We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very surprisingly fun and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Hinde

Golden Hinde
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.80*
and up
River Thames Fast Boat Experience in London
Ranked #174 of 1,591 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit this living-history museum and find out what it was like to sail the mighty seas aboard an Elizabethan galleon during the adventurous days of the 16th century.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very surprisingly fun and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a children's party on the Golden Hinde. The crew were really amazing. They were not only able to keep the children entertained, but were also able to impart a great deal of historical information about the time of Sir Francis Drake and piracy. The crew care deeply about the history and the ship, and hope someday to raise enough money so that it can sail again.

The ship itself is fun to walk around, with the various tight quarters and a great attention to detail. I highly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    101
    46
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun with Pirates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited the Golden Hinde with 2 boys (aged 9,5) on a Bank Holiday Monday, during Pirate Fun Day. We enjoyed exploring the replica of Francis Drake's ship, which circumnavigated the globe.

But what made it a big hit with the kids was the Pirate Fun Day session. Costumed actors dressed as pirates made them play games. There was a treasure hunt on board the ship. General slapstick fun as the kids got to be pirates in training. They pretend fired a cannon, knotted ropes and turned the capstan to haul up the anchor, learning something while they played. A very enjoyable experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desi_Gal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A fun outing for a couple of hours with kids but only if you get a tour with one of the actors. I took a 7 year old and a 5 year old. They enjoyed running round the ship and investigating or 20 mins alone but It's definitely worth going when the actors are there to bring it to life. We had an amazing storyteller/actor who came and did age appropriate activities e.g. Loading a cannon (with audience participation) and raising the anchor. We learnt a lot of fun facts about Francis Drake. Note that its not suitable for a buggy and I wouldn't be happy carrying a baby up and down the steep stairs to get below deck.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinnola470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a LIving Social voucher that was about to expire so I hastily booked tickets for the 'Tudor Fun Day' on May Bank Holiday. Granted, the setting is glorious but I certainly hadn't anticipated how much fun this would be. The actors (Tom and Michael) were genuinely hilarious and the kids were captivated for the entire two hours which was no mean feat. Their roleplay was interspersed with historical nuggets, and plenty of humour for the grown ups too. I can think of fewer times when we've had as much fun together doing something educational. I would definitely visit again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizzimodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“GOLDEN HINDE II - Fun History Lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Walking to the Thames from Borough Market near London bridge a large mast ship is docked between the modern buildings. It is the Golden Hinde II, a replica of Sir Framcis Drake's ship that has followed the same seas as its predecessor circumnavigating the globe from 1577-1580. Now moored and offering a fun approach to history for kids of all ages with fun adventues led by 16th century costumed characters.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chichicastenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Hinde also viewed

 

Been to Golden Hinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing