We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
paddockwood
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

four of us went here for a 60th birthday celebration, it was casual dress but smart. The setting was exactly the same very casual with settees and big comfy arm chairs. There was a good variety of sandwiches that kept being replemished as soon as the plate was empty. Then came the mini scones warm with cream and jam yum yum, then victoria sponge of coffee cake, to be followed by more mini cake selections, Tea to drink until you could drink no more, by the time we left we where stuffed to the brim. Staff where good and there for every little whim you may have. We have visted the ritz but preferred the relaxed atmosphere at Browns. Just be wary their is a 20% service charge included in the bill.

Room Tip: afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiePaddockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased to know you enjoyed the atmosphere and afternoon tea. Our service charge is published as discretionary and is 12.5%. I do so hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you once again for tea or even a visit to the Donovan Bar or our restaurant Hix Mayfair. Thank you again for such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    221
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
314
521
72
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We are never disappointed by this hotel. Fabulous rooms, happy and helpful staff and the most comfortable beds. Everything is immaculate with great attention to detail, can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am so pleased to learn that we never disappoint, and I thank you for your superv recommendation. We shall look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed over Christmas at this, my mother-in-law's favourite London hotel. The service as always was excellent, our rooms, spacious, comfortable and bright. Afternoon tea in our room was a joy and dinner in the restaurant impeccable. You pay a lot of money to stay at Brown's, but you know you can expect excellent, professional standards in everything they offer - we are never disappointed when we choose this hotel. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of Brown's and your very favourable comments about our high standards of service and attention to detail. Especial thanks too to your mother-in-law for naming Brown's as her favourite London hotel and choosing to stay with us over Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at Browns for the first time for my husband's birthday. The hotel is very start, the staff are extremely professional, as you would expect, in particular John the doorman.
The evening "turn- down" service made us smile- slippers placed on a sheet, eye gel on the pillow etc. The bed was so comfortable but unfortunately we were kept awake from 5:30 as a result of a party in a nearby room. The night staff were aware of this because they delivered room service on several occasions but didn't appear to be concerned about the music & loud noise. The staff delivering the party food & drink spoke at normal volume even apologising to the party room because they'd had a delay in service! When we we t for breakfast the music was still on & I told reception at check-out. Johan the reception manager was apologetic & arranged a bottle of wine for our lunch table. I would have rated excellent but this is not really what I would expect for a, hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I was sorry to learn that your first stay with us was marred by a noisy party in a nearby room. Please accept my belated apologies for this disruption to your comfortable rest. I do so hope that it will not deter you from visiting again, and I thank you for your appreciation of the professional staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Good to finally check out London’s oldest 5-star hotel. Behind old facades are modern rooms all luxuriously appointed, very spacious, and designed with attention to details. Above all the atmosphere is very homely, very English, with impeccable service. Rocco Forte is one of my most respected names in hotels and great that each hotel has its own individuality and character. I had stayed at Frankfurt and Florence years ago and when I checked in at Brown’s the reception had all my details including even my preferred newspaper. The dining breakfast is very good with an extensive menu including an interesting Indian course. A most pleasant stay right in city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your charming review of Brown's. We aim to create a 'home away from home' for our guests, all the while offering excellent food and service in comfortable surroundings. I am pleased to know you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have tried many hotels in London and we found the one suited to our tastes. We stayed for two nights in a standard room : very big for London, tastefully decorated with such a comfy large bed and a very nice big bathroom. Our room was also very quiet but with a view on the backyard (maybe not the best view but as a result, not a noise in the morning).
The breakfast was really good (try the hot chocolate and you wont have to have lunch afterwards!). The staff was charming and for us, had just the right attitude : smily, friendly and helpful.
And of course, you cant beat the location : everything is in walking distance. We will go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Your lovely review sums up all that is good about Brown's - ambience, food, friendly and helpful staff and a wonderfully central location. Thank you. We shall look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Donovan Bar is a bar that when we come to London, we always pop in for a couple of drinks. Great service in this long establish hotel. Maybe slightly pricier than other Park Lane Hotel bars. We always sit at the bar and chat to great bar staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for always choosing to come to the Donovan Bar on your visits to London, and for your appreciation of the service and staff. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,152 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,068 in London
391 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#10 of 1,068 in London
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,068 in London
3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Property: Brown's Hotel
Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London
Brown's Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing