We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Business Dinner!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #44 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Business Dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Recently attended the Passenger Shipping Association annual dinner at The Dorchester. From arrival with the top hatted doormen, to the bar staff and waiters I was thoroughly impressed by the staff and the venue as a whole. As a frequent traveller and a lover of food and wine everything was exceptional without exception.

Room Tip: Great venue for any event!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedorchester, Hotel Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear JulieM,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words about your recent experience of The Dorchester. I hope you come again to stay or to try another of our many food offerings within the hotel, including The Grill at The Dorchester, three Michelin-starred Alain Ducasse at The Dorchester and China Tang at The Dorchester. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    200
    75
    26
    20
See reviews for
232
523
100
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Dorchester on Saturday, 22 December 2012 for the first time. We have in the past stayed at many hotels in London from the Savoy (our favourite prior to refurbishment), Claridges through the many Hiltons to some quite ordinary ones.

I have to say that based on our experience, the Dorchester was quite exceptional. From arrival, through check-in to our first drink in the bar, we found the staff to be totally focused on our well-being.

Our room was big and comfortable, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.

Breakfast the following day was a pleasure.

My only regret was that we did not dine at the Dorchester but rather made the mistake of eating at Langan's Brasserie off Piccadilly!

Room Tip: The staff will do their best to mneet your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedorchester, Hotel Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Philip K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback of your recent stay at The Dorchester. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the service and it will be a pleasure to share this kind feedback with the team here. I look forward to welcoming you back soon and to reserving your table at one of our many food offerings within the hotel, including The Grill at The Dorchester, three Michelin-starred Alain Ducasse at The Dorchester and China Tang at The Dorchester.

Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Dorchester mainly to visit and have some fun at the Winter Wonderland accross the road in Hyde Park. From our arrival to departure, the service was outstanding with no attention to detail missed. The atmosphere screamed "CHRISTMAS LUXURY" I would also like to say a huge thank you to Juan in the Promenade and Mr Scanlon for making this stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACEY_COLLINS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedorchester, Hotel Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear TRACEY_COLLINS1969,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and to read how much you enjoyed our Christmas atmosphere, the service and the hotel’s location. I see you enjoyed our Gingerbread Hotel and I hope you also had a chance to experience all the other elements that we had to offer over the festive season. It will be a delight to share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay with us.

Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed at The Dorchester two more times this fall and both times I was upgraded to newly redecorated rooms. Redecorating an icon like The Dorchester isn't easy: it has a distinct look (sumptuous glamor one might say) and I suspect its repeat guests get very attached to rooms being just as they remember them. That said, the new decors, while less 'English country house,' are splendid: handsome, harmonious and expensive-looking, just what you'd expect in this paragon of luxury hostelry. The beds, pillows and sheets are still divinely comfortable. And of course the staff remains the same: ever eager to be helpful and a delight to deal with. My last stay was early in December and The Promenade featured the biggest gingerbread house I had ever seen, a superb recreation of the front facade of the hotel. Bravo to the manager for commissioning this piece!

Room Tip: Rooms 819 and 512 have both been recently redecorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedorchester, Hotel Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear LivingWell,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying in our newly refreshed suites and that you were able to see our Gingerbread Hotel. I hope you also had a chance to experience all the other elements that we had to offer over the festive season. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Relocating back to Europe from SE Asia, having my first night back home in a "proper" hotel seemed a good idea.

I'd just spent the previous ten days at The Peninsula in Bangkok, but even their attention to detail and service paled in comparison to the Dorchester experience.

I won't bang on with hyperbole over the service, food, facilities and so on. The bottom line is they provided a warm welcome in London where you are made to feel at home - which after all is what hospitality is all about.

Perfect.

Room Tip: View over park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Dorchester last night for a drink in the bar which is straight ahead of you as you walk in the front entrance. I was really disappointed to find the bar staff to be surly, unfriendly and didn't once raise a smile. We were not offered a drinks menu, we had to ask for it and it was practically thrown at me. My partner order me a Spicy Margarita and the barman did not ask what my partner wanted just assumed he was having the same. Which he was not. I do not understand why they had to be so unfriendly especially as the price we paid for 2 drinks with £40!!! I was however impressed with the pianist and his band members as they were ever so friendly and even played a song dedicated to me, which was really sweet. Shame the bar staff were not the same. So we then headed off the The Grosvenor Hotel which was a welcome change as we were immediately welcomed by there staff and made to feel wanted.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyb1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Lucyb1076,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit at The Promenade Bar at The Dorchester. I am sorry to read that your experience did not live up to your expectations and I would very much like to discuss this with you further, as all feedback we receive is of great value to us. Please can I kindly ask that you contact me directly at the hotel?

Kind regards,
Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A great place to stay while in London. Conveniently located and top notch in every way. The room I had was extraordinary for its size and attention to detail, as each is valuable in London. I'm from Texas, so I love my Dunkin Donuts coffee, but I can always dilute the coffee served in most English places. ;-) Highly recommend the Dorchester while in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedorchester, Hotel Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear WorldTraveler55711,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. I hope that you were able to experience all that we have to offer over the festive season and it will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#13 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Claridge's
Claridge's
#64 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#28 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London
The Dorchester London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing