We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice smalland friendly hotel,great staff made you feel at home new are names right away rooms are very confortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice smalland friendly hotel,great staff made you feel at home new are names right away rooms are very confortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

small and extremely friendly hotel,very comfortable and excellent location next to harrods.concierges were all excellent,they got us tickets for the theater,great ideas for dinner,over all excellent, rooms are confortable,bathrooms small compares to U.S. over all excellent hotel this is our 2nd time staying at the capital hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review after your most recent stay. Clive and his team are so central to the hotel and it’s wonderful that they were able to guide you to theatre and restaurants that you enjoyed.

We are keeping our fingers crossed for a third visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Kate Levin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    106
    23
    18
    4
See reviews for
125
290
68
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family and I have returned here many times when planning a trip to London. The hotel is perfectly located for central London shopping and sightseeing. The staff are charming and the rooms are immaculate. It is my preferred choice because although you are in the heart of London in a large hotel the service is still very personal. I have eaten at the restaurant and the food is delicious. The Degustation menu is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJBC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It is such a pleasure to read such a lovely review from a returning guest, there is no greater compliment to the hotel. I was also so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal in Outlaw’s at The Capital.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

There was a party of seven of us and we arrived slightly early. We found our way without any trouble and knowing that it was in a street next to Harrods helped. Our table was ready and we were taken to it straight away. The area where the tea was served is small but beautifully decorated. It felt as though we were in a home's lovely sitting room. It was a mixture of old and new. tastefully furnished. We enjoyed our tea and were able to have extra portions of food where required. The food was very tasty, fresh and beautifully presented. The 'Ladies' facilities are worth a look! The sinks are exceptional and unique as far as i'm concerned. Really lovely.
Management very kindly put candles on a cake they made especially for us as it was a special birthday. That was a very kind touch on their part.
The tea was unhurried and although we were very slightly cramped, because of the number of us, we had a lovely time. The smaller tables with 2-4 people on looked very comfortable.
We left having spent more money than intended because the cost of the tea appeared to be dearer on the day than we expected and because we had a glass of the cheapest champagne each, which was absolutely delicious!
All in all it was a lovely tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April201204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased to hear you celebrated your special birthday with us and had an enjoyable afternoon tea. The team who look after this area of the hotel have a fantastic following and certainly know how to make people feel at home.

I very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Kate Levin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this centrally located London Hotel. Having stayed previously at their sister property The Levin we were not disappointed. Greeted on arrival by the Concierge and the warm friendly reception staff we immediately felt right at home. The bedroom was in the classic English style, very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom with all amenties. We ate the first night at their restuarant Outlaws which was so good we went back the next night and the then following day for lunch! Enjoyed several coffees during our stay in the Bar area by professional and friendly staff. On our last day we tried the High Tea which was superb and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It is lovely to read you felt as at home at The Capital as you did at The Levin. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Nathan and his team were particularly pleased to hear you enjoyed the restaurant so much that you returned for a second visit during your stay. We all hope to be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here over 10 years ago and went back for a wedding anniversary. It was as fantastic as we remembered it to be. The reception we had was extremely warm and friendly and for us mere mortals it was lovely just to give our car keys to the concierege who went and parked our car for us. The superking bed was firm, which enabled us to have an excellent night's sleep. The barmen were very friendly and they give you nibbles when you order drinks so beware if you are like me and cannot avoid eating them - they could ruin your appetite! Nathan Outlaw's tasting menu was sublime and the waiting staff were very attentive. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuramathi_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, please do not leave it another ten years! The tasting menu is such a wonderful and delicious experience and I am so glad that you felt well looked after on such a special evening.

A very happy anniversary from us all.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I wanted to like this hotel. I chose it because of the good reviews but for the price it was a real let down. First off, the staff were not very nice, asides from the chambermaids.

My bathroom door didn't close, the two twin beds were pushed together to make a full-size bed, the water in the bath was boiling hot and never got warm, the TV was small, the lights were dim, the decor was meant to be old English but looked ugly and dowdy.

The only plus was the location and the breakfast (though even that was 20 pounds).

For the price, I expected a lot more. I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller7765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am so sorry and upset to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our personal service and it is particularly disappointing that this did not have a positive impact on your visit. Nonetheless we hope you enjoyed your time in London and that on your return you will find your perfect match.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose this hotel primarily for its location. It right across the road from Harrods and other fine establishments in Knightsbridge.

The room was good, clean, not 5 star but more of a 4 star feeling to it. It was rather small as was the bathroom. We didn't expect more as we re in London for a lengthy 48 hour layover. We had not time to commute to places we wanted to be at so we chose location.

The better side of this story is the staff. The staff were very helpful, very cheerful and accommodating. The made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It is such pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you mention our location is excellent, even if you are in London for such a short period of time. I hope you managed to see all the things that you wanted. It is often the people that can make an experience very special and I am delighted to hear our staff made you feel so comfortable.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#60 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#61 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#14 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#344 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#27 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#77 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London
The Capital Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing