We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters 21st Birthday stay.”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #38 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Daughters 21st Birthday stay.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We came to the Dorchester for our daughters 21st Birthday celebration, 6 People and 23 month old, we have stayed at the Dorchester several times and always been very happy, on this particular stay as always the staff and service from all areas of the hotel was fantastic, we had 3 rooms all excellent, a very nice cot for the little fellor and a high chair fully available whenever required, our daughters had some treatments in the spa which they enjoyed very much, we had afternoon tea in the promanade and also an evening meal later, the staff catered for all our requirements on this special trip and made the experience exceptional, we had room service which was prompt, The hotel and rooms are of excellent standard, lovely flowers throughout, we had some special requests to celebrate our daughters birthday with particular thanks to Petronella and Emily for attending to our requirements, they made the weekend extremely welcoming and special, the entire experience was brilliant, all staff friendly and helpfull, they could not have done any more to make our daughters and grandson more welcome, check in and out was prompt thanks to Emma on reception, what more can i say, just how service from a quality hotel should be, professional, caring, attentive just Brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29TOny_O129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear 29Tony_O129,
It was a pleasure to read your kind comments following your recent stay at The Dorchester and how much you and your family enjoyed the hotel. I was delighted to read that your daughters had an opportunity to relax in our spa and how you all enjoyed afternoon tea in The Promenade. I will share your kind comments with Petronella, Emily and Emma and the rest of the team. It was very nice of you to remember them by name and to mention them in your review. I look forward to welcoming you all on a future visit.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    218
    82
    30
    22
See reviews for
269
594
107
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have not tried the dorchester rooms (YET) but we visited for a meal which i could only say was superb.Staff provide a warm and friendly service although i have to agree with a few comments down some spoke very little english which was slightly hard to speak in general terms ( had to break it down a little) But we wasn't to bothered about this.More importantly the food was a delight ,food cooked to highest quality of foods.
For a treat i would suggest you visit

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Maggie S,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to The Dorchester and I am delighted at how much you enjoyed your meal here. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you here for an overnight stay in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Stephan Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I came here for my Mum's 50th and had afternoon tea in the Promenade. I have never been to this Hotel but I can definitely say I would come again! We were greeted by the staff who were very friendly and helpful. Our Waiters were lovely and the overall experience was fantastic!
Due to it being my Mum's Birthday, they brought out a cake for her and the pianist played the Birthday song. Was a fab day and my Mum thoroughly enjoyed herself!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear AnnabelBurgon,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a kind review of your recent birthday afternoon tea in The Promenade. I am delighted you chose to celebrate at The Dorchester and how much you and your mother enjoyed the whole experience. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Never having needed hotels in the great city of London, the Dorchester has long been my ideal grand hotel. A opportunity to sample the inner functions of this renowned institution left me with most of my expectations fulfilled, but also left me with some disappointments as well. Grand public areas and a selection of jolly good eateries are present. The waiters were helpful, if too attentive rather than obsequiously discreet -the latter being preferable, and the room service was efficient, but struggled with English (all-too-predictable in modern London). The room was large and comfortable, but some of the wood and fabric decor had seen better days and the Axminster-esque carpets in the corridors needed renewing. No apparent dress code was enforced downstairs, disappointingly, and some of the foreign clientele enjoyed temporary companions rather too publicly for civilised standards. Anyone expecting a modern-day Earl of Grantham to maintain standards would be disappointed. The Ritz, it seems, keeps civilised sartorial and behavioural formalities better enforced.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter, but lack the Park Lane view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Occasional-Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear CR,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at The Dorchester . I was pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel and I have taken all your other observations most seriously and will address them. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester on another occasion.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked dinner, bed and breakfast for 1 night as a Christmas present. We have always been put off a little by the exterior of the hotel with its Ferraris, Rolls Royce’s etc parked outside as we always felt we would not fit in, how wrong we were. The hotel is excellent and the service is exceptional. We checked in and where taken to our rooms by a lovely young lady who explained that they had put us in a newly refurbished room and she checked if we needed anything else. The rooms was stunning, marble bathroom and a massive queen size bed, the decor id beautiful and topped off with a Bang & Olufsen on the wall. A man turned up 10 minutes later with some water and a fruit platter. We had booked into The Grill restaurant which was very nice, if not a little expensive. The breakfast was good, no requests seemed to challenge the waiter and that’s what you pay for, it's not the stuff you see it's the stuff that don't see behind the scenes. During our stay we were treated like all the other guests and didn't feel inferior in any way. The only little minus point was the view from the room, it was not great but as it was only for 1 night we put up with it. Checkout was smooth and efficient and we came away with a big smile on our faces. Yes it's not cheap, but I would certainly find a bit extra cash to stay with them again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peartree123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Peartree123,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind comment on your recent stay at The Dorchester. I am delighted to read how much you both enjoyed the whole experience including the rooms, service and dining in The Grill. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with everyone here and I hope to get the opportunity to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely surroundings, with good sandwiches, but the afternoon was spoilt by being overcharged by £37 each! No acknowledgement or apology, which left a surprisingly poor aftertaste. This is the first time this has happened to us. Therefore, by all means go, but do state clearly how you would like your card to be charged prior to handing it over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear SD,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit for afternoon tea in the Promenade. As mentioned in my letter, I am sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations and I would like to discuss this with you further if you could contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This grande dame remains a bastion of top quality in London. It is faultless in every way and the prices stay manageable. Amongst the world's great hotels. Service is discreet. Food fantastic even if the decor in The Grill is rather over-the-top Scottish.

Room Tip: The baths are deep and some rooms have a shower in the bath which may be tough for the elderly or ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear JHMH1959,
I am delighted to read how highly you regard The Dorchester and how much you enjoy the service and food. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#52 of 1,067 in London
1,091 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#21 of 1,067 in London
242 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,067 in London
810 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London
The Dorchester London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing