We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our honeymoon”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #40 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our honeymoon”
Reviewed March 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights for our honeymoon towards the end of February. We booked an Executive room, at a cost of £493.50 for two nights. For us that's is a lot of money, but hey, you only get married once.
Obviously we were hoping for an upgrade, and I did add that it was our honeymoon, when I booked. Apparently, a couple of our friends also mentioned it to the hotel, prior to our arrival.
I visited the hotel, on the night before our stay to hand over our luggage, as we didn't want to carry it around all day. The consierge was very helpful, which is a good start. I went to reception also, to advise them that I wouldn't be arriving until about midnight the following day,they were also very nce, and said that we had a really nice room. Result! I thought, we'd been upgraded to a deluxe room.
When we finally arrived at the hotel, at 00.30, we were shown to our room. We hadn't got the deluxe room I'd hoped for, but a studio suite (Room 508)!!!!! It was fantastic, and there was champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us in the room also. The ice, hadn't melted, so they even noted, when our arrival was before adding the champagne.
So, service wise, it was fantastic, but beware of the prices.
Everything in the hotel is VERY expensive. they advertise the wonderful health club and swimming pool, but fail to mention, that it's £30 a day! Breakfast, amazingly not thrown in at that price, is £22! A beer is £5. We can honestly say, that we had a fatastic time there, but just can't afford to ever go back!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,612
    353
    101
    30
    10
See reviews for
426
792
97
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

Let me say straight out that I think London is pricing itself out of the tourist market, at least the market for mere mortals. So my complaints are really about value for money rather than the quality of the hotel itself. My room at the One Aldwych cost £411 pounds a night, and I believe that is at the lower end of the range for this hotel. Even though I was there on business and therefore not paying directly myself, it still hurt. Why? Because for £411 a night I expect absolutely the best-ever hotel experience. And One Aldwych is far from that. The room was small, hot and loud (above the street). I arrived late and tired and ordered a chicken sandwich, which was delicious, I must say, but which was literally just a bun with a chicken breast and lettuce on it and which cost £17. The bathroom was especially disappointing ... instead of tiled walls or some other kind of bathroom-like decor, the walls were painted a kind of pale hospital green and then covered with plain glass under which mold appeared to be growing in the corners. The only thing I can say in the hotel's defense is that poor value has become the norm in London. But under no circumstances would I spend my own money to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Good location for central London
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo_Felani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms_Something
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

One Aldwych seems to have the ability to provide a calm oasis in the middle of Covent Garden. Their attention to detail isn't as perfect as it once was, but for London, it is still pretty amazing.

The Frette bedlinen encourages me to languish in bed a little later than normal, and the breakfast jams and preserves never fail to tempt me. Room service is quick and efficient, although I experienced that some of the room staff spoke only basic english.

The atmosphere in the Lobby Bar is lovely, a great place to enjoy a great cocktail and watch tourists and city dwellers relax on a Friday evening. I can recommend their Bloody Mary, and for those with a sweet tooth, the White Russian is bliss.

The Spa is lovely, the staff attentive without being intrusive. The pool is a lovely place to waste a couple of hours.

The only things that prevent me from giving the hotel 5 stars, the bedrooms are small, even as a Brit, I find them small, heaven only knows what our American friends will make of them! During my last 2 visits, the in room entertainment system was working - but only just.

  • Liked — Calm, Clean and Relaxing
  • Disliked — This is central London, so the prices are high!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

I do pay special attention to the readers’ reviews on Tripadvisor.com and I rely on this site, therefore I read many of the contributions on this hotel. I have to admit in this case I do not agree with the majority of the reviews, sorry for that. I spent 2 nights here on business. Daily rate is GBP 400 which is way too expensive even in light of the fact that London is a trendy city and pricey too.
This is a contemporary luxury hotel where the fashion/trend/style in many cases is against functionality (unpractical cupboard, TV remote control, reading lights etc). Standard room was small (cca 10-12 sqm), heating did not work properly and there was no blankets in the room. The bed was okay, the TV had relatively small screen. There was always noise from the bathroom (vacuum in the pipes?) which was quite disturbing during the night. Internet was slow and frozen couple of times. Breakfast is really good, I tried full English, salmon w/ scrambled eggs and berries, all were great. Check-out was very slow.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — many things
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank blackszabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

This is the best hotel I have stayed in in London. It is close to all the theatres and not tofa from the shopping. It is very chic with the most fantastic coloured lifts which change colour from the daytime to the night time. The staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful whilst remaining very discreet, including the cleaning staff. The room Ii stayed in was a round suite which gave you great views down to the Waterloo Bridge. Even though you are in central London the noise from traffic was non existent. My daughter loved the TV in the bathroom! Food in the hotel was great. Be sure that you are prepared for London 5* prices but you will think it well worth it. Particularily good for those who love London love a chic hotel with a great pool and gym and treatments area. My daughter who is twelve thoroughly enjoyed her stay and for that reason and the services for kids I would recommend it for families also.

  • Liked — The standard and quality of the rooms and sevice of the staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FizzyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Thank you One Aldwych, we had a wonderful time. Excellent location, great lobby bar, helpful staff, small but perfectly thought out bedrooms. Won't be staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Last November I stayed for the first time in One Aldwych. I have been a Claridges-fan for over 20 years. In fact both hotels cannot be compared but I have to say that the boutique flavour of this hotel stroke me as very pleasant indeed. Perfect location, especially for theater and night-life. I stayed there with one of my sons and was positively surprised by the very friendly attitude of the staff (they kept on trying to pronounce my kind of difficult Dutch surname). Room had lovely features, very good beds and linnen and as a very frequent hotel visitor the small televisionset in the bathroom was a first-timer for me. I loved the á la carte breakfast and they do offer splendid massages. I'll definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#66 of 1,069 in London
2,649 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 1,069 in London
4,613 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#19 of 1,069 in London
997 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
791 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,069 in London
3,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing