We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #48 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful Grand Dame of London. This hotel is well situated to London attractions but once you're in the hotel, you never want to leave. Restaurants are excellent, service is great and the hotel is very comfortable. Don't forget to check out the spa--fantastic! We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelapond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great hotel in every respect. The common areas are gorgeous as are the rooms. I'm very particular and critical and I can't say a bad word.
This is one of the greatest hotels in the world.
The service is exemplary and what makes it so special is that, unlike some of its competitors, there is no "attitude" or condescension--the staff are genuinely caring. For instance, if you want a cup of coffee/ tea in the promenade bar, there is no dress code; instead be comfortable. I really appreciate this--who wants to dress up to relax?
Ate at the Grill room twice and was exceptional both times.Both times we shared a dinner and "no problem".
Also had dinner at the Promenade Bar on 2 occasions and it too was perfect.
Magnificent sheets,pillows, towels. It was so comfortable, we didn't get out of bed til 11am.
What a pleasure to stay here--I've never been to hotel that is better.

Room Tip: If it's a slow time, they will likely upgrade you with a smile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamshusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Attended a conference in London and took the opportunity to stay at the Dorchester. From the professional and equally friendly greeting by the door team, this experience continued throughout our stay. The room exceeded expectations and the icing on the cake was a 'Dorchester' bookmark placed in my bedside book by the turn down team.
After taking the opportunity to see a musical, we returned to have roomservice and regardless that it was mid night, the service and quality was superb.
My final comment is that I've never stayed in a hotel with such soft and comfortable pillows. Your head 'melts' into them and anybody thinking of treating themselves to a stay, I would personally highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Boss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Boss17,
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay at The Dorchester. I am pleased to hear that the service, food and rooms at The Dorchester surpassed your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and I shall pass your comments onto the team who looked after you – especially housekeeping, for ensuring you will remember us and never again lose your page.
Kind Regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our second time at the Dorchester, what makes it ? The staff. Special mention to the piano bar staff in particular Stacey the sax player and double bass guy who remembered my wife from our last time and played some lovely take that tunes in fantastic venue. We have booked again for 15th feb but have had to cancel due to business but we will certainly be back this year. I would advise a exec room as over looks Hyde park.

Thanks for great time

Special mention to piano bar and avi the manager who has been uber helpful even after a few bottles of Dom perigon.

Room Tip: The spa in my opinion is more of a treatment area , no pool or hot tub but staff are great and give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauliooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear pauliooh,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in The Promenade at The Dorchester and have continued to have such lovely experiences in the Piano Bar. Your kind words about the friendliness and attentive service of our staff is greatly appreciated and I shall pass your feedback onto the team who made your stay so memorable. I shall look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,
Kind Regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were on holiday from Tasmania and I had always wanted to go there and have high tea in the Promanade, as my mother went there when she was at school, and had often spoken of it. Well we went and what a treat, the high tea is on another level completely from other places. Loved it and next time we will also stay at the hotel. Thankyou for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Vera,
Thank you for taking the time to visit The Dorchester during your time in London and for your glowing review of The Promenade. I am delighted to hear that our Afternoon Tea surpassed your expectations. . It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to England.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Part of my Christmas present from my Sons this year included lunch at The Dorchester. What a superb idea! The whole experience was exquisite. Pre-lunch drinks in the bar from their award winning cocktail maker were delicious. The overall service was perfect from attentive and interested staff. Lunch was extraordinarily superb. Colours, textures and taste jumping off our plates throughout the meal. A wonderful restaurant and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear ArizonaSky,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your dining experience at The Dorchester. I am delighted to hear your expectations of the food, staff, and service were surpassed and you thoroughly enjoyed your afternoon. I am pleased to read you also enjoyed sampling some of our delicious cocktails. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is definitely one of the best in London, location opposite the park is very nice, some very important people in and around the hotel. Breakfast should have more choice, but good. Room was good, but a bit more 'traditional' then that of the Savoy. I don't think there is a swimming pool here? Christmas tree was up and looked very festive and the lobby had a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Park view please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmyrOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#12 of 1,076 in London
961 reviews
Mayfair
Claridge's
Claridge's
#41 of 1,076 in London
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,076 in London
3,751 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,076 in London
4,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $624 - $1,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London
The Dorchester London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing