We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property!”
Review of The Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Berkeley
Ranked #65 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent property!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Loved walking thru the front doors! Be careful, there isn't a big "Berkeley" sign in front. The fresh flowers throughout the lobby are amazing. Our room was so comfortable! Large and lush. Soft pillows too. Bathroom had lots of counter space and extras for grooming. The breakfast room was so lovely, and the blue bar was fun at night. Easy walk to Hyde Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 609PatriciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    176
    62
    31
    19
See reviews for
169
328
51
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

just amazing in all aspects. The balcony rooms are just amazing, you can ask the staff to set a table for your breakfast, lunch or dinner. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are super clean. A bit too expensive but worth it. Location is perfect too.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereenaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every time i go to London i stay at this Hotel. The rooms are very confortable with a very friendly staff. Everytime i go to this hotel they organise a nice welcome with a fast checking without going to the desk, they take me directly to the room with someone at my care taking care of my checking.
The location of the Hotel is amazing in SW1 at a walking distance from the Hyde park, Sloane street for shooping and Harrods.
The SPA is very nice with a great swimming pool at the ruf top. In addition of my trips there every year i go back with my gf for a romantic weekend, i find it very romantic too.
i highly recommand this hotel if your are looking for a good confort hotel with a 5 stars service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebou_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

When visiting london there's nothing better than a central location. From the address you'll assertain this hotel is located right in the thick of it which is great. When staying at the Berkeley you are paying mostly for the space of the room. The decor is not out of this world and with 200 rooms + , character is lacking a little.

The buffet breakfast, while expensive, is one of the nicest I've had ever. Their concierge service is also very knowledgeable and I would recommend leaning on them for advice and information in advance of any stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwaymacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A most enjoyable way to celebrate a special occasion with friends, staff very professional , friendly nothing to much trouble , would highly recommend . Book in advance as sometimes hard to get specific dates ,some would say expensive but I thought it was worth every penny .

Room Tip: Didn't stay in a room had afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222Tracy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Berkeley is in a beautiful building in front of Hyde Park and near Harrods. It is a very fancy experience and some of the rooms are really gorgeous and timeless.They are very elegant with big marble bathrooms in true 5 star style. The breakfast restaurant and tearoom always full and quite delicious. However in an effort to remodel the hotel is losing some of its charm, the new decor comes in the now ubiquitous style of shiny greyish tones with cream that has become so common. With the remodeling some rooms are becoming slightly smaller.
I wish they could retain their style. The hotel is also very international, always alive with people. The front desk is very efficient but a bit snob. (The concierges could be a bit better. )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I seem to be going against the grain here, but The Berkeley just wasn't for us. I could see how some people may like the classic or old school elegance, but it felt a little too snooty and stuffy for our liking - kinda like a very elite, old money country club. Rooms are OK, nothing exciting, basically boring and tired. Didn't feel worth the pricey cost. Plus there was some construction going on early in the morning. Also location is certainly not "central". Only close to Harrods and Hyde Park, otherwise have to taxi or tube everywhere else (and London has so much more to offer). So if you like a quiet location (yawn!) and your poop don't smell, you might love it here. Of course, a healthy disposable income helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReasonableWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,068 in London
251 reviews
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#104 of 1,068 in London
415 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#129 of 1,068 in London
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#38 of 1,068 in London
741 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,068 in London
510 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley

Property: The Berkeley
Address: Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in London
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Luxury Hotel in London
#65 Business Hotel in London
#78 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berkeley 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our breathtaking collection of rooms and suites – which are amongst the most spacious in London – we have many with private garden terraces and quiet balconies. All our rooms and suites skilfully combine comfort, stylish design and the latest innovations, to meet the needs of the modern traveller. Marcus Wareing offers two Michelin-starred dining at his eponymous restaurant, Marcus, within The Berkeley; the stars come out for award-winning cocktails at the Blue Bar; and fashionistas join us for Pret-a-Portea, our catwalk-inspired afternoon tea served in the beautiful Collins Room. On the seventh floor of The Berkeley, our pool and luxury Bamford Haybarn Spa provide a calm retreat with views over the London skyline. The Berkeley is located at the edge of Hyde Park in fashionable Knightsbridge, a short walk from Harrods and Harvey Nichols. Behind the hotel sits the residential area of Belgravia: a charming enclave of Georgian terraces, cobblestone streets, independent shops and traditional pubs, which conveys the feeling of an English village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel London
Berkeley London
Berkeley Hotel London
The Berkeley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing