We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Charming”
Review of Draycott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Draycott Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Charming”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I must have styed at this hotel 20 times over the past few years and have always found the staff to be welcoming, professional and polite. Some of the bedrooms are fantastic, others are a little more cosy but you get what you pay for. We have often had upgrades, twice to the one bedroomed apartment style room with its own kitchen and reasonable rates of around £200BB which for London is fair. This is a great location and the breakfast super especially the porridge. Complimentary tea, Champagne and hot chocolate are a lovely touch,but not all guests take advantage of this service. Must also mention that the beds are large and very comfortable with high quality linin. A quiet oasis - you would never know that you are so close to Sloane Square. Perfect if you are visiting that corner of London.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for - the single rooms may be small so go for a double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwmbran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_stoman, General Manager at Draycott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share your comments. I have noticed you have done a review once before in 2005, it is very rewording to know that you have enjoyed our hotel for so many years.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    103
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
137
202
128
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay at The Draycott Hotel! The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. Our rooms were beautifully furnished and very comfortable and clean. The central location was also very convenient. We really enjoyed the "extras", for example, evening hot chocolate and afternoon tea in the drawing room! There is also a complimentary glass of Champayne in the evenings, if you like that, and the yoghurt at breakfast was also the best ever!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_stoman, Manager at Draycott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback especially the heading. We actively try to make it feel like a home in the city and not a hotel. The not so secret, secret regarding the Yoghurt is that it is Loseley’s Gold award wining range, made in the UK.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Upon my arrival I was taken to the single room that I booked through Expedia. The room was so small that I can only fit there myself. I would not be able to open my suitcase. Moreover the room was next to the elevator and it was extremely noisy. Real prison. As I planned to stay for a week, it was impossible for me to toucher myself. At the end I had to upgrade, where I had to pay additional 70% of the costs that I already occurred.

Staff was very impolite, arrogant, did not answer my questions. In some cases it seemed like they speak very bad English and can repeat only phrases learnt by heart.

Despite of No disturb sign on my door, staff entered my room when I was away to leave a note. After I made a comment about that they were arguing with me.

I would never stay in this hotel again. I do not recommend to consider it at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zulsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_stoman, General Manager at Draycott Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I believe this issue has been resolved after we met yesterday morning. I trust you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a Double Deluxe room for 5 nights. I am sorry I missed you on departure today.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros
- just off sloane sq
- all 5 star equipment
- 159 gbp fair compared to london prices
- Good bed

Cons
- damp smell of old unfresh building (corridors and my room)
- quirky building, a bit run down feel of staircase etc
- unreliable and claustrophobically small lift
- hot water in shower 3-4 minutes underway

Will not return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraycottGM, General Manager at Draycott Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience 100%. I appreciate your comment that you will not return. I do however hope that you would contact me the next time you are in London, in order for me to show you rooms larger than our Single rooms. We are very proud of the work that has been carried out over the last twelve months; we have completely refurbished our Drawing room and our dining room and converted one of our suites into two lovely rooms, one a Standard double and one a Deluxe double. They were carefully designed by Nina Campbell to achieve the balance between a crisp, new feel and old worldly, all at the same time. We also follow a soft refurbishment plan, we do most of this work in the same style and it keeps the rooms fresh with no noticeable change. Our building consists out of three Edwardian Town houses that were converted into a hotel and it is certainty very quirky. Once again we appreciate your feedback and would love to hear from you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
2,056 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 882 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My mother, who is 80 years, spent 6 days days in that hotel. She doesn't speak English. She was given a very small room, with an uncomfortable bed, with an old used carpet, in a noisy area, with lots of stairs to climb.

When she inquired about breakfast, she was told it was expensive, but getting it for free was negotiable! To compensate for the bad quality of the room for a lady my mother's age, I would have expected that her breakfast would at least be offered.

The hotel staff should have been much more sensitive and change the initial room to a much better room. I had booked the room myself based on very positive comments on this site. Based on my mother's experience, I would not recommend this hotel despite its excellent location. The price paid is not justified. There are very good hotels in the same area, with better price / quality ratios.

Room Tip: Ask a description of the room before you book it. If you have a bad room, insist to change it. And a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sipivu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraycottGM, General Manager at Draycott Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your mother’s experience was less than satisfying. Our single rooms are a double edge sword. I refer to a review left on the 3rd of December by a guest who stayed for 5 nights in the same room type and really enjoyed it. We take all our guests feedback seriously and see it as an opportunity to improve and tweak our product, especially where service is concerned. We are very honest in how we sell these single rooms as some people love them and some do not. Therefore the we list the actual size in our description and we ensure that all guests know the beds are actual single beds. I am surprised by the expensive breakfast comment, as our breakfast prices are the lowest in price of the hotels in the area.
Please do contact me to discuss your concerns; I am very interested to hear from you and to ensure that this room type was sold to you accurately.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beware the single rooms that are not fit for even a child. They are dingy little rooms without even room for a single small bag. No air, no light and the beds are a box against the wall which is tiny for adults. Even though I had paid the same price as a decent room at other equivalent hotels, this one demanded extra money for a bigger room which had worn carpet, holes and water marks everywhere. Terrible. The toilet did not flush, the bath did not drain and was unusable. Worst of all the heating broke down on a freezing Friday night and the manager, a very smug Mr da Silva, said tough they couldnt fix it on a weekend!. This is not a five star hotel but a glorified bed and breakfast and with a terrible attitude to overseas guests. Shabby and over rated and over priced.

Room Tip: Do not get a single room but be warned even the suits are shabby and over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J9_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraycottGM, General Manager at Draycott Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Ms Perrett,

Thank you for your feedback on the 23rd of January.

We are disappointed that you were dissatisfied with your stay and take all feedback direct or otherwise very seriously. I have discussed it at length with our Front of House team. We did have the unfortunate experience of a broken down Air-conditioning unit during a cold snap, but I believe you were offered a complimentary upgrade to a suite with working heating. You are correct in stating our single rooms are small, they are and we are very honest in our descriptions and my experience is that some guest like them and some do not. The Draycott is known to be a home away from home, and categorised as a five star Town House Hotel as we are unique in our style. We are not a hotel with a big lobby, a restaurant or a bar. I appreciate that some guest prefer such a set up and I suspect that is what you may have anticipated. It is sold honestly as a Town House Hotel with appropriate rates. The rate that was quoted was more than fair for the room type that was offered. I would appreciate more feedback as this is how we improve on our product. Especially on your comment regarding our suits as I believe the room you were in was a double. I would like to get in touch with you, as I am deeply concerned that no report was filed regarding failing plumbing during your stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the Draycott & had the Edith Evans room. It was a small room but amazingly cozy. The staff were all excellent. It was like staying in someone's home. The common areas are beautifully appointed. The artwork, fireplaces and flowers add to the charm. I liked the honor bar in the drawing room. Very handy. You really feel like you're in a high class London home. The location is perfect. Not on a main street so it's quiet, but so close to Sloane Square and the King's Road. Great restaurants and shopping at a stone's throw. Transportation is close too. The Sloane Square Tube stop is a few blocks away and on Sloane Street there are 2 buses (19 and 22) that go to Picadilly so you're close to the museums etc. The Albert Hall is a long walk but do-able and so is Harrods, Buckingham Palace and the Thames. I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#93 of 1,069 in London
797 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,069 in London
908 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#43 of 1,069 in London
745 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,069 in London
511 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Draycott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draycott Hotel

Property: Draycott Hotel
Address: 26 Cadogan Gardens, London SW3 2RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#38 Family Hotel in London
#57 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Draycott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Town-House Hotel situated in Knightsbridge, around the corner from Sloane Square & tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Draycott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draycott Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing