We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old faithful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley
Ranked #68 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old faithful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with good prices. We've been coming to the Berkeley for over 30 years. The service is always immaculate the food is superb. The spa with the rooftop pool and other amenities are excellent. And the addition of the two star Michelin restaurant Marcus Wareing make this one of the finest places to stay London. And let us not forget right across from Hyde Park and a few blocks from Harrods.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    164
    57
    31
    19
See reviews for
154
307
49
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Simply put, the best hotel experience while in London. The rooms are superbly thought out with every amenity you can think of, lots of space, work area, comfortable beds, and the decor is modern, yet classy. The restaurant is exquisite, the bar is comfortable. The concierge service is one of the best found in the world. Having stayed there for both business alone and pleasure with family, The Berkeley is a perfect stay. Steps away from Hyde Park it is perfectly well located for both purposes. The car service provided by the hotel has got to be the best in the city and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The service was impeccable, providing excellent meal recommendations for every day of our trip. Our room was spacious, clean, and well-decorated. This is clearly a high-end luxury hotel, but it is nicely understated and classy. The hotel's location is very good, in Knightsbridge near Hyde Park and within walking distance of Harrods in one direction and Buckingham Palace and Parliament in the other. Knightsbridge itself is pretty but sleepy, so you will have to head to other areas for much in the way of nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

People. I went for a week to London and this one hotel kept me to the hotel. superb rooms, service , location, food , and hospitality. cleanliness and arrangement of everything was perfect each time. amazing hotel. One of the best properties I have ever visited. convenient location proximity to Hyde park gave easy access to it and there is an amazing Ferrari showroom just outside th hotel lobby.

The best experiences I have had in the past so many years and it gives tough competition to any hotel in the world and will win easily.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pranav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I spent one night at the Berkeley for work purposes. I have to say it was pretty good, all the things you would expect from a 5 star, nice touches included the fact that they can pay out cash to you to save you a trip to the cash point and they have a roof top pool, which is very pretty. The staff are really nice and cannot do enough to help. Another nice nice feature was the massive vacuum jug that came when I ordered coffee at 7 am. It was still hot at 3 in the afternoon when I got back from work to have a much needed rest. Breakfast was very good and the wait staff a joy.

On the downside the air-con in my room didn't work but the windows opened so I didn't care that much and I thought some of the salad garnish that came with my middle eastern dinner looked a bit tired, but then it is just a garnish.

Very enjoyable and the added features of the Centurion Package helped too.

Room Tip: Lots of the rooms have balconies, which makes them a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethCardiffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed for one night over Easter and ten first thing to great you was the wonderful Easter decorations, the hotel looked stunning and made me think we should come back at Christmas! We had a junior suite which was large and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and everyone we meet was happy to help.

We spent most of the day on the rooftop pool which was perfect just winding down, dip in the pool and a sit on the chairs. There was a family with small children that arrived as we left and for me it got too noisey so retreated to the spa downstairs.

A great find in the heart of London and would be happy to stay any time again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I do not often go to luxury hotel, but my God the Berkeley experience was something. The service and attention to details was outstanding. The room was nice and spacious, and got some nice welcoming fruit and drinks. The swimming pool at the top floor was so nice and relaxing with fantastic view over hyde park. The location is perfect and the staff fantastic. Wish I could stay there more often

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habs_68_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#63 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#39 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley

Property: The Berkeley
Address: Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in London
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#63 Luxury Hotel in London
#65 Business Hotel in London
#78 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berkeley 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our breathtaking collection of rooms and suites – which are amongst the most spacious in London – we have many with private garden terraces and quiet balconies. All our rooms and suites skilfully combine comfort, stylish design and the latest innovations, to meet the needs of the modern traveller. Marcus Wareing offers two Michelin-starred dining at his eponymous restaurant, Marcus, within The Berkeley; the stars come out for award-winning cocktails at the Blue Bar; and fashionistas join us for Pret-a-Portea, our catwalk-inspired afternoon tea served in the beautiful Collins Room. On the seventh floor of The Berkeley, our pool and luxury Bamford Haybarn Spa provide a calm retreat with views over the London skyline. The Berkeley is located at the edge of Hyde Park in fashionable Knightsbridge, a short walk from Harrods and Harvey Nichols. Behind the hotel sits the residential area of Belgravia: a charming enclave of Georgian terraces, cobblestone streets, independent shops and traditional pubs, which conveys the feeling of an English village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel London
Berkeley London
Berkeley Hotel London
The Berkeley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing