We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis”
Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #5 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Halkin then returned for a night at the end of our trip as we loved it so much! We arrived around 9.30am after a 24 hour flight fully expecting to be told we could not check in until 2pm, however we were pleasantly surprised when told our room would be ready within 20 minutes. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was quite spacious and very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel provided a perfect end to busy days we spent sight seeing. The showers had fantastic water pressure, best I have ever encountered in a hotel. The area around the hotel felt safe to walk around at night and everywhere seemed easy to access. We walked to Buckingham Palace, the theatre in Victoria and caught numerous trains and buses from Hyde Park Corner just a couple of minutes up the road. All in all we would highly recommend The Halkin and would certainly stay there again if we return to London.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parralel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 534 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

Frankly speaking, we had already booked rooms in London at a five star hotel chain we've frequented as guests in other cities. At the suggestion of my brother-in-law, we switched reservations to The Halkin. This hotel turned out to be a little gem situated in Belgrave square, a quiet and pleasant area within walking distance to London's renown shopping districts and popular restaurants.

During our two separate stays at The Halkin, we found the staff to be professional, pleasant and attentive. They made us feel like welcomed guests throughout our visit.

Although The Halkin may appear to be a small boutique hotel with its intimate entry and lobby area, the rooms and bathrooms were fairly large and tastefully designed. They were nicely appointed, well maintained and very clean.

If you are interested in finding a pleasant hotel experience in London, I would definitely encourage you to consider the Halkin.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband in November 2010.
Great location for shopping and sight-seeing.
All the staff were very professional and friendly.
Room was a good size, clean and comfortable, I liked the touch screen control for the lighting/air conditioning.
Breakfast was excellent, service was flawless.
I would definitely recommend this luxury hotel and I would choose this hotel again when I next visit London.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The Halkin was SUPERB. Everything from the quiet elegance, to the peace and quiet within, this hotel is amazing. The staff were impeccable. Restaurant was phenomenal. I honestly can't say a single negative thing about our 4 night stay here.....it was just perfect. The comfort
of the room was outstanding, decor was gorgeous, the console beside the bed that operates all the lights in the entire suite was perfectly situated and very useful.
Can't imagine staying anywhere else ever again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gyoungdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We had never heard of this hotel before, but we read about it in a travel journal. The web site was positive, but nothing to tell us of this secret gem. The location is in Belgravia, just off of Belgravia Square. The Mexican Embassy is next door, and the hotel is unassuming from the street. Inside, a small lobby and a lobby bar. Everything is real granite, marble or wood. Discretion is the word. Our room was on the third floor facing the back of the street. Perhaps the quietest hotel on record. Not a peep from above, below or either side (and we were told that they were full!). The room was small-ish for what we paid, but like a jewel box, with fine wood and an exquisite multi-stone bathroom. WE had some really rare sculptures in the room, or at least they appeared so. Since everything in this place was real, I suspect that these were too.The bed was extremely comfortable, and the black out drapes were such that you could not tell the time of day. In fact, without a wake up call, you could be in trouble here. The main restaurant Nahm is a thai-fusion style with a number of dishes that were really unusual. Comparisons to other properties? difficult. The staff feel Swiss but sound British; the interior modern, yet refined. We think the best of both worlds. Try it when you want the best in London, perhaps the World.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

The Halkin blends almost invisibly into a quiet residential neighbourhood close to Sloane Street, Knightsbridge tube station, Harvey Nichols and Harrods.

The check-in process was quick and our bags were delivered within 15 minutes. Staff are polite, thoughtful and efficient, reflecting the discreetly professional service that the English butler is renowned for.

The hotel's decor is 'luxurious minimalism' rather than 'overstuffed baroque'. Everything that one needs is generally available and works well. Double Rooms are quiet, clean, well-insulated and equipped with very effective lighting connected to twin control panels on each night table flanking the bed. Light switches on walls are intuitively positioned and also controlled via a clearly-labelled panel on the wall. The writing table is equipped with RJ45 female jack, electricity sockets, etc; a table lamp and (moderately uncomfortable) chair completes the workstation. Other furnishings include a side table, floor lamp, stuffed chair and wall hangings. The hairdryer is kept in a night table drawer.

A choice of wired and WiFi internet access plans is offered for an unspecified fee. There are enough electricity sockets for charging one's ectronic gizmos but none next to the bed. There is no electric kettle nor free sachets of teas and coffee. However, free bedroom slippers, daily newspaper and bottled water are provided.

In the wardrobe are an umbrella and cloth carrier bag. An additional eponymous folded paper carrier bag lies in a drawer, above which is mounted the electronic safe. Alongside is a relatively small flat panel TV with cable access (in one of our rooms, the 'CH' and 'VOL' letters were fading from the remote control buttons) sitting atop the minibar-fridge cabinet,

The ensuite bathroom looks spare but boasts a bidet, toilet, heated towel bar, an undermounted washbasin in a wide and long vanity counter below a large mirror and a bathtub with shower. Bespoke Como Shamballa amenities (lotion, shampoo, conditioner, etc) add a touch of class. Hot water is almost instantaneous but single-lever tapware would be more efficient for temperature control than the existing double cross-handle faucets used for the washbasin and bathtub-shower mixers. A smart toilet with heated seat would also be a welcome improvement for winter.

The breakfast menu offers healthy, mostly egg-oriented choices. Traditional fare like kippers is not listed.

Checking out after a 5-night stay, I had expected to pay for wired internet access but it was not charged to my bill. The staff had also thoughtfully looked through my room and retrieved a belt I had forgotten. In almost four decades of leisure travel this is only the second hotel I have found to be so meticulous. Truly a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My wife and I spent our anniversary weekend at the Halkin in October. The location is perfect, a five minute walk to the Tube, Hyde Park, Knightsbridge's shopping and restaurants, and the quaint Motcomb St. The hotel has a contemporary, boutique feel. Our room was comfortable and spacious - with a walk in closet and large bath. The bed had high quality linens and was very comfortable. We slept extremely well. The staff were professional and friendly. Every time we requested something for the room (tea, silverware) it was delivered promptly. They even sent up a complimentary bottle of Champagne for our anniversary. We were very well looked after at the Halkin. We highly recommend it and felt like the hotel provided significant value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oc4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,910 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#11 of 1,077 in London
997 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $424 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO The Halkin is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
COMO The Halkin London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing