We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigar Lounge”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cigar Lounge”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great Hotel which is full of class, the new addition in the Cigar Lounge is very elegant and a perfect gentlemans club. Our Waiter was 'Rohit' - who was fantastic. Not only in his knowledge of all of the cigars, cognacs etc but made the whole evening a better night. I understand he has recently got a promotion which isnt supprising. I have never wrote on a site like this before so it just gives you an indication of the impression he gave of himself and the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I was delighted to read your comments about our Cigar Room and so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for your kind comments about Rohit and please do rest assured I will pass on your compliments to him.
We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
With my best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,392
    1,117
    529
    286
    218
See reviews for
703
1,806
233
1,019
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've stayed here for one week in April 2011 and just returned from another week stay last week.

First the positives - and clearly there are lots of positives otherwise I wouldn't have returned. The location is awesome - a 2 minute walk to Green Park tube, Old Bond St., Hop On & Off Tour, the Ritz and Wolseley - to name a few. A grocery store right across the road which is super convenient - plus 2 Starbucks within 2 minute walk.

The bed is very comfortable, bathroom is lux (love the tub with built in TV) and hotel overall is very comfortable and upscale. I wish they had a mini-fridge in the room though - they have a pay mini-bar but you can't store your own stuff in it. All my dealings with hotel staff have been lovely so I was quite excited to return again.

However, on my recent stay from August 17 - 24 there were some serious noise issues the hotel needs to address. My first morning there (Saturday) the fire alarm went off at 6am. Painful. My room fronted onto Berkeley St on the third floor (room 340) with a view of Nobu across the road. I didn't realize there's a nightclub that's opened beside Nobu. This nightclub is out of control. Until well past 2am I was kept awake by screaming girls and honking cars as drunken guests stumbled out of the nightclub. At one point the screams were so severe I thought I was going to have to call the front desk to call for help for her. But when I peeked out the window it seemed her drunk boyfriend was trying to tackle the security guards at the club (who clearly were ineffective) causing quite a stir. I even put in the ear plugs I'd received on the plane - but they didn't help.

The next morning I inquired about this nightclub and the hotel staff said they'd had lots of complaints about the nightclub and said it's open from Tuesday - Saturday. I asked for, and got a room transfer far away from the noise - room 865 which looked onto the courtyard but I'd rather have peace and quiet than a view. This room was equally nice although the frequent room buzzers from neighbouring rooms were a constant disruption in both rooms.

Last year I stayed in room 328 which fronted onto Stratton and was much quieter - so if noise is a concern for you I'd recommend insisting on a courtyard room or a room fronting onto Stratton when you book.

Room Tip: If noise is a concern for you I'd recommend insisting on a courtyard room or a room fronting ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am happy to hear that you have returned and for all the good reasons. I am however very sorry for the issues you faced with the noise levels from the club across the street. I am glad we were able to offer you a new room.
Thank you for the points raised, rest assured they will be discussed over the next meeting in order to find ways to reduce noise levels, especially between room to room.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back once again,
Warmest wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frome, somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed here a few times over the past 2 years and over all it is a lovely place to stay.

When you walk through the doors, you are met with a lovely smell of air spray, which is continually sprayed. Nice! The staff are very friendly and efficient and because we have stayed here a few times, we always seem to get a free upgrade. Another nice touch!

The rooms are very clean and nice. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom new and modern. My only criticism is that because this is a party hotel, you will probably be disturbed in the early hours by other guests returning to their rooms, banging on incorrect doors, with shouting and laughing added for good measure!

Breakfast is ok, but pricey. We tend to go out for breakfast instead, but we would stay here again, because, depsite my only criticism, it is nice and in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOMERSET1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are very happy to have you as a regular guest and we are always happy in giving you that recognition that you deserve.
Our apologies if some disruptive guests may have caused inconvenience. I do hope you made our Reception aware of this and apologies were made.
Thank you once again for your continuous support,
Kindest regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

When a hotel makes such a big deal out of calling themselves a 5-star luxury hotel, you expect it to be absolute perfection. Well, it wasn't...
We checked in early, but the room they gave us had a queen bed and not the king bed that we booked. And the room was so small, you could hardly open the door without hitting the corner of the bed. We went down to get the right room and the receptionist said that the bed we had was a king bed, but that she would see if she could get us another room. When we got to the new room, the difference in bedsize was obvious.... There was no iPod docking station in the room, although advertised and one of our bathrobes had stains up the sleeves. The breakfast order slip was already filled in and the complimentary water had already been opened.

After spending the day around London, we were looking forward to a good nights sleep.... It was, until an alarm woke us up around 5am. We asked the receptionist at check out what the alarm was, and he told us it was the fire alarm.... But he didn't even offer a simple apology.

5 star luxury.....? Not even close....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear reviewer,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have described in your review of our hotel. Naturally I am very disappointed and would like to reassure you that your experience is not indicative of our usual service standards. I would be grateful if you would contact me directly so that I may dedicate personal attention to the concerns you have raised.
Kind regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The May Fair is in a formidable location - across the road from Nobu, two minutes walk from the Wolsely.

However, the garish decor of the bedrooms can partly explain why the foyer is filled with z-list reality TV stars and their hangars on, who all seem to be staying at the hotel.

The bar is extremely tacky and the clientèle just as trashy.

This hotel has all the hallmarks of a top rated hotel, yet disappoints with its own clientèle.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am sorry to have given you such a perception of this hotel however thank you for the comments in regards to the location and the vote for cleanliness.
If you would like to discuss the matter further please do contact my office directly.
Until then, we very much hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
Kindest regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Similar to a previous reviewer, we also had an issue with 600+ British Pounds charged to our credit card as a security deposit, however, we were NOT informed of this practice upon check-in. We were requested to provide a credit card which is normal procedure in the United States, however, charging "in advance" to the tune of nearly $1,000.00 US for our 1week stay was NOT disclosed. The card we provided was in British Pounds, and we intended to use this card for dinners, and the like. We, unfortunately, were unable to get this issue resolved for 3 DAYS after numerous calls and personal requests, though we provided our high-limit credit card as a replacement. Had we been informed upon check-in, this inconvenience could have been avoided, however, no attempt at an apology was offered to us. As another reviewer noted, making eye contact appears to be a challenge. Check out was equally as cold. As an American, I am used to engaging in conversation and offering a smile to anyone who provides a service. Sadly, I was not given the opportunity.

In terms of our room, (a 2 Queen Bed/2 Bath) it perfectly met our needs. We were on the second floor, away from the elevators as I requested upon check-in. (I did, however, request this in advance in two e-mails that went unanswered). The room was clean, beds comfortable, and bathrooms spacious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry to hear about your issues and I will bring these up with our Head of Department as it is our standard procedure to always warn of the authorisation charges whilst checking in.
Thank you also for the feedback you have provided and I am happy we were able to guarantee your requests prior to arrival.
We very much hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
Until then, we send you our warmest wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We wanted somewhere a little special and in the heart of London for our 10th wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left every member of staff was friendly, courteous, unpretensious and helpful. The room was beautifully appointed, spacious, modern and incredibly comfortable. The bar was vibrant and casino unintimidating; the staff were happy and patient enough to advise a pair of novices too (ended the night £50 up)! To complete a perfect weekend complimentary champagne, chocolates and strawberries were delivered to our room as an unexpected and wonderful surprise. The hotel's fantastic location also allowed easy walking access to the parks, Soho and the rest of the West End. We shall return...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyandNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your special occasion with us. The feedback you have provided is very kind and I am happy that our Guest Relations Team was able to make your stay a little extra special.
I will pass on the feedback to the staff in the Casino.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Warmest wishes to both,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#166 of 1,067 in London
1,644 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,067 in London
2,159 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,132 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#89 of 1,067 in London
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#48 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#167 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London
The May Fair Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing