themed. In addtional to the traditional tea there was a whole separate seleciton of sweets! I highly recommend going to the hotel just for the tea while is lasts. I know they told me it was for a limited time.

For breakfast I ordered room service. I was surprised to see a vegetarian English Breakfast. Being a vegetarin I had to try it. It had vegie sausage and vegie blood pudding. Very interesting.

Great place and location to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lor13149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear lor13149

Thank you for coming to stay at One Aldwych. I am delighted to know that you felt well cared for by our team and I am pleased that you enjoyed all our facilities. Thank you also for mentioning our very popular Afternoon Tea inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back on a future London visit.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here on several occasions over the past years - as a couple and as a family. One Aldwych just gets better and better. For overall level of service, I don't think I have stayed in a better hotel. This recent trip as a family was for a special occasion and the hotel certainly contributed to making our special weekend an unforgettable one. Firstly, the welcome at check- in is personal and professional. Personal touches in our rooms, especially little extras such as colourful beakers in the bathroom for the kids and little notes for them just make the experience feel warmer. Additional requests for our celebration were attended to perfectly by the team - every time we came back to the room we had another surprise, delivered on cue, with a smile. The staff is definitely one of the best assets of the hotel - great guys on the door, lovely smiling housekeeping folk everyone trained to greet you on the corridors. This is what service should be. The bar/lounge area is a special place. I noticed there are new willywonka inspired afternoon teas (candy floss. Milkshakes, lollipops - they were coming out as fast as the waiters could deliver them!) Rooms are immaculately clean and quiet. If you want a great location in London, old-style personal service delivered with modern flair, this is your place! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissyBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear LissyBtravels

I am delighted to hear how you and your family have enjoyed returning to One Aldwych over the past years and we are thrilled that we had the opportunity to welcome you back for this special occasion. Thank you for your kind comments, especially with regard to the professional and personal service received from our team. We do hope to see you many times in the future.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is out of this world. We have just spent a lovely 2 days at the One Aldwich Hotel, and cannot praise it enough. The staff were so helpful and could not do enough for us. The breakfast is the best breakfast i have ever eaten. We were there to celebrate our birthdays and as it was a special occasion we were upgraded free of charge to an amazing room with lovely views, a huge bed and lovely living area. The tv in the bathroom was also a treat when having a bath.
We returned after going our for dinner to find our lamps turned on, the bed turned down and a little note telling us what the weather was going to do the following day and some ideas of how to spend the day which is a lovely touch.
I really do recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Lisa P

We are thrilled to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write with your recommendation. It was a pleasure to welcome you for your Birthday celebrations and we are so pleased to hear that you had amazing experience with us. Thank you for mentioning our helpful staff too and the lovely views from our rooms. We do hope that we will see you again.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went to The One Aldwych recently to have the afternoon tea inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate factory.I am a Nanny and took one of the children I look after who is 12.We had a wonderful afternoon.The food was excellent and everything was delicious.It was beautifully presented.The service was just right and the staff were all lovely.It was the nicest most memorable afternoon tea I have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank queennanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear queennanny

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our recently launched ‘Afternoon Tea inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’. We are so pleased to know that you had a memorable afternoon with us and we hope that we will see you at One Aldwych again.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and I decided to celebrate our 25th anniversary with a whirlwind 24hrs in London last week. Afternoon tea at Claridges, a West End show and to top it all off a wonderful stay at One Aldwych.

I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and of all of its extremely friendly, attentive and professional staff. On arrival we were both expected & congratulated warmly on our anniversary. We were treated to complimentary drinks in the Guest Lounge and best of all upgraded to a wonderful suite overlooking Waterloo Bridge. The suite was superbly equipped and the pity of it all was that we were not there long enough to enjoy all of the facilities. We did however manage wonderful cocktails in the uber-cool Lobby Bar, enjoyed the magnificent swimmimng pool and had one of the best breakfast omelettes ever.

Thank you to everybody and a special word to Charlotte on reception for her attentiveness and smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear 5BrianD

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at One Aldwych. We were delighted that you enjoyed your Suite overlooking Waterloo bridge and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our attentive staff. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful Lobby Bar, private guest lounge and swimming pool. We do hope that we will see you again.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#67 of 1,068 in London
2,652 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,068 in London
4,619 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#19 of 1,068 in London
997 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,068 in London
791 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in London
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing