We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing everyone should try it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #37 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“amazing everyone should try it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were on holiday from Tasmania and I had always wanted to go there and have high tea in the Promanade, as my mother went there when she was at school, and had often spoken of it. Well we went and what a treat, the high tea is on another level completely from other places. Loved it and next time we will also stay at the hotel. Thankyou for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Vera,
Thank you for taking the time to visit The Dorchester during your time in London and for your glowing review of The Promenade. I am delighted to hear that our Afternoon Tea surpassed your expectations. . It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to England.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    215
    79
    29
    22
See reviews for
265
580
107
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Part of my Christmas present from my Sons this year included lunch at The Dorchester. What a superb idea! The whole experience was exquisite. Pre-lunch drinks in the bar from their award winning cocktail maker were delicious. The overall service was perfect from attentive and interested staff. Lunch was extraordinarily superb. Colours, textures and taste jumping off our plates throughout the meal. A wonderful restaurant and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear ArizonaSky,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your dining experience at The Dorchester. I am delighted to hear your expectations of the food, staff, and service were surpassed and you thoroughly enjoyed your afternoon. I am pleased to read you also enjoyed sampling some of our delicious cocktails. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is definitely one of the best in London, location opposite the park is very nice, some very important people in and around the hotel. Breakfast should have more choice, but good. Room was good, but a bit more 'traditional' then that of the Savoy. I don't think there is a swimming pool here? Christmas tree was up and looked very festive and the lobby had a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Park view please
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmyrOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the best hotel that we have ever stayed in London. It really does not get any better than this here, so if you ever get the opportunity to stay I really could not recommend it highly enough. It was a surprise weekend for Christmas off my husband who knew I had always wanted to stay here and it really exceeded all my expectations, fabulous attentive staff, gorgeous food from breakfast to afternoon tea and lunch in China Tang.
It really is a truly exceptional hotel to stay and I would love to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear mollyash,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such exceptionally kind feedback for your stay at The Dorchester. I am delighted to hear that your husband planned such a memorable weekend for you over the festive period, which is such a special time at The Dorchester. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of staying here and had the time to sample both afternoon tea in The Promenade and China Tang at The Dorchester. It will be my pleasure to pass your comments onto the team here and I look forward to welcoming you again at The Dorchester in the near future,
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have just returned home from a truly memorable weekend at The Dorchester to celebrate my daughter’s 18th birthday and it was probably one of the most enjoyable few days I have ever experienced. Everything from our early arrival on Friday to collecting our bags from the Concierge after a final trip to the shops on Sunday was effortless and gracefully managed. There are far too many high points to list all of them but if we were to select just a few, the supremely delicious birthday cake that magically appeared in our room while we were out, the indescribable luxuriousness of the beds, whose comfort levels have to be experienced to be truly believed, the wonderful Promenade, where we enjoyed Afternoon Tea on Friday and some great music late Saturday evening, and the friendliness and warmth of all the staff, particularly the housekeeping staff who were unfailingly polite with a ready smile and friendly greeting. We would also like to say a special word to the young man who served us breakfast. Sadly we do not know his name but we do know he comes from Switzerland and The Dorchester is very lucky to have him! We have experienced a small slice of heaven and will definitely be returning for more!

Room Tip: We were in room 340 (Superior King with twin beds) on the third floor at the back of the hotel. It d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Chelwoodian,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on your recent stay at The Dorchester. I am delighted that your chose to celebrate your daughter’s birthday with us and to read how much you all enjoyed your weekend. It will be pleasure to share your comments with the team, especially the waiter who served your breakfast. We very much appreciate the efforts of all the staff who took such good care of you during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the near future.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a lovely treat, gorgeous sandwiches with the crusts off of course!! Glass of pink fizz plenty of choices of teas to choose. Then scones cream and jam followed by pastries. Staff very friendly, and no end to how much you could eat, it just kept coming.....a bit pricey approx 50.00 per head, champagne was 20 pounds per glass. I have to say its not quite as good as the Ritz for tea, but definitely just as decadent!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Classic English style, this hotel which has a reputation for service does not disappoint. The restaurant and bar areas will accommodate most requests. Located opposite Hyde park, the hotel has a beautiful outlook and provides an unbelievable experience for those who love beautiful scenery and the option of healthy activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Michelle C,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. I was delighted to read your comments and your recognition of Hyde Park which is just across the street. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#5 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London
The Dorchester London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing