We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow ”

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.96*
and up
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea
More Info
$124.43*
and up
Shakespeare Walking Tour in London
More Info
$45.53*
and up
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour with Thames River Cruise in London
Ranked #37 of 1,655 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is a unique international resource dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the playhouse for which he wrote, through the connected means of performance and education.Together, the Globe Theatre Company, Shakespeare's Globe Exhibition and Globe Education seek to further the experience and international understanding of Shakespeare in performance.
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wow ”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

went on the tour ,really interesting and informal such an impressive structure. we want to go back for a show now. its a must see if you like Shakespeare.

Helpful?
Thank walkaboutboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,458
    1,698
    444
    131
    77
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was given the opportunity of a tour of this theatre as a fathers day present. Together with my wife we went on 20th November 2013. The weather was very cold and we walked along the Embankment which was almost deserted. Having booked in at reception we were very speedily taken around the theatre by a young lady who communicated her knowledge and her enthusiasm in a manner which, bearing mind the age range of the approximately twenty strong group went from late teens to late sixties, struck just the appropriate balance between maintaining interest and information. The opportunity to ask questions demonstrated her wide grasp of her topic. In the time allowed for the visit we absorbed as much information as was reasonable. We fully intend to return at some opportune time in the future to experience the theatre in use. Only in that way, I consider, can you fully utilise the knowledge gained from the tour which after all is only about the site, the actual development and the background to that development. I would definitely recommend the tour. While there we experienced a very bright flash of lightning, a huge crash of thunder followed by a torrential downpour of rain and hail. We assumed it might be a preview of Shakespeare's "The Tempest". It wasn't, but just enhanced an amazing experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“overall lacking”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

we were very excited to go on this tour, and i am glad we did, however i wish there was more to it. we got to go and sit in the seats and listen to the very informative and passionate tour guide paint us a picture of what it would have been like to attend a play back in Shakespeare's time, however all we did was sit there. it would have been nice to be able to go in the balconies or on the stage. at the end i was more than ready for it to be over.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tarynk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had tickets with the 2 for 1 offer with train tickets and this was excellent value. The tour was enjoyable but the tour guide was very irritating, I sound awful but I just wanted information not a 'comedy' routine, perhaps its an age thing but I found her style of presenting knowledge annoying and stopped listening after a while. Definately worth a visit though and will visit London again and hopefully see a production here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Touristy but a great evening out”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We go regularly.

The formulae is always the same with an emphasis on crowd pleasing activity by going onto the audience and through the musicians and the final wind up of all the players dancing on stage in a kind of farewell tableau.

I think some of the young actors confuse high speed verbal, excitable, delivery with acting. For me that does not work. If you cannot hear the words much of Shakespeare is lost. I always read the play the night before to get my ear attuned, but even for a play I know well the Globe performances are hard to follow.

BUT--

having said that, it is generally a great evening's entertainment. The venue is unique in being as it was in the original Globe, the style of acting and audience involvement is similar and there is almost a burlesque feeling to it all.

The very closeness and interactivity of the crowd is as much a part of the evening as what is happening on stage. You can if you try imagine you are re-enacting the experience of Tudor audiences.

Standing in front of the stage is the way to do it, but hard work. The seats in the balconies are hard and without backs, so buy, bring or hire a cushion and of you can, get a rear row seat where you can lean your back against something.

Some of the non- Shakespeare events have been wonderful this last year.

But it is so full of tourists, I often wonder if they could explain the play they have just watched, but if they enjoyed themselves, what does it matter.

Finally, superb views on a mid-summers evening back the St Paul's cathedral as you promenade across the Millennium Bridge.

The Globe probably is un unmissable place for tourists anyway, so why should I be surprised.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing