We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at The Halkin”
Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #5 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Port Orange, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at The Halkin”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon. We stayed at The Halkin at both the beginning and ending of our trip for a total of six nights. The first three nights we stayed on the top floor in a Superior Room. The last three nights we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room which was on the third floor.

Both rooms were spacious and had a comfortable bed. Both were very private. The location was great - on a quiet street close to a tube station. Getting taxis was also very easy. The staff was very pleasant and eager to please. Both rooms were EXTREMELY clean. We ordered room service a couple of times which was prompt and delicious. We ate breakfast once in the restaurant, but it was a bit pricey. We spent some time in the bar - and while the drinks were also a little pricey, the atmosphere and the staff were excellent.

We had two minor complaints: 1) they had issues with the lift. 2) The water pressure in the showers of both rooms was entirely too strong... yes, too strong.

I highly recommend The Halkin!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin in 2012, Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    57
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
261
37
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel - we booked a chocolate afternoon tea as a treat during a trip to London, and it was fabulous..... The staff were really helpful, looked after us wonderfully, and the chocolate patisserie was among the best I have tasted... The chocolate macaroons were especially delicious ! We definitely recommend this hotel for afternoon tea and hope to be back again soon !!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJW_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin in 2012, Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the Halkin and was very impressed. Despite being centrally located, the hotel is on a quiet one way street. The rooms are very comfortable and the service from the staff was outstanding. It is small enough to pay attention but large enough to retain your privacy. I would highly recommend the Halkin for business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneySider76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin in 2012, Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

booked a three night stay (through Trip Advisor) which had a 3 for 2 deal over New Year Weekend for a very reasonable price for London. Didnt know much about it but what a find. a little gem of a hotel. Only 2 minutes from Hyde Park Corner tube station. 2 tube stops to Piccadilly and right behind Buckingham Palace.

On arrival, we were upgraded by two rooms to a junior suite on the 5th floor. Large king size bed, seating area and large marble bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower. spotless and lovely.

it was also my partners birthday on NYE. The hotel asked us when we would like to have a bottle of complimentary champagne delivered to the room to celebrate?! amazing service and a really nice touch. We didn't eat in the Thai restaurant as had plans over the new year but the menu looked great.

On Jan 1st we ordered breakfast inroom and although slightly expensive (breakfast wasnt included in the 3 for 2 deal) i thought it was very good quality and delivered on time and nice and hot and on new years day was a nice treat.

We had a few drinks in the bar and again was nice , fairly small as the hotel is quite boutique sized. Didnt hear any noises from other guests throughout the stay.

The only negatives - an iron and ironing board had to be requested, felt this should have just been in the room - there was plenty of space in the 2 closets in the room but this was brought up whilst we were out. Mini bar prices were a bit excessive even for a London 5 star hotel but its entirely optional. You are cheaper ordering room service from the bar.

The hotel is lovely, very clean, staff members warm and friendly and we will certainly be returning in future stays in London.

Room Tip: The junior suite was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiefan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin in 2012, Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in a standard double room. Was a great choice for both location and luxurious accommodation. Room was bright and spacious with the most comfortable bed and huge bath just perfect! Staff extremely courteous and nothing too much trouble for them! Housekeeping was impeccable! Will certainly return!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medicma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The hotel is in a wonderful location in Belgravia - literally at the back of Buckingham Palace, in an area where there are lots of embassies. There are good options available for both in-house dining and a wide range of restaurants nearby. This is a top-notch hotel with a few shortcomings, which prevented it from fulfilling its potential. Nevertheless, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 12 nights stay in September 2011.

The highlights of the visit were :
- Breakfast was the best we had at any hotel during our trip, as the range of choices on the a-la-carte menu were amazing, and cooked perfectly each morning.
- Extremely professional and helpful staff.
- Our deluxe room was spacious and very well appointed with good décor and the thoughtful addition of a nest of tables, extra trays and very comfortable furniture.
- The range of complimentary toiletries were one of the nicest ever found in any of the hotels where we have stayed.
- Bottled water and ice being supplied twice each day.
- Requesting, and being given tea and coffee making facilities, and an iron and ironing board - these were greatly appreciated.
- There was a plumbing issue with the bidet. When reported, this was promptly repaired by a plumber the next day.

The low points of our visit were :
- The shower was less than ideal.
- The placement of the hairdryer at the desk.
- Better lighting for applying make-up.

After corresponding with the hotel about the above issues upon our return home, the General Manager has addressed my concerns.
- The installation of more suitable showerheads will be completed by early 2012.
- Illuminated vanity mirrors are available to assist with applying make-up.
- There is no solution for electrical devices being used in the bathroom, as this is not provided in Britain.

The response I received has addressed my concerns, and we are planning on staying at The Halkin when we next visit London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed at the Halkin while on business in London city.
The service was exceptional, in fact I was made to feel very welcome by the reception staff on arrival. The reception and entry hall area was nicely designed and check-in fast and very professional.
My room were very comfortable and the bathroom was very large with excellent products, room entertainment was incredible with Bose iPod Docking Stations.
Room service was very efficient and the staff was pleasant and helpful.
I did not spent a lot of time in the hotel but would definitely recommend it as a place to stay !!
A special thanks goes to Elizabeth and all Reception & Concierge Staff

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EftimiaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,760 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,068 in London
391 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,068 in London
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Property: COMO The Halkin
Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#172 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO The Halkin is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
COMO The Halkin London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing