We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like coming home, but better service”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #41 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

very central location close to the underground and next door to Harrods, a wonderful building, well taken care off, furnished and decorated with a lot of love, respect for tradition and style and with fine finishing touches.
Very friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms with everything one can expect in a 4* hotel.
Good value for this price, pleasant hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dierik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

There is no greater compliment then comparing our hotel to your own home! We take great care in our refurbishment to ensure we maintain our classic English style and I am delighted that you liked it. Thank you so much for your review.

Kind Regards

Kate Levin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 766 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Capital is a wonderful, small hotel in the tradition of treating travellers like guests, and meaning it. Great location on basil St, half a block from Harrods one way and half a block from the Knightsbridge station the other way. A 10 minute walk to Sloane Square.
All of the staff are friendly and welcoming, without being obsequious. They quickly learn your name, and greet you accordingly.
The Classic rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. although small. All that's missing is a coffee maker. very comfortable beds and quiet, effective A/C. The bathroom is tiny, although elegantly outfitted in marble and gleaming chrome fixtures. Water pressure in the shower is weak by North American standards, but marginally acceptable.
Some will find the bathroom small enough to be claustrophobic, stepping up an extra 90 GBP per night to the Deluxe level will get a larger room with a larger bathroom.
Friendly little bar off the lobby, with an excellent all-day menu. We have stayed in more than a dozen hotels aorund London, and really like the Capital. From the front door, it's an easy walk to Mayfair, Piccadilly, Belgravia and Chelsea. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The classic room is very comfortable, but on the small side, with a tiny bathrooom. Next up are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, thank you for writing your review. We are so lucky to be in such a central location which is so convenient for our guests. I was particularly delighted to hear that the team had welcomed you warmly and we all look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Kind Regards

Kate Levin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Upon arriving at the Capitol Hotel in our London Taxi we were greeted by name by the top hatted doorman. We were then introduced to Graeham the most wonderful Concierge. He spent a lot of time with us detailing the many features of this charming and absolutely elegant Art Deco era hotel. We were also introduced to the owner Mr. Levin in the Outlaw bar where we had wonderful cocktals and later in the eveneing a 5 star dinner. The room was elegant with a marble bathroom and towel warmer. The bed linens were exquisite as was the bed. The location on famous Basil Street was across from Harrods. We had a wonderful staff and a world class London high tea with an explanation of pairings of teas, sandwiches and sweerts with our concierge Graeham. THe location is wonderful in a safe and sylish neighborhood in Knightsbdrige. A short distance to Kensington Palace, Royal Albert Hall, Harvey Nichols and wonderful boutiques. We look forward to returning to London and cannot wait to greet Graeham at the Capitol. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

It is such a treat to read such a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. I know Graham was also thrilled! We are so lucky with our location and I am so pleased to hear that you found our rooms so comfortable and to your liking. My father, Graham and I are all looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Kate Levin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I had tea at The Capital Hotel after a long, hectic day. It was like walking into our own living room. The service, ambiance, and food were first rate. I did not want tea and requested a cappuccino. It was excellent and a second cup was offered, gratis. When back in London, this is where we will be having tea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you felt at home when you came to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Kate Levin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Oh this really is the one , a triumph of real substance combined with great decor , a delightful bar where one always receives a positive welcome and get treated with respect yet friendly service ....always pop in here when near the chaos of the store close by , stopped by Sunday to enjoy a light lunch and a glance through the papers .... Not stayed but would not hesitate as it really has the magic touch of putting guests first from the doorman always upbeat through to the superb bar and sure the rooms are tasteful .... Oh we mustn't tell too many of this jewel !

Room Tip: Just ask for quiet one if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bertie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and sampled our new bar menu. As brilliant as our location is we understand the need to escape the hustle and bustle and delighted that you found refuge in the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to the bar or to stay should the occasion arise.

Kind regards

Kate Levin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I discovered this little gem after a long day at a conference nearby.
I always prefer the smaller more individual hotel and Small Luxury Hotels of the World are excellent for finding such hotels.
There's a very relaxed bar area with excellent and friendly service from professional staff.
The bar man made and excellent french 75 cocktail and the kitchen team made a very good and substantial club sandwich. Just what I needed!
All enjoyed in peaceful surroundings, no rushing about or pretentiousness that some London hotels offer.
I'd certainly go back and would love to stay there as it's is only 2 minutes walk from the tube and from Harrods.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the bar, hopefully the French 75 helped restore you after your conference! We so hope that you return to enjoy the rest of the hotel and stay with us.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Capital Hotel is little more than 60 steps from Harrods and is a refuge where you can leave the business of London and have some quality, tranquil time over a cup of tea.

We had booked high tea for four and where blown away from the minute we walked into the peaceful tea room.

The tea selection was huge and catered for every taste. I had a fresh mint tea to accompany the elegant delicacies that where placed before us. A three-tiered étagère full of tantalising, teasing treats helped our hunger after shopping. The salmon sandwiches where my absolute favourite: so fresh. We could not believe that after we had finished the three plates that another plate of heartfelt and fresh raisin and butter scones came out accompanied by rich, heavy, full fat, gloriously decadent clotted cream. So rich and oh so good. It was the icing on the cake. Our waiter kindly offered to top up our treats and sandwiches but we where just too full.

Congratulations to The Capital Hotel for a wonderful high-tea experience of which we hope to experience again sometime soon. A must for all you tea lovers wanting an afternoon treat in central London that offers excellent value for Money.

Room Tip: High Tea you should book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Levin, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

I was blown away to read your very kind review. We are so proud of our afternoon tea and Cesar and his team are wonderful. We hope that you will come and experience it again soon too! Thank you for taking the time to leave this review on trip advisor.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,075 in London
944 reviews
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#92 of 1,075 in London
430 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#7 of 1,075 in London
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#299 of 1,075 in London
442 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,075 in London
1,458 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#18 of 1,075 in London
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $341 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London
The Capital Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing