We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my third visit to the hotel. This time I had an apartment that was next to the hotel (in between the Capital and the Levin hotels) but fully serviced by hotel staff (including an excellent room service breakfast). The rooms were spacious and well maintained. And the location can't be beat. Harrods is steps away and Harvey Nichols and Sloane Street are slightly further away. The Piccadilly Line has a Tube stop in front of Harrods, and Hyde Park, the Victoria & Albert Museum and the Natural History Museum are all within easy walking distance.

The hotel's restaurant, Outlaws is an excellent seafood spot, with fresh and carefully prepared dishes. The hotel also serves an excellent afternoon tea, in lovely room just off the reception area. The tea is not completely traditional (the pastries are more French than English), but was excellent nonetheless. The service at the hotel is superb and attentive in all respects.

It would be hard to beat The Capital's combination of charm, small scale intimacy, superb service, great amenities and superb location.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Basil Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upperwestsider72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel again, it is much appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed the apartment as much as you have the hotel in the past and also had time to visit Outlaw's and have tea with us. I very much hope you will be joining us again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    106
    27
    18
    4
See reviews for
129
308
68
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The first thing that strikes you when you arrive at The Capital is its cozy nature, followed closely by the polite and attentive staff. Our room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and with all the amenities you'd expect from a good quality small hotel. The bathroom was a tad small - but we were in the 'basic' room I guess. Considering the proximity of Knightsbridge - being just around the corner from Harrods, it was amazingly quiet. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
There is no greater compliment that a guest who wishes to return to the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our location suited you so well. Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and we very much hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A totally amazing lunch at Nathan Outlaws at the Capital. A very special day made even more special by the fantastic food, outstanding service and lovely atmosphere. Everyone couldn't of been more lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winter201314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for such an amazing review. The team and I were delighted to read such a glowing report and we very much hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a great NewYears eve ! Thank you to all those at the Nathan outlaws london restaurant who made our evening great .
Lovely little restaurant ,beautifully decorated .
The staff were charming and well informed .The tasting menu was excellent . Great wine with a careful attention to service, refreshing to not have a bucket of wine approach as a strategy to encourage a further bottle to be purchased
The two beautiful Caro emerald style singers in the bar were the icing on the cake
This is how elegant fine dining should be, an example to others

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmaxbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
A very happy New Year to you. Thank you so much for writing a review. I am delighted you enjoyed bringing in the New Year at Outlaw's with some excellent food, wine and our wonderful duo! We hope to welcome you back during the year.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Exceptional service, as a woman traveling alone, I felt safe and well cared for. Breakfast in the dining room was delightful, since other guests were talkative and friendly giving me tips as to where to shop and dine. The staff went out of their way to help me find a rental for a future visit, and also to help me find shops for millinery couture. It is a great location, merely a block down is Harrod's, and I walked everywhere. My room was well appointed and clean, the food was superb and The Capital Hotel is now my hotel to stay in, in London! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am so happy to hear that you felt comfortable as a solo traveller and that the team and other guests helped to enhance your London visit. It sounds like you found some wonderful local shops. We very much hope to see you again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Exceptional hotel with old fashioned exceptional service. The only place I stay when I'm in London. They upgraded my room to a suite for my birthday as well as champagne and. Fruit basket. Temple spa products are sublime. They know how to look after you. The ambience and personal touch is second to none. They made my birthday weekend perfect and each bed I have slept in in this hotel has been devine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cal.mcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and had a happy birthday. There is nothing better than waking up after a great night's sleep and I am glad you found the room and hotel so comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon, thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to this hotel since I was a baby. Restaurant is fab! Staff are always very helpful and the location is second to none with harrods only round the corner. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Just a little pricey maybe for some but that's London for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
As a family run hotel we are always delighted to hear about guests who have been coming back for many years with their families. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to what will be hopefully many visits to The Capital.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#105 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#82 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#280 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London
The Capital Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing