We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea with a sense of occasion”
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed afternoon tea sitting in comfortable arm chairs in a wood-panelled room with a pianist playing discretely in the background. The service was quietly efficient, the food generous and the highlight was the delicious scones, jam and clotted cream. It was expensive, but so very British, and a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank samruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We like our guests to savour the whole afternoon tea experience in comfort and we are well known for our generous helpings of food. Thank you for your particular appreciation of the home made scones. I am pleased you had a lovely afternoon and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

My first stay at the hotel (with my daughter) had been a little underwhelming but at the hotel's request I was invited to give them a second chance and I'm so pleased I did. As a returning customer Brown's couldn't have welcomed hubby and I more warmly. We stayed in a junior suite and were delighted with the extra space. The hotel treated us to complimentary fruit, water, tea and coffee making facilities. Shortly after arrival we thoroughly enjoyed our champagne afternoon tea (which was on the house to make up for a previous disappointment). Last time, at the end of Afternoon Tea, I thought it was a nice touch that the hotel presented you with a sample of your tea to take home - this didn't happen this time and I wasn't going to complain about such a small oversight - simply to say if it is something that Brown's no longer do - it is a shame and they should reintroduce it. Breakfasts were equally good.
Throughout this stay all staff were extremely attentive and courteous - we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you to all the staff at Brown's for making our stay so pleasant. We really hope to be visiting you all again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We like our guest to leave the hotel feeling happy, and I am pleased that you decided to give us another chance and that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable this time around. Thank you too for mentioning the attentive and courteous staff. We do still give tea samples and I am sorry we missed you on this day. Please call our English Tea Room Manager and she will be happy to forward some to you. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Afternoon tea at Brown's is excellent - relaxed and friendly but effortlessly efficient service with traditional tea-time treats (proper clotted cream for the scones for example) and a great range of teas. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We are famous for our Afternoon Tea at Brown's and as the oldest hotel in London we keep our offering traditional. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that we have to offer and I look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited the Brown's Hotel for afternoon tea as we knew it was near my husband's workplace and said it was a great hotel.

We were escorted to a table, next to a man playing popular music on a piano. Our tea was served to us or beautiful crockery. The tea itself was lovely, and they supplied us with more sandwiches, and would have supplied us with more scones and cake if we wanted it. The atmosphere was delightful and the staff were very helpful. It was worth the money, and we would definetly return. The best part was the cakes, they were AMAZING!!!!!!

Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We offer as many replenishments as our guests wish. As you will see from other reviews, some like the scones best but your clear favourite was the cakes. We change our offering on a regular basis and I hope you will return to try some different varieties in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Superb service, wonderful breakfasts & a truly lovely bed. A very quiet, relaxing & calming place to stay away from the hustle & bustle of West End London.
Management obviously training their staff very well as they were ALL very helpful and charming.
Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Your review sums up perfectly all that is great about Brown's - excellent and helpful service, a superbly comfortable night's sleep and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Thank you, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Browns Hotel for only one night as we had a lay over in London. I cannot wait to go back to the hotel and spend some time there. I cannot say enough about how well we were treated and how lovely the hotel is. It is in a wonderful location in the heart of Mayfair. There are great restaurants and shopping nearby and it is close to many attractions that London has to offer. Our room was on the fifth floor and had beautiful wood floors and was very well appointed. The bed was also very comfortable. The people who work there are very friendly and welcoming. We had a delicious breakfast too. We will plan a trip to London just to stay in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

I was so pleased to read your wonderful review and to learn that you would make a visit to London just to stay with us again! Praise indeed. I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay all round and we shll look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Rocco Forte really knows how to run hotels, and the Brown's it's a clear example.
The hotel is in Mayfair, with an excellent location close to major attractions.
Stayed in a junior suite and it was great, with lots of space, large sitting area, great walk-in closet and wonderful bath with rain shower and separate soaking tub.
The rooms are very modern and stylish, with lots of details that make them feel unique.
Staff at the hotel is really nice and helpful; the girl at the reception even walked us to our suite and explained everything in detail.
Breakfast was included in our rate, buffet style with a la carte main dishes, all very good quality.
Afternoon tea is a must at the Brown's, you can't miss it. Finger sandwiches,cakes, cookies and chocolates to die for with an excellent tea selection.
Overall a very pleasant and unique experience. Bravo Rocco Forte.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioLoubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for your commendation of everything that is on offer at Brown's which you have summarized perfectly in your review. A supremely central location, comfotable, spacious accommodation, excellent service and fabulous food. We look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same on your next visit to London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,680 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#13 of 1,077 in London
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,344 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,810 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#6 of 1,077 in London
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $548 - $1,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin and Emily Young combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of The Restaurant, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Splitty, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London
Brown's Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing