We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-class visit”
Review of Golden Hinde

Golden Hinde
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.76*
and up
River Thames Fast Boat Experience in London
Ranked #167 of 1,608 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit this living-history museum and find out what it was like to sail the mighty seas aboard an Elizabethan galleon during the adventurous days of the 16th century.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First-class visit”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We and our grand-daughter Jessica (9) really enjoyed the 3pm Guided Tour yesterday. We had a long chat beforehand with administrator Emily (charming young lady) and then the professional actor who took our Tour (young man who’s name I didn’t catch) - well he was just fantastic both for entertaining and involving the children and adults and for describing the appalling conditions on the voyages so vividly. Good value. Essential to book a guided tour (better than the DIY tour) and we had some very friendly & efficient e-mail help from Kevin Howells, Operations Manager with booking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SMILYEXPLORER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    103
    46
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very fun (and cheap) way to amuse kids”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Took my 6 yr old girl and 3 yr old boy to the Golden Hinde yesterday and booked the pirate show which started at 2pm. The two actors Captain Sam and Malicious Mick were very good, brilliantly funny to the 20 so so kids there and kept the adults entertained as well. Its 2 hours long which went quite quick, the below decks adventure was god but not when you are 6ft tall! Enough history - learnt a few things plus a treasure hunt with gold choc coins at th send. Brilliant way to spend 2 hrs with kids fully entertained. price for the three of us £17 which is a bargain.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Fun On 'Pirates Day'”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited during schools half-term holiday period with our 10-year old daughter. They had arranged a couple of actors to 'play' pirates and teach the children about life abroad the ship.

They achieved this with a great deal of humour and fun and the near 2 hours that were were there flew by.

I think attending on 'pirates day' really made the visit which we all thoroughly enjoyed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

You turn the corner in 'Cheapside' in the rat run of old alley ways and huddled buildings a mixture of medieval amd modern to see the Golden Hinde moored, like a ship out of time in dock.

Briiliant fun- children love it- you would never guess it was a replica! sit where Drake did, peer through the cannon ports- OH...1

MIND YOUR HEAD- Iam 6 feet six, and had to travel on my hands and knees on the gun deck, BUT still had a great time

only need an hour- dont miss this hidden gem

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Veeb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed not much information provided”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The vessel was OK but very little information provided about the ship, the crew, Sir Francis Drake etc If you dont know it beforehand, you wont learn it here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Hinde also viewed

 

Been to Golden Hinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing