We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience you need to indulge in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #209 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience you need to indulge in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have been lucky enough to be able to treat myself to a number of stays at The Mayfair Hotel last year. I wanted to take the opportunity to let anyone reading this know my thoughts on the hotel. I have stayed in a number of different rooms, from standard, to Studio Suite and a Junior Suite. Each suite is individually designed and the fabrics, furnishing and details are incredibly luxurious, making you feel like royalty. I was very impressed by the size of the bathroom with a huge romantic bathtub in one of the suites. Even the standard rooms are like no other standard rooms you will find in London for that price.
On my last stay for my partner's birthday the hotel went out of their way to accomdate a surprise cake and gathering of friends which made the whole weekend very special. I cannot thank or praise everyone enough for keeping it secret! The welcome from the front of house is warm and efficient and the restuarant team are superb. I would definately recommend a meal at Quince within the hotel. The meal was utterly sublime, with incredible flavours bringing every taste bud alive in my mouth! I would also praise the professionalism and care of the events manager Andreas, who accomodated all of my requests and took the time to listen to my feedback from other stays at the hotel.
Phillip(e?) who checked me in on one occasion should also get praise for trying very hard (with success) to find a room which had a sofa in, so my best friend and I could spend time catching up over a glass of champagne. Housekeeping were even good enough to remove the contents of the Minibar so we could store our champagne in there.

All in all, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in ever. To the team, please keep doing what your are doing! This hotel is an experience everyone should try to undulge in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments were wonderful to read. Thank you so much for your kind compliments about the team here.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,248
    1,049
    503
    276
    206
See reviews for
644
1,726
218
950
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here with a few friend as we were having a night out in London. The rooms were fantastic and the bar was lively. The we didn't eat here or try the spa as we didn't have time. The casino downstairs was great! Overall from what we saw it was very good and in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind compliments.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Following a long flight from lax and then a painful trip in central London, arriving at the Mayfair was a delight. From the welcome I received the reception team and even being give a personal tour of the hotels facilities before being shown to my room by Janice. I was impressed by being given her direct extension number incase of any problems. They really couldn't do enough for me. The location is perfect and just a stones throw from green park station, and a short walk to soho/leister sq.
I would recommend this hotel and will be using for all of my trips to London in the future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Moogwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind compliments about Janis.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A well located traditional 5 star hotel close to Green Park and Regents Street, that needs to pick it's socks up. The Doormen are superb and thus your initial experience is encouraging. However the receptionists and majority of other staff struggle to speak English. Staff in the quiet bar were arguing loudly with each other on the second night, service was painfully slow and very expensive. Room was nice - big and comfortable, but there was machinery noise all night long. No instructions for the complicated Bang and Olufsun TV made it hard to operate - turned out one supply to the system was not turned on! No privacy curtains on the windows meant curtains closed most of the time. Overall - needs to work on it's customer service to justify it's price and stars

Room Tip: Ask for something away from machinery noise and not near room 421
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind compliments about the Doorman.
I am so sorry that you felt the remainder of your stay did not meet with your expectations. The service you have described is certainly not representative of the standards we strive to achieve here at The May Fair and I am just so sorry that on this occasion we failed to deliver.
I do hope you will give us another opportunity as I would personally be delighted to welcome you back to ensure this time you have a most enjoyable stay with us.
In the meantime, I send you my best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

the hotel is not to far from the station, door men waiting for you on arrival to open the door and get your luggage, water to drink and apples to eat upon check in. This was only the beginning of my stay at the Mayfair hotel. The reception staff were very polite and paid very much attention to detail. Concierge were very eager to assist with luggage to the bedroom.

The bedroom was very beautiful you literally want to touch every fabric in the room and the decor was gorgeous. Hardly wanted to get out of my bed and the row as very clean and smelt fresh, lot of space in the room and in the bathroom.

Hotel has a large gym with heavy weight equipment , a spa with steam room and sauna and relaxation rooms. The bar was very lively and the cocktails were to die for. I recommend the porn start cocktail not on the menu but ask for it anyways.

The hotel is within walking distance to all the happening clubs.

All in all great experience.

Room Tip: To be honest you get what you pay for. The rooms won't disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themostregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and your feedback which was a pleasure to read.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a night in the may fair hotel as a special couples treat. The hotel is beautiful and our room was very large and beautiful. The bathroom however was very cold , I think because the hotel is not very new the bathrooms are starting to feel a bit tired. Plus... There was no heating and it felt like minus 5 in the bathroom!
It is a fairly expensive hotel, but certainly worth paying. It is very chic and the food is also lovely.
We've stayed in the four seasons previously and I must say the four seasons is even better than the may fair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have taken on board your note about the bathroom and I will follow this up with my Head of Maintenance.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

If I went into the intricacies of how terrible this hotel was I would be here all day, so I will give the main points! We stayed in July last year, The Husband and I for a quick theatre break, location wise The Mayfair cannot be faulted. However upon arrival we were greeted by surly staff with limited English speaking ability, the room was basic crampt and smelt of smoke. After a to do we moved rooms to as equally crampt but less smelly room.
The bar was just ok, dated decor and moody loitering staff, but it was the obvious prostitutes entertaining and propositioning patrons that was simply astounding. No one seemed to bat an eyelid, obviously common place here.
Then to breakfast in the morning! The bread my toast was made from was mouldy! Green unmissable flecks all over. The incompetent waitress didn't even have the decency to look appalled and when we asked to speak to the manager she shrugged and said, He not in yet!
Utter waste of money and a horrible end to what should have been a luxury break! BEWARE!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Queenraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review which I was saddened to read.
The detail you have given is certainly not representative of the standards of service we strive to achieve here at The May Fair and I am so sorry you have been let down on this occasion.
I will certainly follow up on your points with my Executive team and would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention.
If you do wish to give us another opportunity, please do let me know when you have made the booking so I can be aware of your reservation.
Until then, my sincere apologies.
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#28 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#46 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London
The May Fair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing