We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #36 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have just arrived, this is without any doubt the best choice I have done in the last month.Very well placed, next to the famous Harrods,perfect communication ,bus, underground,rather ample rooms, high quality Restaurant.What more do you want?
Perfect price, perfect staff.
I will only say.I SHALL REPEAT

Room Tip: Any room is comfortable , a bit noisy on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyfordcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that chose to stay with us too and it would be lovely to catch up with you during your visit.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 815 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Now this is a great hotel in London. OK, it's not the cheapest around but the location could not be better if you are a Harrods or Harvey Nichols fan, it's fantastic for the V&A and the Natural History museum. It's a hop, skip and a jump to the tube, a short walk to Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace and excellent for Mayfair. So both tourist and business trip friendly.
The rooms are wonderful - very comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, lovely toiletries - and the biggest upside in a city this size is, quite how quiet it is! - an entire night's sleep without the sound of traffic, sirens or aircraft! An extra bonus if you have jetlag or just need a good night's sleep!
The staff are extremely friendly, very helpful and charming.
Breakfast is very nice.....no more or no less than you'd expect and probably not the place to hold a breakfast meeting. Although, I am sure the secondary breakfast room could be booked for that if needed.
The bar in the hotel is nice to have a quick drink at before heading out....or even when you get back.......
All in all - super London hotel. Would I go again. Absolutely. Would I recommend it. Absolutely. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the road. The view is not exactly 'pretty' but it is very very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrolleyDolleyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say our location is ideal for enjoying the best of Knightsbridge’s museums, art galleries and of course the shopping! I am glad you found the bedrooms so comfortable and slept so well whilst you were staying with us.

You are quite right; we do have other breakfast rooms available should you wish to have a quiet meeting. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London. Thank you so much for your kind review.

Best wishes

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The reason we had booked the Capital Hotel was to experience the sea food restaurant of Nathan Outlaw and was a birthday present for my wife. I booked the 'Gourmet Package' as this seemd to offer excellent value and have to say was not disappointed one bit. The package included a six course tasting menue plus full english breakfast.
The hotel is very clean and confortable and the staff make you feel genuinely very welcome without being to over the top.
Communication with the hotel and the restaurant was excellent, prior to arriving I informed the hotel that my wife had an allergy to mussells, which could be a problem as it is a sea food restaurant. While we having a drink at the bar before making our way to our table one of the restaurant staff came over to duscuss my wifes allergy and what they could ofer inplace of one of the dishes which as it turned out did actaully have mussells in, menu changes regularly. The restauarnt staff could not have been more helpful. I would like to particulalry single out a young Austrian girl, sorry cannot remember her name, who was very knowlegeable about the wines, we had chosen to indulge in the wine flight with the meal and she took great care to explain each wine to us in a professional way but also with great humour.
A couple of small negatives that in no way spoilt our experinec but may be worth mentioning, I did specfically ask for tea making facilities prior to arriving, the kettle was there but know cups, milk or teas, there were some lovely cookies though!! It took two attempts to get the tea delivered. Also we had a standard room which although had enough space and was very comfortable the on-suite was small witha VERY hot radiator far to close to the actual toilet with a real risk of burning your leg, it did give me a bit of a shock, meaning you have to sit at an odd angle. I used one of the towells to avoid getting burnt, a genuine H&S issue I feel.
Overall a wonderful experinec, great location, great restauarnt (tasting menue fantastic), excellent breakfast and last but not least very friendly and helpful staff.
Forgot to mention the bar, if you like Malt Whiskeys this has to be one of the largest selections outside of a Whiskey shop with a very knowledeable bar manager.
We will definately be back and I will watch my leg on the radiator!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for taking to time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your visit with us to celebrate her birthday. Julia who you mention above is such a wonderful member of the restaurant team and I am so pleased you enjoyed the tasting menu.

I am sorry your stay was dented by the radiator in the bathroom, but we are so looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed from 23,to 26 April .I love the boutique hotel. The people are helpful and the location is excellent, next to Harrods . I really like it very much.I recommend ! The concierge is very nice . All we ask, he made ! Like change appointments or buying tickets to London Eye , best idea for a little bit price we didn't stay in a line .It was a fast ticket .Another ,he told as to go and picked the tickets for David Bowie in Victoria and Alfred Museum ,in advance ,because it was sold out ,and we stayed in a line ,but worth going .The concierge was perfect ,preparing our train trip to Paris ,ask for a taxi and told the perfect time .We were on time .

Room Tip: The room I stayed it was facing the street .In the morning you hear a lit bit noisy from the deliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our concierge team were able to assist with your itinerary. The David Bowie exhibition has been a hugely popular hit in London so I am glad that you were able to enjoy it along with the London Eye. It’s a good tip to remember that our concierge team have special tickets available for this attraction.

I do hope you enjoyed your trip to Paris and you will visit us on your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having been a regular visitor to London and the Capital Hotel in Basil street, the question is : how can you stay better, with personal service, with the best bar and excellent restaurant in the middle of the best shopping and restaurants in London? If you happen to bring your wife, girl friend, she will love you for being in the middle all the best shops ( Harrods next door) and Scallini Italian restaurant, as well as good old San Lorenzo minutes away. You will not regret, though remember, this is an English hotel, not a Phlippe Stark !

Room Tip: Refurbished JR-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annikaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are so lucky with our location, to be in the heart of Knightsbridge and surrounded by such great local restaurants and shopping like you say. It is great to have Harrods as our local corner shop!

We look forward to seeing you at The Capital again.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Disagree entirely with the previous review except for the Internet connection which is incredibly slow. If I was using it for business I would be terribly frustrated but I wasn't and it really wasn't an issue.

Everything is exceptional from the moment you check in. The interior could be described as outdated, I prefer to say warm and cosy and 'English Country House' decor. The staff are exceptional, the concierge in particular couldn't be more pleasant and helpful - how many hotels have you visited where the concierge walks you part way to a pub so you don't get lost?

We were on the top floor, 6th, and it was quiet despite the fact we were on the front (263) and there is the potential for traffic noise. The bed is huge and sooooooo comfortable after a hard day sightseeing. Breakfast ingredients are top quality and beautifully cooked. We ate on the Saturday night in Outlaws, doesn't have a Michelin star yet but it must be on the cards! Food is delicious, served by lovely well-chosen and well-trained staff.

All the staff here should be recommended and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Capital to anyone particularly if you like the smaller hotel, near to Harrods, Sloane Street, Harvey Nichols, Hyde Park, shops, pubs and restaurants - try the Pantechnicon on Motcomb Street. - 5 minute walk away.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JaynePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

I am so thrilled to read your review and noted your comments with pleasure, as a family run hotel we strive to make sure people feel at home here and so there is no greater compliment.

I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team and I am glad you felt so welcomed from the moment you check in.

I agree with your feedback regarding the internet, and please be assured we will be updating our system in the next few weeks.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Capital in the future.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel felt outdated and everything in the interior was coloured with a beige/brown tone and floors covered with thick carpets.

The beds vere not very comfortable and noisy. The internet was increadibly slow - so trying to work from the room was impossible.

There was a lot of noise from nereby rooms and the hall way.

Standard features - such as being able to make a cup of tea at night in the room - was not available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to come back to us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay. We hope that our interiors reflect that we are a classic English hotel however it’s a shame to hear it was not to your taste.

It’s unfortunate it was not made apparent to you that we do provide tea and coffee faculties on request.

I have taken note of your feedback regarding the internet and can assure you that we will updating this service in the next few weeks. Thank you again for taking the time to review The Capital.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#344 of 1,081 in London
447 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,081 in London
1,010 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#18 of 1,081 in London
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,081 in London
539 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,536 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,081 in London
3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $331 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London
The Capital Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing