We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #10 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Halkin is a fairly small hotel located in a quiet side street in Belgravia. Staff were very efficient and helpful during check-in and throughout our short stay. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well-equipped, with good beds, efficient air conditioning and well-equipped (and fairly large) bathrooms. This was our first stay, but I would certainly recommend for those looking for an alternative to London's larger/grander hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear ChipL-67
Thank you for your top marks review of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    49
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
220
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed with my family and we enjoyed ever bit of the hotel. Small and very classy hotel. Centrally located but on a quiet street. Modern and comfortable rooms, with very friendly and helpful hotel staff. A really outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChipL-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear ChipL-67

Thank you for your "classy" review of The Halkin. so pleased that your family had a great stay.
Do come and visit us again soon.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel quiet a few times but had not been there for some time. It is as good as ever with the service simply outstanding . I would come here again and again but my budget does not always allow this.

This is the first time I have taken the time to write a review but the recognition upon arrival from the staff at reception to the people in room service is simply amazing. It is a special weekend away for me as i live very close to London and it is so worth it.

I do tend to eat out as the location is great and you are close to everything. The hotel is located in a quiet residential street.

thank you Halkin .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rearthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear rearthlondon
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Halkin. Always a good feeling to see the recognition is noticed. Do ask for me the next time you are planning one of your weekends away.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
161 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Reading the excellent reviews our expectations were really "enormous" but I
can confirm that this hotel is oustanding. Quiet, large and beautifully decorated room and
bathroom, fruitplate and newspaper every day, free internet. Very friendly and efficient
staff, greeting you with your name, you really feel at home..
Location is perfect, in walking distance to Knightsbridege and Piccadilly,
Desserves to be in the 5 best of London..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Derobo
thank you for your lovely words - simple, accurate and perfect in summing up The Halkin.
Do come and visit us from the wonderful Monte Carlo soon
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I am going to be really simple in my review.

This hotel was beautiful, friendly and some of the best pancakes I have ever had.

We stayed in a standard room and had plenty of space to relax when we were not working or site seeing.

The staff was amazing and that's an understatement.

My only negative was that it's location is so quiet it took us a day or two to finally find some pubs and food within walking distance but once found I was a happy man.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Jason
Thank you for your "Great Hotel" review and comments. Always nice when the only negative is also a positive but will make sure the concierge pre-empt that next time.
Thanks

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Laud, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Quiet elegance and modern chic.

We've toured around London very extensively. THIS hotel, staff, and neighborhood were the best.

Pros: Clean modern design, chic elegance, personal service, peaceful atmosphere, PEACEFUL neighborhood yet so close to tube stops and other important London locations. Easy access to transportation, shopping, restaurants, sightseeing. Knowledgeable and helpful staff.

We really enjoyed the ambiance and after a busy day returning to this peaceful neighborhood and peaceful hotel.

Very unique room amenities…..computerized lighting controls, environmental controls, and elegant wood paneling.

Cons: Breakfast in the dining room, although excellent quality, was very slow to come from the kitchen. Internet service in our room was unreliable.

We would DEFINITELY return for the personal service, convenient location, beautiful and quiet neighborhood, elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Pacosmom
Thank you for your unique review of The Halkin. So happy you had such a wonderful stay and note your breakfast feedback. Always good to keep the team focussed on every area.
Come back soon
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night here and had a wonderful stay, the greeting as we came in was warm and friendly and staff great throughout the stay. In particular Sarah on reception and the concierge.

We loved the curved walls in the hallway and the hotel demonstrated how thinking about all the small things makes a difference from the quality of the towels and sheets to the layout and openness of the rooms. We couldn't believe how quiet it was given we were 2-min from Hyde Park Corner, I can see why Belgravia is popular with the super rich.

We were here as a couple but I could equally see myself here on business as a relaxing oasis away from the London hub bub.

The restaurant was stylish and light, perfectly capturing the morning light. We didn't have dinner but the breakfast was great and coffee perfect after a few cocktails the night before.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Martin
Thank you for your "Best" review and you made Sara's day. She was so happy that you enjoyed your visit and to mention her has made her proud.
Cardiff is not far and the train can take the strain, so we look forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel
Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel
#27 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#92 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#56 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#63 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#4 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Property: COMO The Halkin
Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#173 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
COMO The Halkin London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing