We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brown's Hotel...perfect Afternoon Tea and excellent service!!!”
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brown's Hotel...perfect Afternoon Tea and excellent service!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were 3 Young Italian Ladies and arrived at Brown's hotel at 5 p.m.after booked a table for the famous afternoon tea. A kind doorman showed us the Tea room and said us good afternonoon.
The atmosphere and location ware perfect. The music with the piano was very nice and relaxing. Andrea the maitre, showed us our fantastic table at the corner.

The salt and sweet food were fresh and delicious, the flute of Ruinart was at the correct temperature, and only one word for the service: PERFECT!!!! Andrea and all his staff were were polite, smiling and willing to satisfy our demands. Have given explanation on all tea chosen, in a precise and competent.
The colors, the atmosphere and decor of the room we were so relaxed that we left after 3 hours with one word ..... this afternoon tea was really moving!

Thank you very much. Every Italian or not Italian persons who is on holiday in London should try it once and you will be thrilled...is historical and unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAO2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
The title of your comments says it all! Thank you for your glowing review of your visit for Afternoon Tea. I am so pleased you had such a relaxing and enjoyable visit with us and enjoyed the experience so thoroughly. I do hope you will visit again on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    217
    53
    21
    11
See reviews for
306
515
70
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at Brown's hotel at 4 p.m. and a lovely doorman showed us the Tea room.
The atmosphere was perfect. The pianist was playing and a very nice gentleman, Andrea, took us to the table
It was by the window in the some room of the pianist.
The food delicious and the service perfect, all the waiters were polite with a warm smile.
This was a very relaxed and calm place, and I strongly encourage anyone to try the afternoon tea at Brown's becouse is a unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your visit for a delicious Afternoon Tea, and that our friendly and courteous staff looked after you so well. Thank you for encouraging others to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Took afternoon tea at Browns.
Was a fantastic experience if a little expensive.
On the plus side, a great ambiance, great fresh tasting sandwiches, cakes, scones, jam, cream etc.
Which just keeps coming, as soon as a plate is cleared, another appears, a constant flow of yummy food on an all you can eat basis! Wonderful!
Would I do it again?
Yes!
So typically English, wonderful selection of teas!
A must try for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darrenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Afternoon Tea at Brown's. We like our guests to enjoy as many refills of sandwiches, scones, cakes and tea as they wish, and I am pleased to know you had such an enjoyable time and would do it all over again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel, as a family whilst my husband was in London for business. We travelled a long distance to reach London, but felt at home as soon as we arrived. Great location. Fabulous helpful, attentive staff. Attention to detail from the door man remembering our names and welcoming us, to recommendations for activities with our children.
Nice, comfortable rooms. Our children had their own beautiful room complete with personal bed linen, Wii and children's amenities. Our children were delighted with the treats and cookies delivered to the room.
Yes, this is an expensive hotel, but we felt it was money well spent. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giuliano b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We like to create a 'home away from home' for our guests and to take especial care of children, our future guests, and I am so pleased to learn that this was the case with your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my last stop in the U.K. so meeting the very charming and friendly staff on arrival was a great start. The decent room size and location were a plus. The doorman with his carnation and top hat, the concierge with his hand written recommendations and a lavish old world breakfast buffet made this a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaJoe889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of Brown's, and in particular its friendly staff. I am glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay, with distinctive touches, and look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
588 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The helpful staff, city location, English tea, and attention to detail made our visit remarkable. Once the young man at the desk learned we were celebrating our anniversary, we were given a room upgrade and were treated with candles and rose petals on our bed. The breakfasts and afternoon tea were amazing. The Donovan was a special drink prepared for us in the bar. This hotel should be on everyone's bucket list!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of Brown's and all we offer in our outlets. We pride ourselves on attention to detail and to enhancing celebratory events for our guests by adding special touches and I am pleased you enjoyed your anniversary stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having Afternoon Tea (not High Tea, as we were told by our Tea Sommelier) at Brown's Hotel was a wonderful experience. We were quite fortunate to be seated, as we did not have a reservation. I highly recommend that you make a reservation in advance if you want to experience this. We actually got very lucky after we pleaded with the hostess and also mentioned that it was our last day in London. We had a short wait in their beautiful bar which is also another great experience to have at Browns. Once seated, we had outstanding service and enjoyed the piano music, teas, finger sandwiches and desserts. Since Wimbledon was going on, we were surprisingly thrilled to see a green tennis ball decorated pastry. Being unsophisticated as we are, we didn't realize that they keep bringing you trays and trays of the many sandwiches and pastries that you order. No need to make the mistake that the 3 of us made, by cutting everything in thirds! Live and learn, and make sure you do it at Browns! It is costly, but how often do you get to experience afternoon tea in the oldest hotel in London. Splurge, indulge, sit back and relax and enjoy every minute!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quitawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your charming review. We like to offer our guests as many replenishments as they like of sandwiches, scones and pastries - so for your next visit, please don't hold back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#7 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Property: Brown's Hotel
Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London
Brown's Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing