We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #54 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service excellence”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff at this hotel are outstanding. The food is truly fantastic and the room design is unique and brilliant. There was no aspect of my stay that was negative in any way. This is definitely a hotel that I would be happy to stay at again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelsAreMyMainHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are always delighted to hear that our guests have experienced something extra special when staying with us. We certainly hope you come back to see us again soon, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to return so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    380
    120
    58
    25
See reviews for
166
757
109
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I don't know where to begin... let's start with positive aspect hence the reason why 2/5 and not 1/5..
The design is interesting and the room was nice, it is a very different concept and I enjoyed it. I wanted to book a spa treatment but they didn't have the slot I wanted available but I have to say that the young lady at reception was very friendly, she's the one earning a 5* here..

However, the service was the main problem, although I came across some nice, friendly and interesting people who had a good 5* attitude, I would say 80% of the staff were not good enough for that standard. Lack of knowledge, poor attitude, no empathy..

The atmosphere is like walking into a very snobbish and posh club where people only look at you if you are a celebrity or if you wear flashy expensive Kanye West / Lady gaga like clothes..
I did not feel the 5* experience at all and I felt staff weren't people person who care about service and making a difference.

I live in London and never stay in hotels in the capital so it was exceptionnal however I often go to bars and restaurants within 5* hotels but I very much doubt i'll go there again (or maybe the Spa), this is really not for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMCartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so sorry that you time at Sanderson did not meet with your expectations. Our staff are devoted to ensuring our guests feel relaxed and welcome at Sanderson so it is disappointing to hear that you felt some of the team were not as gracious as they should be, please accept our apologies for letting you down on this occasion. We would welcome the opportunity to change your opinion. Katie.taylor@mhgc.com would love to hear from you so that she can make sure your next visit is much more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Philippe Starck has made this hotel a real pleasure to stay in. Right from the entrance lobby, with the red lips sofa welcoming you, or the bar stools looking right at you with wondering eyes. The rooms are exquisite: no walls, just pinkish drapes separate you from the bathroom and its wonderful set up. The painting hanging from the ceiling, skewed at the same angle my bed was, just blew me away. I loved it. Minimal decor, very white. A nice Starck sculpture also serves as weights while watching TV...Nice bed, great pillows, a superb sound and tv system, internet connection... if you can afford it, this is the place to stay in London. Staff are very kind and ready to help. WOuld go back any time

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the best to enjoy the design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_An_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson! Thank you for your fabulous review and we are absolutely delighted that you not only found our guestrooms comfortable but that you also loved Philippe Starck’s vision and simplistic original interior designs. Come back for another visit soon as we would love to see you again, Katie.taylor@mhgc.com is waiting to hear from you so she can ensure your next stay is even more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay midweek. The Malaysian restaurant & the Purple bar were my highlights. We didn't feel the need to step outside the hotel & enjoyed a great evening chilling out over fantastic food and drinks. Our room was great & I particularly liked the turn down service with tea lights being lit and fresh towels. The rooms were a little tired in terms of decor but it didn't take away from the overall experience.

Quirky touches like the painting on the ceiling were fun. Hypoallergenic bedding wasn't too much trouble. Staff were very friendly, great at recommending dishes for dinner and didn't make us feel rushed at any point.

Atmosphere is great and fantastic for people watching.

I loved the Salvador Dali sofa in the lobby & the lifts were great, if slightly disorientating with a hologram feel.

Can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Exploring7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed Sanderson so much you didn’t feel the need to leave the hotel, what a great compliment. We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and food in Suka and the Purple Bar, and that you loved the unique interior design of our guestrooms, lobby and lifts. Please let us know when you are coming back to see us so that we can personally oversee your visit, Katie.taylor@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived late saturday night for 1 nights stay, When we arrived the hotel was very busy we were checked in and shown to our rooms the lifts the decor the whole hotel is so quirky and modern we loved it straight away.
from the space lifts to the Famous Sanderson Lips loved it all. only problem we had we were only there for such a short stay we didn't have chance to fully use all the hotels facilities. We found all the staff so polite and couldn't do enough the service at the The Sanderson blows the likes of the St Pancras renaissance out of the water were we have stayed service times before and always been up against rude staff!! Will 100% be returning to the The sanderson very soon. You can see what its such a popular fav of many celebs :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAATKINSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted you love so many elements about Sanderson and thank you also for commenting on how great our staff are, they are dedicated to ensuring our guests receive a friendly and attentive service at Sanderson so your review is incredibly rewarding. We are so glad you intend to return as we look forward to welcoming you back. Please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind so that she can make sure your next visit is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sanderson during our most recent trip to London and it was quite magnificent. The rooms are stylish: all-white, contemporary in design, bright (a wall of windows, at least in the room we stayed in) and in the center of the room a large bed which was probably my favorite feature - it was sooo comfortable that I wanted to stay in it all day. Possibly the best sleep I've ever had. The bathroom - which is separated from the bedroom by a curtain - is incredibly spacious and is equipped with yummy Malin+Goetz products. In fact the rooms at the the Sanderson are bigger than most of what you'd typically find in London hotels. The lobby is colorful and chic - reminds me a little bit of the Cosmopolitan hotel in Las Vegas which has the same kind of plush and clubby (and self-consciously cool) neon/glass/plastic/velvet aesthetic going. The Philippe Starck-designed billiards room which also had a 2nd level lounge is awesome and surprisingly sparsely trafficked - there were never more than a couple of people playing every time we walked by. I didn't get to sit at the bar but it was crowded with sleek beautiful people on the Thursday night we were there. Friday didn't get as much action, for some reason. I get the feeling many trendy young hipsters hang out there, much as they do in NYC at the Standard Hotel or some similar fashionably "it" place. Service was very good. But most memorable was the room and the BED!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lailah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review, we love to hear from happy guests so are delighted that your time at Sanderson was so memorable. The comfort and relaxation of our guests is incredibly important to us so it is great news that you found your room and especially the bed so comfortable. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Sanderson again soon, please get in touch with Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to come back so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just had a wonderful two night stay. We normally stay at The Mayfair, but prices are fairly high with little to offer other than the Mayfair location so we thought we'd give The Sanderson a try.
So glad we did. The hotel is funky and quirky. The rooms are airy and light with lovely toiletries.
We had the afternoon tea which was superb.
We ate in the restaurant and drank numerous cocktails in The Long Bar, all highly recommended.
They had complimentary bikes which we took full use of on the Sunday and cycled all over London.
We will definitely stay here on our next visit and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesmg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Jules, we are thrilled you chose to try out Sanderson and are so pleased you loved the experience here, thank you for your great review and recommendation. It is fantastic news that you enjoyed so many elements we have to offer and we really hope Sanderson will now be your favoured London hotel. Katie.taylor@mhgc.com would be delighted to help you with any future bookings. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#70 of 1,069 in London
1,158 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,069 in London
1,467 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#33 of 1,069 in London
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#21 of 1,069 in London
269 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,199 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing