We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Area”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #215 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Area”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Funky design, close to casino, amazing shopping, bars and restaurant. Very good and helpful staff but just let down by the lady in the spa section. Front desk told me sauna was free and when we got down there it was not! therefore 4 instead of 5 on the ranking

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Johan,
Thank you for your review and I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
However, I do apologise that you were misinformed upon arrival by our Front Desk. Our sauna and steam is indeed chargeable to guests and I am just so sorry that you were not made aware of this.
I do hope this will not deter you from returning to The May Fair on a future occasion as we would be delighted to welcome you back soon.
With best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    1,067
    510
    277
    211
See reviews for
664
1,750
222
966
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I chose The May Fair Hotel with a highly recommendation of my friend. I can recommend to everybody also . From the entrance to the room i was amused with lovely smell inside the hotel. The room is big enough and cosy. Especially the location is perfect ! You can walk to everywhere in minutes. Concierge desk is very helpfull , they are well knowledge with the area and the latest in places. During my stay Ms zeynep ipek from guest relations was very helpful with my booking and took care of me well.
This hotel stands out of other hotels certainly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aston759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Aston,
Thank you for your review.
I am so plesed to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind compliments about the team here.
We very much hope to welcome you back on another occasion in the near future.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Super location for a hotel, tube station across the road, walking distance to so many places.
Very classy place, can be expensive if there is an event on in London but in fairness they all can.
Breakfast is expensive, it is very easy to take one elsewhere as there are loads of places within 2 minutes walk. Overall it is lovely if you want a little bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Nowhere seemed to have a major advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Philip,
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We very much hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff , cool atmosphere. We enjoyed our evening and loves the choice of barres. The room was large and had good quality through out. Lots of space which can be unusual in city hotels. The staff were professional and very helpful. The restaurant Quince was busy on the Saturday night we stayed, so would be wise to book before. The steak was delicious as was the cod fish unfortunately the service was very slow. the location is walking distance from Buckingham palace (3mins) Piccadilly and Oxford street. Very funky place and a range of different visitors.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here last month - a Friday overnight in London before a fairly early train journey to the East Midlands in the morning.
Generally speaking, the hotel itself, which is well located in bustling Mayfair, is usually reliable and worth the tariff.
However, on the Friday night in question, our overnight stay was ruined by some selfish "guests" who had decided to party in their bedroom on the 6th floor until 5:00AM. Our own accommodation was a few rooms away from the nucleus of the noise and our main problem was the constant overloud banter in the corridor.
Needless to say, multiple complaints were registered during the night and in the morning too. The staff on duty had attempted to calm down the morons but to no avail.
On checking out, we were advised that our complaint was noted on the system and a quiet room would be assigned to us for our next stay. Interesting approach!

Room Tip: How can you avoid rooms occupied by selfish guests?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was so sorry to hear about the noise disturbance and I would like to take this opportunity of offering you my personal apologies for the discomfort you were undoubtedly caused. This is completely unacceptable and I am just sorry on behalf of those residents.
If you do return to stay with us, we will ensure you are allocated a quiet room and I will also take personal care of your stay.
In the meantime, I send you my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I often stay in this hotel, sometimes for a whole week, so I know it pretty well. The common parts and the rooms are excellent. The decoration is relaxing and stylish and the new TVs in the rooms are superb (although no business channels - CNBC, Bloomberg - maybe that's a good thing).

My criticisms would be as follows:

Poor sound insulation between the rooms and corridors - you can hear everything that's going on outside your door - not ideal during the Christmas party season!

In the bathrooms - which are otherwise excellent - they use a dispenser system for the soap, shampoo etc - rather as you would expect to find in budget hotel or a public washroom. The dispensers work badly and often get clogged up. This seems a real false economy in a good hotel.

The room service staff have been trained by a double-glazing salesman. Try just ordering a sandwich and you will be on the phone for five minutes refusing offers of soup, a desert, wine, water...anything to get you to order more. Room service has a "tray charge" and 12.5% service
added, plus a space left on the ticket for a "gratuity". That said, the food when it comes is good and nicely presented.

The last two times I arrived at lunchtime with family in tow and lots of heavy luggage we struggled out of the taxi with small children and suitcases - completely unaided - only to be greeted by the porter in the lobby with an offer of help after we had done all the heavy lifting. Check-in can also be unbearably slow - you will need all your reserves of Zen if you arrive at a busy time.

The bar is often wildly noisy at night and full of the local crew of junior hedge-fund managers and estate agents along with a selection of charming working girls. If you fancy a quiet drink you will be out of luck! A residents only bar somewhere would be a nice innovation.

Anyway, don't let all that put you off. It's overall a pleasant experience and given central London prices it is often available at good value prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFinch9436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and your detailed feedback.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us and please be assured I will be following up your comments with my team.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from another fabulous stay the The May Fair. The hotel is a fantastic base in the heart of Mayfair. We were lucky enough to be upgraded and enjoyed the benefit of the Nespresso Machine. The Bar has a great atmosphere and drinks were fab. We hope to return again soon

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nerpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind compliments.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#175 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#379 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#48 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London
The May Fair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing