We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is a cut well above the rest. In a fantastic location just off the madness of Oxford Street and beside many superb places to eat and drink. The main bar is excellent serving some of the best cocktails I have been fortunate to sample. Bar staff could be a little more attentive, most of them seemed to be employed for their looks rather than their work ethic. But the the quality of their product were fantastic and made up for any shot comings.
Rooms are very cool, although it took a little time to get used to.
I really enjoyed this hotel and I shall be back in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South-armagh-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic experience with us, and that you particularly enjoyed the delicious cocktails that our excellent mixology team create. We are also delighted to note that you will be back to stay with us and please let us know at that time, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    344
    116
    55
    24
See reviews for
136
676
105
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Sanderson from 10th to the 12th Nov. We booked here as friends we were meeting had stayed previously and recommended. The hotel is very stylish if a little random in places! If you want to stay somewhere stylish, different and close to Oxford St and West End this is the hotel for you.
However if you want somewhere with good soundproofing, stylish yet practical and attentive service from waiting staff this may not be the hotel for you?
As stated in the title the big plus for this hotel is its location, only 15 mins in cab from Euston and a few minutes stroll onto Oxford Street. We had a great weekend but I probably would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggeronTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are very proud of our central location and pleased that this element also appealed to you. Equally we are very sorry for any less than attentive service and this will be discussed, if we had been aware of such disappointment during your stay, we would have been pleased to discuss. We hope you will consider having another great weekend with us, and please let us know when you are next staying so that we can oversee your stay, including quiet room allocation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

it is hard to feel completely comfortable in a hotel that has a bar used by prostitutes and businessmen. Every Tuesday and Wednesday they also hire out the courtyard for functions that can go well into the night with loud music till the last customer leaves...which could be 5am.
the turn-down service was slack. our room was only turned-down 2 times in two-weeks.
they have scraped the extensive dvd library and instead have a tiny selection (15 films) chosen through the tv.

Room Tip: top floor front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are very sorry that your enjoyment of the hotel was impacted and if we had been aware of any concern during your stay, we would have been pleased to discuss with you. As a responsible operator, we take our licensing obligations extremely seriously and if we are aware of any detrimental behaviour impacting our guests - by resident or visitor - our Security team will immediately investigate and, if appropriate, walk individual/s from the hotel. We do not take such allegations lightly and, as such, if you are able to let me know any specific details regarding date, time, description, etc., that would be most welcome in order to further investigate - please contact me direct. Whilst we have hosted two exclusive events in the previous month, this is not a regular occurrence and we do not have regular weekly events in the Courtyard, nor would we permit any event to go through to 5AM or, indeed, outside of our license permitted hours. When such an event is being held, we ensure our guests are advised of such fact. In relation to “loud music”, there is sound monitoring in place on an hourly basis and it is strictly regulated in accordance to the Environmental Health guidelines and controlled through the use of a limiter. In response to guest demand for more TV channel selections and more choice of current film releases, we introduced a new TV entertainment system, and we would have followed up on your turndown requirement if we had known of any disappointment. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived early in the moring and our rooms were ready within 30 minutes for check in. Hotel staff was super friendly, from the front desk to the restaurant manager they could not do enough for us to make us welcome. Super trendy bar at night. Hotel lobby & rooms are very modern and our room we stayed in was fantastic, we stayed in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor. Breakfast was really delicous and service outstanding. Could not have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to a lot of great places, British Museum, lots of great shopping, trendy restaurants all around. Definelty recommend this hotel to the sophisticated traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sigrid, thank you for your fantastic comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and we very much appreciate your lovely comments on service, room and location. We will always aim to have rooms ready as quickly as possible for early arriving guests, subject to availability, and I am pleased to note that this was particularly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson and please let us know when you are next staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've not been to London for many years, but we won't wait so long to return. Our stay at the Sanderson was impeccable from beginning to end. How is it possible for their staff to remember our names (at any time of the day) is just a small indication of the level of service the Sanderson offers. We felt as welcome as if we were regulars. The hotel is a Stark redesign of the wonderful Sanderson Head Showroom, located in the worldly Soho district, that is still a fantastic mid century modern building. To say that a Stark inspired interior still resonates in todays ever evolving design aesthetic is wonderful. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed room service twice, both times incredible (the Beef Bourguignon is incredible and worth skipping a night on the town). If shopping, dining or West End theatre are on your itinerary, I strongly recommend staying here. Singing in the Rain was fantastic entertainment as were the restaurants on Charlotte street for wonderful dining. Selfridges is a luxury shopping dream come true. Back at the Sanderson, after being greeted home by the ever attentive doorman, one could relax, have a smart cocktail at the bar with the local London urbanites or shop at Luna And Curious in the lobby. The Sanderson became our refuge after taking in the endless sites of London over a late August long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryTravelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are so thrilled that you had such a memorable stay at Sanderson, it’s always our intention to create a unique guest experience and thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are very proud of our design heritage as a Grade II* listed building and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel – service, location, food and beverage – as well as the beautiful gifts in Luna & Curious. We look forward to you taking refuge again with us when you are next in London and hope you’ll have an opportunity to enjoy agua, our urban spa, on that occasion. Please do let us know when you are next staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is unfortunate that i have to write a review for the Sanderson which scores so badly but unfortuately the staff on reception and the arrangement of the concierge is such that i do not believe they should be a 5 star.

Let's start with the good stuff:

Breakfasts - these were excellent with good service, although some people may find the staff a bit over friendly, they have clearly been taught to rehearse the same lines to everyone to make them feel valued. In some hotels this works, in the Sanderson it seemed a bit contrived, but that could have been because we had such a bad stay there.

The Manager - if you have a problem and the staff are not responding then make sure you contact him. He is the only one with any authority and we ended up feeling sorry for him because the people working for him at the front desk and in housekeeping were clearly very badly trained. Either that, or he was not managing them well....

The less good stuff:

The rooms have HORRENDOUS soundproofing.

The housekeeping staff have a manager who comes to check on the rooms once they have been serviced, but be aware that he does not knock and may barge in at any time. When we rang the front desk to complain, the girl did not seem at all bothered and we have no doubt the message was not passed on.

The front of house. There is no concierge on the door to help you carry bags from your taxi or assist you in any way. After check in you are offered the service of a bell man, but by this point you have done the hard bit!

The reception desk staff. We didn't meet one person on the front desk who was properly trained, or who understood our requests or complaints. It took several phone calls to establish that we wanted an extra reading lamp in the room, the receptionist thought we needed an engineer despite the fact we never reported a fault, we just asked for an extra light!

On check in we were combining two independent bookings which our agent had attempted to do prior to our arrival but with no luck [probably due to the staff on the front desk being so uncapable]. We successfully arranged it so we could stay in the same room and provided the usual credit card details for the extras. The following day we were then hounded all afternoon by the girl who had checked us in to go and pay for the previous night and the extras incurred. She hadn't combined the two bookings at all and expected us to "pay as we went" in order to make her life easier. Eventually the manager looked after the situation but the receptionist was so incompetent and rude when we were trying to explain the situation.

Later on in the day, we again had to call on the reception staff for assistance and even after 3 calls and 45 minutes our request was not met.

Soundproofing is horrendous. There are other reviews that suggest not being above the bar and we would echo this. You can hear it all day and night and everything that goes on in the corridors as well.

All in all the place needs to retrain their staff or get better skilled personnel for the front desk. This is the part of the hotel that leaves the biggest impression on a guest and for us we would have received better service in a budget hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better i guess, but go elsewhere, you can spend this sort of money and get real five...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportychick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review and it is obviously disappointing that we let you down. Please accept our sincere apologies for any miscommunication in relation to the request for signing a new registration card – as you mention, there were two separate bookings in the system and a signature was required for both, however we do not appear to have communicated in a more attentive or gracious manner. As soon as the Front Office Manager was aware of your disappointment, he organised a 50% discount on your own rate and a complimentary bottle of champagne together with an invitation to contact him direct on a future stay. There is no excuse for any member of staff entering a room without the proper procedure, we are also sorry if a member of the bell team was not available on arrival to help with luggage. These service issues will be addressed with the relevant members of staff. I would also be pleased to speak with you personally and take the opportunity to discuss a return to the hotel, please contact me on kevin.rockey@mhgc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We needed a place to stay while being stuck in London due to hurricane Sandy. The Sanderson's staff couldn't have been more accommodating. From laundry service, to arranging meeting space, to the fabulous bar tender, we couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious. And the decor is funky and modern, while still being quite comfortable. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithKeefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much, Keith, for your feedback, we are delighted that you loved us. We understood the impact the Hurricane Sandy had for many of our guests and we very much appreciate your kind comments in relation to our service in response. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson when you are next in London and please do let us know when you have another reservation in place at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#65 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#21 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#35 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#50 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing