We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Way To Spend a Layover”

London Magical Tours
Ranked #104 of 678 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award winning provider of private and scheduled group tours to London and the surrounding cities in the UK. Discover some of the world's greatest locations with your own British sightseeing team: a professional tour guide and in addition, your own chauffeur, for an experience to remember.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Way To Spend a Layover”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We used London Magical Tours at the end of 2010 following the recommendations on the forum as part of a day trip from Paris. We were so happy with the experience that we used them on our most recent London visit at the end of October and were not disappointed.

We opted for our own tour team of a tour guide with an extra chauffeur and loved the personal experience. Having previously done the hop on bus tours and private tours in Paris, this was by far the best tour we have taken. Having a London expert show you a city like London makes everything come alive, her knowledge was exceptional. Our driver was wonderful, punctually picked us up at Heathrow without any problems and we always felt completely safe in his hands going through London's famous roads! Having the extra driver is highly recommended, it meant that the guide was able to focus her attention only on us and our children loved it!

We were first in line at the changing of the guard and have the best pictures. Our guide took us to a spot away from the huge crowds and the guards came face to face with us! We opted for the London Eye and Tower of London options too, both of which were great.

We plan to return to London next year and will use again. If you are looking to make the best of your time on a layover - this it it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia-LA-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    4
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnespolis, MN
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tour guide was a no show”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had never been to London and had a 7 hour layover so we thought we would take a chance on this company. Our confirmation form said to meet at the information desk so when we flew into terminal four we immediately went to the desk at the arrivals gate. There is where we sat and waited....and waited. Being this was our first time at the airport, we repeatedly showed the piece of paper to airport employees (including those at the information desk itself) and they all told us that we were in the right spot. Never got our tour. Of course I asked for our money back and it was denied saying that we were at the wrong desk. They also said they called my phone several times, but there was not a single missed call. Myself and the information desk workers tried to call them several times, but no one ever answered the phone. Got completely screwed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous Way to See London”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a very short time on an extended layover in London, so we did a whirlwind tour. In only 4 hours we saw at least a little bit of many of the "biggies" -- Parliament/Clock Tower, St. Paul's, Hyde Park, Kensington, Buckingham Palace, Clarence House, Royal Albert Hall and the Albert Memorial.
We were picked up in a lovely bus at the airport, and in the very capable hands of John the tour guide and Mike the driver.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AJMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tour PERFECT for Children”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Two adults, two children ages 7 and 8 plus a two year old and infant were part of the layover tour. We were collected at Heathrow Airport (Sofitel Hotel). The driver (Steve)was extremely polite and helpful. He collapsed the stroller and assisted the adults and children in to the very comfortable and air conditioned van. He expertly drove us through traffic into central London where we collected the guide.

John was outstanding in engaging the children's interest at each sight. He did not talk down to them, but rather asked them questions that made them curious. One child whose name is Ben was anticipating seeing Big Ben. John kept him interested by pointing out the clock from far away and then building the excitement as we approached. By the time Ben actuallly saw Big Ben up close he was thrilled.

John had many interesting tidbits of information to share about each site and involved each tour member over seven in the conversation. He asked if we wanted to shop. We were only interested in a memento of the recent royal wedding and he took us within one block of the Buckingham Palace shop. We found exactly what we were looking for and were out of the shop in less than 8 minutes.

I would recommend this tour to anyone looking for the best! John took into account what the group needed and proceeded to give it. Our driver was the BEST. I have nothing but admiration for his light conversation and FANTASTIC driving skills not only on the main roads but on every back street.

We did not stop for food, but we could have if necessary. The driver also provided us with bottles of chilled water.

This was not a cheap tour, BUT we received top of the class treatment and were thoroughly entertained and delighted with every aspect. If you are looking for the best for adults and or children THIS TOUR IS IT.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank hcvjpbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Magical Tours also viewed

 

Been to London Magical Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing