We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not the original, but interesting”

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
Ranked #98 of 1,909 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is a unique international resource dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the playhouse for which he wrote, through the connected means of performance and education.Together, the Globe Theatre Company, Shakespeare's Globe Exhibition and Globe Education seek to further the experience and international understanding of Shakespeare in performance.
Reviewed May 20, 2015

Was cool to see the environment in which Shakespeare told his stories, but it's not the original and for me personally, wasn't a must-see in London. I'm glad I went, but it's not something I would go back to.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank jmb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shakespeare play"
in 189 reviews
"standing tickets"
in 161 reviews
"sam wanamaker"
in 147 reviews
"midsummer night's dream"
in 119 reviews
"romeo and juliet"
in 101 reviews
"twelfth night"
in 95 reviews
"king lear"
in 71 reviews
"shakespeare fans"
in 63 reviews
"standing area"
in 63 reviews
"guided tour"
in 313 reviews
"millennium bridge"
in 88 reviews
"unique experience"
in 71 reviews
"three hours"
in 86 reviews
"south bank"
in 88 reviews
"front row"
in 76 reviews
"london pass"
in 128 reviews
"performance"
in 1,263 reviews
Filter

4,097 - 4,101 of 7,962 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2015

I saw Othello here, recently, and the staging was wonderful.

There were also surtitles high up on either side of the stage.

It is definitely worth a visit.

Wrap up warm, though!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank LadyLindaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015

I was treated by my wife to a day at the theatre to see merchant of venice. The weather was a little variable but that did not detract from an otherwise excellent experience. Interaction with the audience by some of the actors was an interesting and amusing 'bonus'.
A very enjoyable day, excellent play and would suggest very good value for money!

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank banshee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

We loved the Globe! No visit to London is complete without a bit of history. This is the perfect spot. We learned so much. Definitely magical for any Shakespearian actor.

Thank Bekah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Very touching to be in such a place, where you can go back in time, learn a little bit of history and teacher.
The guide was fantastic, he gave so much details with such a good sense of humor, it was delightful.
In my next visit I'll make sure that I buy tickets for the play in the evening. It must be incredible!

1  Thank PeregrinaBrasileira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing