We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old woman of a hotel”
Review of Draycott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Draycott Hotel
Ranked #30 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Tired old woman of a hotel”
Reviewed April 12, 2006

I returned to the Draycott after 12.5 years to find a tired old woman of a hotel. Wasn't this supposed to be a luxury hotel? Clearly not. The carpet was worn throughout the hotel, and in my room it was ripped and cut up at one of the walls. The only sofa and chair in my room were small, cheap, filthy and worn. The chenille headboard had two wear spots where countless number of heads had rubbed the fabric away. None of these items had been cleaned in years. The decor of the room (the Laughton) was dull and drab, with old furniture covered in fingerprints on the old waxed surfaces and walls hung with cheap, fake, tired paintings. Even the candlestick holders on the mantle were bereft of candles! The curtains and shades were in good shape and functional, however. The room also had good light, since is was on the fourth floor of the hotel, facing the front (and south.)

There were several families of mold growing along the rim of the tub in our bathroom, and we were provided with a whopping TWO bathtowels for the two of us. A total of 13 hangers were provided for our clothes in a tiny, unventilated closet; simply not enough hangers for a luxury traveler visiting a luxury hotel. While the staff was nice enough, they clearly are not trained nor experienced in the nuances of luxury hotelling. The fact that the reception desk has been moved away from the front door of the hotel and hidden in a back room makes staff hard to find. I found the dark velvet drapes covering various windows in the stairways to be creepy and the poor lighting throughout these stairways made the environment even more dire.

What happened to the Draycott I once knew? I confirmed that it had gone downhill when I went to view the ruckus outside on the street one morning - an unmarked van was depositing at least 25 cheap suitcases covered with travel stickers. This 'group' clearly was not of luxury travellers and this sighting confirmed my suspicion that this is a tourist class hotel. The surly woman on Sunday afternoon who insisted that I had lost my key, although it was in the hotel's possession, was the last straw. On top of this, the hotel took my payment via credit card when I walked in, leading me to believe my room was ready early, as I requested. Only after my payment was secured did they advise me that no rooms were ready, "after all". I had no choice - any other hotel would take your bags and offer to check you in later, when a room was actually ready.

This hotel is dark, dank, worn and run-down. Although I love the small size and the Sloane Square location, and it was quiet, it is not a luxury hotel - beware!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
51 Thank SeenAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    103
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
137
202
128
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Fabulous little hotel in Chelsea,less than a 5 min walk from the Sloane Square Tube Station. Only 35 rooms, with unsurpassed, personalized service. Charming little breakfast room, with only 5 tables. Hotel has a cute theater theme, so rooms are named for famous actors, vs. having numbers. Concierge got us great theater seats. Free tea and champagne in the afternoons in the lounge were an extra treat. Rooms luxurious and finely appointed. Pricey, but worth every penny.

Helpful?
7 Thank April1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 13, 2006

we had never been to this hotel before but as soon as I and my two teenage children walked through the unobtrusive doorway we all instantly fell in love with it and decided that we would always stay when in London. It was luxurious, warm, welcoming and all the staff were very friendly. It was almost impossible to believe that we were in London. It felt more like we were staying in a friends house in the country. We did not want to check out and we will definitely be back. I will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

As soon as i arrived at the hotel I knew it was going to be an amazing experience. I walked in the door and felt right at home. The staff was extremely friendly and the decour was exceptional. I love the hotel's layout because it feels like a big, cozy bed and breakfast. The room I stayed in was amazing. It had many amenities and the most comfortable bed. It was nice and large with a homey feeling. The hotel had so many little things that made a big difference in my stay. There was the sitting room, the computer with internet connection, champange in the early evening, movie rental, and so much more. Overall it was a joy.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mcoffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new forest, united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2006

my husband, myself and our 2 children have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and we love it! it is a real haven, tucked away just behind the hustle and bustle of sloane square. cosy fires, friendly staff, the most comfortable beds ever and a real home from home feel epitomise the draycott.
writing this review has made me yearn for our next visit!

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
14 Thank joa_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2006

The Draycott is the perfect blend of upscale London accomodation (three minute walk from Sloane Square tube and all the top boutiques in Chelsea)and a very comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. The shower had great water pressure, the beds were gorgeous 100% cotton, and the staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and just the right mix of attentive and reserved. The concierge was able to book us a nearby restaurant reservation I'd tried to get for weeks. The evening glass of champagne in the Draycott's lounge was a lovely opportunity to sit down and relax for a few minutes before the evening's next adventure... and have a nice chat with fellow guests, touching base for a few minutes and making the whole experience that much more memorable. You'll read reviews in the room's guest books, often saying "home away from home." I wholeheartedly agree.

Helpful?
25 Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#87 of 1,069 in London
802 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,069 in London
912 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#41 of 1,069 in London
747 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,069 in London
511 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Draycott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draycott Hotel

Property: Draycott Hotel
Address: 26 Cadogan Gardens, London SW3 2RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
#30 Romantic Hotel in London
#38 Family Hotel in London
#57 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Draycott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Town-House Hotel situated in Knightsbridge, around the corner from Sloane Square & tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Draycott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draycott Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing