We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in a fab location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Ranked #253 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is great. The staff are fantastic and its certainly worth booking in here. Great location, central London It's very clean, the rooms are very small and can be a bit noisy but the overall experience more than makes up for that.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADY VICTORIA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you by our colleagues. We hope to see you again soon. Ian Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 575 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Certainly one of London's best located Hotels, The Lowndes is part of the Jumeirah group. The rooms are small but cosy, and they are very nice. The breakfast is really good and quite ideal for business meeting in the morning. The only problem is that tables are a little to close to each other. Nevertheless as per budget it is difficult to get a better place in London. You have access to the Carlton Tower Spa and Pool.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGastronomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here as well as the spa and gym facilities at our sister hotel on the other side of Lowndes Street. We hope to see you again soon. Ian Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After staying at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower last year we decided to stay at the Jumeirah Lowndes this year. The hotel is in a great location for exploring London. Only a five minute walk from Harrods and situated in a beautiful part of London. The hotel offers a high level of quality and service. The rooms are small but nothing unusual for London hotel rooms. The rooms are furnished to high standards and the housekeeping team do an excellent job of servicing the rooms. The staff on reception are welcoming and helpful, as was the conceirge.
The only negative points I have was we ordered a free newspaper which we never received during our stay and the service at breakfast was terrible. On more than one occasion I witnessed the staff arguing with each other in the dining area and raising their voices from the serving area. I also thought some of their comments to other guests were rude. It wasn't the kind of behaviour I would expect in a Jumeirah property, or any five star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorky001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of your stay and I am pleased that you enjoyed the lcoation of the hotel and the quality of the rooms and front desk staff. I am very concerned regardng your comments about the breakfast staff and have investigated and addressed this with the team. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disruption caused to you by this situation, which I am confident will not occur again and does not reflect our normal standards. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the bhotel at some stage in the future. Ian Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and the service is always great.breakfasts are really good , rooms are a reasonable size for central London and the price compared to other similar standard hotels in the area is good.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the fantastic gym at the Carlton hotel nearby - a perk of staying at the Lowndes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interiorsqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted that you enjoy staying with us on a regular basis - we look forward to seeing you again soon. Ian Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Men are treated with greater respect than the female guests who are ignored.

The housekeeping staff is terrific, everything is spotless. The continental breakfast exceeds expectations and the staff are very well trained. However, the desk staff and management leave much to be desired.

When you enter a hotel and there are 3 men standing behind the desk, and the front door is very heavy one expects someone to open the door - especially the door man, and when the door is less than 5 feet away. That only happened when one expected a tip. It also did not happen for some time when I arrived from Paddington station and I had to search for assistance. I found the front staff poor with information and help.

When I asked for restaurant suggestions, the only suggestion was their hotel around the corner.
In other words - no concierge service.

I am in London several times a year, I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milhouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, and pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms and the breakfast experience. I am very concerned, however, with your impression of our front desk team and the doormen. Our front desk team is equally split between male and female colleagues, so I am afraid that you were unlucky to be met buy an all male reception team. I also apologise for the fact that you were not happy with doormen, and have addresssed your comments with the team. Please do not heistate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further and I thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Ian Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013.

THE GOOD:

It's a clean, modern hotel in a great location.

THE BAD:

Overnight parking £58 per night! Take the train!
The inclusive breakfast was only a Continental Breakfast.
The laundry charges were a tad excessive at £38 to dry clean a suit.

Room Tip: Take the train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Festidious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay and I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel location and facilities. I am sorry that you felt the car parking charges were excessive, although I would like to follow up with you directly because it appears that you were charged a higher non-resident rate which means you are due for a refund. Our resident rates are comparable to the local NCP charges. I do hope that we can successfully resolve this issue and thank you again for your feedback. Ian Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you've stayed in Jumeirah group hotels before, you know what to expect and on the whole The Lowndes delivers. A smaller, more intimate hotel to it's sister The Carlton Towers around the corner, it relies on the bigger property for the larger restaurant and the health club.

All of the staff are exceedingly customer focused and it feels genuine, rather than a corporate plan they have to follow. As we were visiting for a wedding anniversary a bottle of wine was sent to the room, which is a nice touch.

The rooms are pretty small for a Jumeirah hotel and the bathroom especially so. Don't try and get ready together, put it that way.

Breakfast buffet was not up to the standard I expect from Jumeirah in terms of quantity or quality, however, the a la carte menu is broad and good quality, but is expensive.

Location is excellent, just a 5 minute walk from the Knightsbridge tube, there is always a black taxi waiting outside and the concierge can arrange a limo in no time at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time. We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#136 of 1,077 in London
661 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#11 of 1,077 in London
997 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#86 of 1,077 in London
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#35 of 1,077 in London
803 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel

Address: 21 Lowndes Street, London SW1X 9ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#130 Business Hotel in London
#147 Family Hotel in London
#185 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $261 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel is a chic, contemporary retreat set against the timeless backdrop of Belgravia Village. Stay with us and enjoy local insights and tips from our knowledgeable doorman, al fresco dining on The Terrace during the summer months and access to one of London's most exclusive health clubs, The Peak Health Club & Spa. Overlooking a serene, leafy London square, this 88-room boutique hotel is just yards from Knightsbridge’s most fashionable stores, including Harrods and Harvey Nichols, as well as the individual boutiques and cobbled streets of Belgravia. Guests can enjoy modern British dining at Lowndes Bar & Kitchen, outdoor summer dining at The Terrace and a collection of superbly appointed, contemporary bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary Wi-Fi. You are also welcome to use the facilities at The Peak Health Club & Spa at the nearby Jumeirah Carlton Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Lowndes London
Hotel Jumeirah Lowndes
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing