We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Berkeley
Nearby Hotels
Rosewood London(London)
$602
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$342
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$374
$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$291
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$254
Montague Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$157
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$277
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveler rating
786
198
71
36
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
198
71
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolafternoon teamarcus wareingthe blue roomhyde parksloane streetroom servicejunior suiteconcierge servicebottle of champagneluxury hotelbirthday treatwonderful hotelspapretharrodsfashionistas
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This afternoon tea was to celebrate my sister in law's 70th Birthday. It was delightful, not too large and service was superb. We had a good selection of sandwiches and savouries. The style in which the cakes and biscuits were taken from were explained to us and it kept on coming along with some wonderful teas. Even the china (a Paul Smith Design) added to the Art Deco feel of the restaurant. Goody bags were ready for us to take home and a member of staff very kindly gave us some extras for the grandchildren. It was such a nice start to the Christmas season. Well worth a visit. Best advice go hungry - lots to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 451Chrissy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, adjacent to Hyde Park in London, for three nights in December, 2012 to see London during the Christmas season. Our overall impression of the hotel is mixed. The food and bar service were very good, the rooms were very nice, but the balance of the service experience, including concierge services, were very disappointing. We tried to reserve some activities in advance of our stay and our requests by e-mail evidently went into the spam filter of the hotel and we then carried out extensive phone conversations with the hotel with the result that some things were done and others were done, but poorly. I had the general impression during our stay that we were somewhat invisible and we had to kind of push back to get something done. For this level of hotel, this was very disappointing. Our room, a junior suite, was very nice, immaculate with a nice bathroom and comfortable furnishings. We just never felt that welcomed as guests. This is probably an aberration, but there a lot of other nice hotels in London from which to choose.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donjskiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

On Wednesday December 12th I had the festive afternoon tea at The Berkeley in their Caramel Room and had a wonderful time. The hotel was decorated with beautiful Christmas decorations including real trees with feathered birds and delicate baubles- a very effective seasonal look. The doormen have very impressive tailored outfits and bowler hats and were very efficient in getting a taxi for us afterwards. The cloakroom staff lady was a delight as well- very friendly- in fact all the staff embodied the very essence of loveliness!

The Paul Smith china is beautiful and in general the ambience of the room was discreet elegance. My only slight disappointment is that our table was behind a pillar so we didn’t get a sense of a grand room- in fact the Caramel Room is not really that grand- perhaps I am unfairly comparing it to the Foyer in Claridges or the parlour at The Ritz where tea was taken- this is much more understated but in a classy way!

The tea serving ladies wore beautiful dark blue gowns and the men were dressed up in suits- very smart indeed! They introduced each menu item and explained each flavor combination.
The Festive tea included a glass of champagne but there was no real nod to it being nearly Christmas or indeed why it was being labelled as a festive tea- no Christmas flavours like spiced fruits or marzipan although one of the canapés did include turkey and chestnut which was delicious.

My only slight disappointment was with the sandwich selection- they tasted fridge cold and a couple of them had bread that was a little too firm. Butter was also fridge firm in the salmon and butter sandwich - room temperature would have given a better mouth feel and flavour for sure.
After the sandwiches- we were offered more- which we did opt for and then a tiered stand was brought over with savoury canapés. Following that two plates of the fashionista inspired sweets had us in awe!

The Autumn winter fashion range evidenced on the plate was stunning and each confection not only looked good but tasted great. The Laboutin shoe filled with chocolate hazelnut praline was a corker! As was the maple and ginger shoe biscuit and the rose ganache macaroon.
One huge positive for me is that replenishment of the tea was continuous and we never needed to ask ourselves- they simply anticipated it and brought over new plates as well as fresh tea. We had the last sitting of the day which was at 5pm and we didn’t feel remotely rushed or pressurized to leave. Would I go back? I can’t wait for the new Spring Summer collection and to see how they interpret the fashion designs into miniature creations on a tea stand-. The patisserie chefs are at the top of their game here- My mother and I both really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent some days at this hotel during a business plus some days holiday trip to London. Reception : very friendly and helpful, Concierge and Bell Man as well. We had lunch in the Restaurant where staff are also very friendly. The room was nice and quiet, we enjoyed the excellent room service for breakfast. The location of the hotel is closed to many shops (including Harrods) and a London Underground station. The Hotel is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Overall a very satisfying stay, we shall certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eckertsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Company Xmas party was excellent in this swishy venue. A sit down meal for 80+ with music and a bar can't be beaten. Loved the chocs with the coffee too. Easy to get too past the Knightsbridge shops nice bit of window shopping on way back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews