We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Levin(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Jumeirah Carlton Tower(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveler rating
647
122
31
18
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
122
31
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasil streetnathan outlawsmall luxury hotelknightsbridge tube stationharrods and harvey nicholsknightsbridge areaafternoon teaour home away from homesloane streetjunior suitecharming hotelthe entire staffhyde parkconcierge staffroom servicequiet streeta wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 822 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2007

What a wonderful Hotel The staff were amazing and so very helpful. The room was so comfortable. I had a single room and it was perfect. I slept so well. In an excellent area so close to Harrods and shopping as well as the Knightsbridge Underground Station. Within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Just loved it and will return on my next visit.

Stayed: September 2007
5  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Flew EOS and took the Picadilly line to the Knighsbridge Station which is less than a block from this 5 star gem. Had a good sized mini-suite on the 6th floor which included 1 1/2 bathrooms.
Internet rate of $713 US including a full breakfast in their handsome dining room was a bargain - based on current UK prices - and included a private car to Greenwich where we boarded the "SilverShadow.". The well trained staff was outstanding and the cocierge recommended dinner at Toto which was an excellent choice. Excellent location close to Harrod's and on a quiet street.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Merchants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We heard about The Capital from friends and just loved it. It is everything you'd expect from a very English hotel (except with warm and efficient service!). So much attention to detail is paid here - from the beds and linen to the delicacies served for afternoon tea. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank PhilippeMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed for three nights to begin a trip to the UK and found this an extremely pleasant small hotel.

Particularly enjoyed the restaurant - they have an amazing chef! I recommend at least one dinner there - did not find better in all of London.

Only drawback, from a North American perspective, is the relatively small size of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ottawaguy-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

I stayed at The Capital for 3 nights on May 20, 21 & 22, 2007. I had a junior suite with a king bed. Separate sitting room with loveseat and chair and good reading lights. Sitting room and bedroom were large and very nicely decorated. Clean and well maintained. Small bath with shower over tub always seemed a bit stuffy. Bath always seemed too warm--couldn't turn off the heated towel rack. Two small TVs, newer flat screen in the bedroom. Room was directly on Basil Street, but was surprisingly quiet.

Excellent Knightsbridge location, just a few hundred feet from Harrods and not much further to the Knightsbridge tube station.

Shortcomings: weak HVAC--separate units in each room could barely keep room cool when outside temperature was cool to moderate; one HVAC unit was noisy and neither was quiet; small, stuffy bath; not well sound-proofed between rooms--some voices penetrate the walls, especially in the bath.

Outstanding restaurant--rated two Michelin stars. I had the best dinner of my 17-day trip here. The delightful restaurant room is also the great breakfast location.

I also stayed at The Stafford in London earlier in this trip. I liked both hotels very much. They offer similar experiences in different top neighborhoods at similar cost. The Stafford was quieter room-to-room, The Capital has a nicer restaurant, The Stafford nicer baths. Both have excellent staffs with The Capital's a bit more personal. I probably will return to both. I rate The Stafford slightly higher on the basis of fewer shortcomings.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Tipster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews