We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at the May Fair”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #223 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding and travelled from India. I booked three rooms, 2 deluxe rooms and 1 smoking room which has an amazing balcony! Definitely recommend all smoking rooms on the 2nd floor.
During my stay, my friends and I had the pleasure of meeting the Guest Relation Managers, Sophie Williams and Zeynep Kalkavan. These ladies are an asset to your hotel and I can see why many people have mentioned them on here. They are both friendly and attentive and make sure that everyone feels welcome and at home. Due to these 2 ladies, I shall be returning tomorrow with my family and even though the hotel is overbooked they are doing their best to accommodate us.
Housekeeping are always amazing and quick, as were Neville and Jamie in maintenance when one of our bulbs blew. Thanks guys! See you soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunilsgagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much and your kind mentions about the team here were a pleasure to read.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The May Fair.
With warmest wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,706)
There are newer reviews for The May Fair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,942 - 2,948 of 4,706 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

My friend is an ambassador of the hotel and recommended the hotel to me. I checked in and was greeted by Ipek Kalkavan, one of the Guest Relation Managers who was so helpful and made me instantly at home.
I loved my room and all the facilities were great. Tufan and Attosh were so welcoming for Quince and the cigar bar was amazing! Definitely check it out.
On check out I met Sophie Williams who is also a Guest Relations Manager. The ladies communicated well and she knew all about my stay and the special occasion I was celebrating. I felt like I was important and well looked after throughout my stay. Thank you so much Ipek, Attosh, Sophie and Tufan! Will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and the special mentions you made about certain members of the team.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us celebrating a special occasion and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
With warmest wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a bank holiday weekend and would recommend the location as it has easy access to several local spots many within walking distance. With green park station only around the corner this hotel is the perfect location.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are of an average size but spotless with great sized TV. If it was not a holiday i would have asked for another room as our room looked directly into offices that if had been occupied there would be zero privacy.If you wont to enjoy a quiet relaxed drink the hotel bar is not the place as it plays loud music is very busy with all types of visitors! The restaurant in my opinion is over priced for what you get but again the service especially from "Mostafa" made it enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was also delighted to hear you enjoyed the service you received from Mostafa in the bar and please be assured I will pass on your compliments to him. There is indeed another bar in the Hotel, which is quieter than the May Fair Bar, which is located in our Quince Restaurant.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Took my daughter for the weekend hoping for a once in a lifetime experience.
Couldn't fault the greeting from desk staff on arrive my daughter said she felt like royalty.
Arrived in room and was very disappointed we had double bed when booked through last minute . Com they said they would ask for twin beds. You couldn't watch tv in bed due to location of tv in wardrobe.
More worried as windows looked out onto grotty area outside and windows faced ours we checked and those windows looked frosted or so dirty you couldn't see out so we started to get showered etc to then notice one of those windows were open. Where ever we stood in the room we could be seen in mirrors of the wardrobe so we had no choice to keep our blinds closed and get ready in poorly lit room.
My daughters auntie also told me once I got home she asked for a note to be put in the room asking for a birthday happy birthday message to be left but too much trouble as they didn't bother.
Everything is plus service charge even the Buffet breakfast which we were only served coffee by waiter ? £53 for breakfast for 2 !!! So the next day we eat else where for half the cost for nothing different .
We were woken at 5.30 by lots of doors banging and someone banging on the door to be let in then again at 7.30 I'm sure by house keeping as crockery knocking around in corridor which made me call reception and ask for later checkout which was agreed so we could get but more sleep.
On checking out we were rudely ignored when an American traveller jumped in front and was then whisked away to a private checking desk by a member of staff who would have next served us, he obviously was more wealthy than us so was more important.
Will also point out on Saturday night was full of drunk girls and when we went in lift a woman jumped in and asked to go to 8th floor. I think when the bar is busy to outsiders the lifts should be checked that only residents are entering.
I'm not wealthy and not a person to complain normally but this was a once in life time for me and my daughter to experience and we have been left disappointed if I had the money to spend again I would stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xxxjasxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review and I was so pleased to hear the welcome you received by Front Desk made your daughter feel like royalty!
I was, however, saddended to read the remainder of your review and would like to take this opportunity of offering both you and your daughter my personal apologies for a disappointing visit especially as you were celebrating a special occasion.
I will certainly be following up your comments with my Executive team and would like to thank you for bringing this feedback to my attention.
If you do return to stay with us, which we would very much like, I would ask that you let my office know when you have made your booking so I can personally take care of you both.
In the meantime, I send you my best wishes.
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I came here for a business conference and stayed for 3 nights at GBP345 / night.
1) Totally unsafe - I was told UK is not as safe as it was so I spilt my money and put some in safe and remaining locked in my suitcase. I locked my suitcase everyday before I went out while my friend did not lock hers as there was no valuables inside. Today my friend found her suitcase was surprisingly locked - to a password combination which could open mine - while I found mine was opened. I checked my money (500 euro in 10 x 50 euro-note) where I put in the bottom of the suitcase, 3 notes of 50 euros were missing. I have counted the money before I spilt the money so I am very sure only 3 notes was taken away, while the suicase was remained zipped and things inside remained in order. 150 euro might not be alot (and I suspect many people might not bother if they are in hurry to take off) but it is a huge security and intrigity concern. I have reported to the hotel, they said will look at tapes and report to me after investigation. I have also reported to the police and I hope anyone consider to stay with this hotel would keep this in mind.
2) Wifi problem - when I checked in hotel, I was told to use the free guest network (any visitor could use after they register with any email address). I found it annoying as I have to register every time after I turn on my laptop. I found there was another secure network available so I asked the front desk if I could use that one. He gave me a password - which worked perfectly for following 3 days without kicking me out again. If that's the case, why not gave me the access when I checked in? I paid for GBP1k for 3 nights and I guess I deserve a secured wifi access. And I don't deserve it if I didn't ask for it??
3) Lousy corridor - Maybe there is a pub on ground floor at the hotel so the hotel is always busy at night with clubbing customers. From time to time at night, I always heard people talked or ran or banged door loudly. It was indeed annoying as I came for work and trying to have some rest at night.
Overall the hotel looks nice but it is definitely overpriced and the services do not qualified what it charged for. I would not come back again nor recommend to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sidney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review which I was extremely concerned to read.
This is a very serious allegation and I understand from my Head of Security that he is currently investigating and it may take up to several days in order for him to have fully investigated the facts. He also advises me he has your contact details and will be in contact with you directly.
With regards to your further points. I was sorry to hear about the difficulty you had with WiFi and I completely agree that you should have been given the secure network when you first arrived at the Hotel. I will be following this up with my Reception team so thank you for feeding this back to me.
I was also so sorry to hear that you experienced a noise disturbance from other guests during your visit and I would like to offer my personal apologies for this.
Our Head of Security, as mentioned, will be following up with the above allegation and rest assured we will ascertain the facts.
If there is anything I can personally, do please let me know.
With kind regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Spent my weekend in London for some pampering and I must say must say Mayfair did not disappoint me. Very spacious room with lovely bathroom. There was an allocated lift that directly take you to the beautiful spa. You can even be in your robe and slippers if you are not worried being seen on them at the hotel corridor :). Lovely restaurant and hassle free check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cris0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have experienced the best guest relations at the May Fair, second to none, and would happily recommend the hotel due to the personal attention I have received from Sophie and Ipek and will always return to The May Fair due to the professionalism of these ladies. Thank you very much for all your help!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willss99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you also for your special mention about Sophie and Ipek and please be assured I will pass on your compliments to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,072 in London
1,749 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#385 of 1,072 in London
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $353 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London
The May Fair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing