We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Capital Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #38 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved the Capital Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

What a wonderful Hotel The staff were amazing and so very helpful. The room was so comfortable. I had a single room and it was perfect. I slept so well. In an excellent area so close to Harrods and shopping as well as the Knightsbridge Underground Station. Within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Just loved it and will return on my next visit.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank fitzstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    106
    25
    18
    4
See reviews for
127
299
68
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

Flew EOS and took the Picadilly line to the Knighsbridge Station which is less than a block from this 5 star gem. Had a good sized mini-suite on the 6th floor which included 1 1/2 bathrooms.
Internet rate of $713 US including a full breakfast in their handsome dining room was a bargain - based on current UK prices - and included a private car to Greenwich where we boarded the "SilverShadow.". The well trained staff was outstanding and the cocierge recommended dinner at Toto which was an excellent choice. Excellent location close to Harrod's and on a quiet street.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Merchants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

We heard about The Capital from friends and just loved it. It is everything you'd expect from a very English hotel (except with warm and efficient service!). So much attention to detail is paid here - from the beds and linen to the delicacies served for afternoon tea. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Excellent service and wonderful beds
  • Disliked — The sandwiches served with afternoon tea
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PhilippeMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed for three nights to begin a trip to the UK and found this an extremely pleasant small hotel.

Particularly enjoyed the restaurant - they have an amazing chef! I recommend at least one dinner there - did not find better in all of London.

Only drawback, from a North American perspective, is the relatively small size of the room.

  • Liked — personalized, friendly service
  • Disliked — small room size
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ottawaguy-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

I stayed at The Capital for 3 nights on May 20, 21 & 22, 2007. I had a junior suite with a king bed. Separate sitting room with loveseat and chair and good reading lights. Sitting room and bedroom were large and very nicely decorated. Clean and well maintained. Small bath with shower over tub always seemed a bit stuffy. Bath always seemed too warm--couldn't turn off the heated towel rack. Two small TVs, newer flat screen in the bedroom. Room was directly on Basil Street, but was surprisingly quiet.

Excellent Knightsbridge location, just a few hundred feet from Harrods and not much further to the Knightsbridge tube station.

Shortcomings: weak HVAC--separate units in each room could barely keep room cool when outside temperature was cool to moderate; one HVAC unit was noisy and neither was quiet; small, stuffy bath; not well sound-proofed between rooms--some voices penetrate the walls, especially in the bath.

Outstanding restaurant--rated two Michelin stars. I had the best dinner of my 17-day trip here. The delightful restaurant room is also the great breakfast location.

I also stayed at The Stafford in London earlier in this trip. I liked both hotels very much. They offer similar experiences in different top neighborhoods at similar cost. The Stafford was quieter room-to-room, The Capital has a nicer restaurant, The Stafford nicer baths. Both have excellent staffs with The Capital's a bit more personal. I probably will return to both. I rate The Stafford slightly higher on the basis of fewer shortcomings.

  • Liked — Quiet and comfortable--and outstanding restaurant.
  • Disliked — Weak HVAC and stuffy bathroom.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Tipster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

Excellent service at this hotel. Staff were welcoming and helpful and it was just 50 yards away from Harrods. Molton Brown toiletries and quality bed linens and a very comfortable bed. The bar was very well staffed with fabulous cocktails. Good people watching, we were fascinated by the blossoming romance of Louise and Jonno !! Breakfast the next morning was good. I haven't awarded 5 stars as the a/c in the bedroom was very noisy. Rack rates are expensive but we stayed with our airmiles. Even had a little welcome gift and card in the room. Lovely stay

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Rack rates
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJ118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

The Capital Hotel is a small beautiful botique hotel with the finest rooms (our junior suite was quite large and very nicely furnished). All of the staff were as nice and service oriented as can be. The staff remembered our name and always greeted us. The restaurant food quality and service were absolutely superb. The bar is very pleasant with high quality furnishings and outstanding service. The locations is perfect because it is close to many nice restaurants and great shopping. It is now our hotel of choice whenever we are in London or even close by somewhere in Europe.

  • Liked — The fantastic rooms, food, bar and service from all the staff and the great location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jkscales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#67 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#66 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#14 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#309 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London
The Capital Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing