We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great room for the price .....”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #223 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2005

We stayed here on a last minute deal for £99 2 weeks ago. The staff were friendly, our room was great, reception was finished and we were not disturbed by any refurbishment work at all (it was a weekend though). We ignored the breakfast at £21 and ate round the corner on Piccadilly. So if you end up with this as your 'mystery hotel' from a last minute deal then, as we did, come onto this site and read all the dreadful reviews, don't worry!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,440 - 4,446 of 4,899 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2005

I have just returned from a 2 day stay, after booking on Last Minute. I hadn't come across trip advisor until the morning of our journey, so was expecting the worst (tales of no lobby, plastic sheeting etc.) but was pleasantly suprised when we arrived. The lobby is now complete, the Bar is fantastic (the toilets are superb) the Amber Grill restaurant is also excellent, with warm and friendly waiters. The first room we were showed to was too warm and the windows didn't open...so we asked for a change and got a much nicer room, with a huge bed, and good size bathroom with a great shower. There was no mini bar, and no water in the fridge. Ok it's a bit run down, and there were no ice buckets in the ice room, but if you can get a cheap interent deal, go for it...I dread to think what the prices will be like when it's finnished!!! pus it's a great base for Bond St, Knightsbridge etc.

Thank StAlbansHerfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York NY
12
Reviewed February 27, 2005

I stayed in this hotel recently and it was the worst hotel experience I have had in at least 10 years. The worst part is that the hotel is being refurbished but they are charging premium rates anyway. I don't think Radisson realizes the damage they are doing to their brand name by allowing the hotel to operate during renovation.

To begin with, there was no lobby... forget that, there wasn't even a single chair to sit on in the reception area. Secondly, the room I stayed in does not need a "renovation", it needs to be torn up and rebuilt from scratch. The furniture was in horrible shape, some of it torn, the safe was broken, some tiles in the bathroom broken.

Need broadband access in the room? dream on! ok dialup? it can be done but the phone jack and the desk are 20 feet apart, forcing you to work on the floor on a carpet that hasn't met shampoo in about a decade. Want to get your mind off this hole by using the minibar? good luck, it was empty, except for a single bottle of water.

Service of course was terrible because the staff expect you to be angry at them, they know and you know that you've been had. As I write this, I see at the top of the page a link for the hotel "Great rooms from $297" it says. Great rooms? er... not exactly! I felt insulted, and you can be insulted for a lot less than $297.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
12
Reviewed February 24, 2005

I had requested to be away from the construction noise, but unfortunately that put us in front, on a busy street in the PM. Refrig. did not work, room was worn, no heat in our bathroom, and cool in the room, despite turning the heat all the way up.

Service/food selection in the makeshift bar was poor.

Go when the renovations are completed. --The new decor is modern, starck/cold, particularly the bar. The new restaurant looked far more inviting.

The new spa (just completed) looked fabulous.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
12
Reviewed February 19, 2005

We stayed at this hotel last night 19 Feb and it's in a shocking state.

Stear well clear unless you like loud road noise, dangerous electrics, empty minibars, tired shabby rooms, eating breakfast in the bar and a TV which turns itself on all night.

The staff were plesant and appologetic but could not make up for the standard of the accomodation.

Shocking.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2005

We stayed in this hotel in Dec 2004, and were quite honestly shocked at the state of this supposed 5 start hotel. Having paid over £160 for the night stay we expected a damn sight better than what we got. The room was old and tatty...bathroom was horrendous the basin would not even allow the water to drain.....the carpet was worn the windows were old and peeling and could hardly be opened...and generally was dirty.

To top it off the staff were rude, the place looked and sounded like a building site and eventhough I complained I was offered no refund just a complimentary nights stay! At least thats something but in all honesty im not sure I would even consider staying there for free!! Steer well clear of this one you have been warned.

3  Thank supersta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2005

1  Thank dexmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#114 of 1,077 in London
1,923 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,396 reviews
Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
#421 of 1,077 in London
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,303 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#49 Spa Hotel in London
#86 Family Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#164 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $309 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London
The May Fair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing