We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful review of English Jewish history”
Review of Jewish Museum

Jewish Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.30*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #229 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Jewish Museum London is for people of all backgrounds and faiths to explore British Jewish heritage, identity and culture. Set against a spacious and modern architectural backdrop with displays across four permanent galleries, the museum brings the Jewish story to life, placing it in a wider context of British history. Our education programmes, exhibitions and events encourage a sense of discovery and creativity and tell the story of Jewish history, culture and religion in an innovative and compelling way.
Homosassa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful review of English Jewish history”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The museum is interesting with many artifacts donated by local families. It is worth the 7 pounds sterling admission. the various displays from old Jewish hospital and orphanage to the Jewish bakery were informative. We enjoyed the visit immensely.The museum is located in the Camden district which is an eclectic and diverse neighborhood - quite upscale around the museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RippleManatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    56
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ Traveler
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Different History of London”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Small and tucked away in Camden Town. I went primarily to view a limited exhibit on singer Amy Winehouse. I recommend you get there before it closes (end of Sep). The rest of the museum provided a nice commentary on the history of Jews in London and England. Worth a look.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank spcemtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billinge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was visiting london to visit the Jewish museum to see the amy winehouse exhibition.
On arrival we were asked to leave our bags to wall around the museum the security guard and lady on reception were lovely and friendly.
We had a quick mooch around the headed to the top floor to see what we had come for.
The exhibition was lovely me and my friend love amy so it was ace to have a better insight into her life seeing her clothes photos and old records she had collected.
Wanted the exhibition to be longer but that's just me as a fan!
If your a amy winehouse fan it's a must see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We ended up going here to visit the Amy Winehouse exhibition. The exhibition was quite interesting with photographs of her childhood, dresses and personal items. We had a look around the rest of the museum which was well worth visiting and gave us a good insight into Jewish migration, the hololocaust items were particularly interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“There were shut on thursday/friday on a working week.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I came from a long way to see amy winehouse things. I was so, suprise there were close on thurday and friday. Its a working week why were you close?. There were 4 other people at the door they too came all over the uk. Would I come back? NO

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rajesh4cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JewishMuseum, Museum Administrator at Jewish Museum, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am very sorry that you visited the museum while we were closed. Although we are normally open on Thursdays and Fridays, we were closed last week on these days as it was the Jewish New Year, Rosh Hashanah, as was indicated on the front door. We do hope that you will be able to come see the Amy Winehouse exhibition at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing