We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location for surprise 50th birthday party”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #37 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Surprised my brother by having his birthday here. He loves Gordon Ramsey and we had dinner in his restaurant the Savoy Grill - wow!!! Followed by cocktails in the cocktail lounge. Wonderful hotel - rooms beautiful and this surely has to be one of Londons finest!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N6RDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to hear you chose The Savoy to celebrate such a special occasion. From our guest rooms to Gordon Ramsay’s Savoy Grill and our wonderful cocktails, many thanks for your kind comments which I look forward to sharing with the team.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,672 - 2,678 of 4,884 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely setting...excellence is the only standard here, from your first step into the establishment until checkout. The prestige of this hotel has long been recognized, and it's good to see that they're not resting in their laurels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVaccare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed a stay at our iconic hotel. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left our experience at The Savoy was first class.

The staff at The Savoy make the experience of staying here extra special. From checking in to checking out nothing was too much trouble and every need attended. The staff go the extra mile here to make sure your stay is the best and do so at all times with a genuine smile on their face. Other hotels could learn a lot from The Savoy here.

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a river view room and as you would expect the room was beautiful. A entrance hall led to the bedroom with a large and very comfortable bed, views of the Thames and all amenities you would wish for. The large marble bathroom had a large walk in shower and a roll top bath with his and her sinks all spotless and very luxurious.

We had dinner at Kaspers and drinks in the Beaufort Bar, both excellent.

If you are looking to book somewhere in London centrally located and want the best then stay here. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Luxury King River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stockbridge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The Savoy. I’m so pleased you enjoyed the experience, from appreciating our beautiful guest rooms and amenities to dinner in Kaspar’s and drinks in the Beaufort Bar. It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest has made the most of their visit.

We hope you will visit The Savoy again.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent two glorious days in London to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary.. Thought we would treat ourselves to afternoon tea at the Savoy. We arrived early and was greeted warmly. Within minutes we were seated and introduced to our waitress. She explained clearly the courses that would be delivered and the endless varieties of different teas on offer. We opted for our favourite 'Breakfast' ~ despite the occasion you can't beat the blend you really like and many others I've tried don't really cut the mustard for me. Sandwiches on offer were the traditional egg mayonnaise, smoked salmon , coronation chicken and one other that neither of us really were all that keen on. On the top of the cake stand were four scones accompanied by the most delicious preserve I've tasted in a long while. Add the clotted cream and you've died and gone to heaven. No rush, no hassle and endless offers to have one's china cup replenished. We spotted a young girl in front of us on her own, also partaking in afternoon tea. She appeared to be asking staff their advice on every morsel. When she tried to tackle the scones, bless her she was woefully lacking despite her best attempts. Instead of the cream and jam she sparingly 'buttered' the two halves then put them back together to try and eat that way. Bless this girl and my husband agreed that the only decent thing a Yorkshire women could do was intervene and show this lovely lady the best way to flavour such a treat. After introducing myself I offered her step by step instructions on how she might best proceed. She explained that she was from Korea but was working in Zurich. When she had the chance of some time off work she decided to visit London. When her colleagues heard they recommended that she did 'tea at the Savoy'. She beamed with delight when she took her next mouthful and thanked us for helping as 'yes' the end result was far better. However staff were quick to ask us all if everything was alright ~ nothing went un-noticed. Next course was the sweets. I thought our scones handled that little stage but apparently not. My eyes nearly popped out of my eyes with the array on offer. Not satisfied with that they asked us if we would like to try their signature 'cakes' for the day which were Banana Loaf or Double Chocolate. Needless to say I didn't want to eat anything else for the rest of the day. The bonus through out all of this was the time allowed just to drink in the ambiance and grandeur of the place. Top that with the pianist that arrived to entertain us and who could ask for anything more... Pricey? Yes. Worth it? Definately if only for the once in a lifetime experience. As for the ladies powder room ~ well oh lordy lordy ~ sumptuous simply sumptuous...

Room Tip: As we only ate here unable to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Afternoon Tea experience. It is particularly nice to hear you chose to celebrate your anniversary with afternoon tea at The Savoy. Many congratulations from us here. I also appreciate your very positive feedback and look forward to sharing it with the team.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently stayed at the Savoy for two nights to celebrate my birthday and wish we could have stayed longer, this hotel is just awesome.
We've stayed here several times before and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are wonderful, beautifully decorated with marble bathrooms and the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The service and staff are first rate, friendly, professional and who make you feel both very special and very much at ease. The birthday cake and greeting was a lovely personal touch, thanks to everybody who made our stay so enjoyable and can't wait to see you all again.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and book a river view room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you celebrated your birthday at The Savoy. It is also great to hear that as a returning guest you continue to enjoy staying with us. It’s great to see the team’s efforts did not go unnoticed, I look forward to sharing your comments with them and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

To stay at The Savoy is the most memorable experience of staying at a hotel . You are welcomed .... All the staff are so so helpfull and the comfort and service make one feel like the only guest ! In my mind The Savoy is the only hotel to stay at in London . I have stayed many times here and would very highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gabrielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read that as a returning guest, you continue to enjoy staying at The Savoy. I very much appreciate your kind words and know that all the team here will be proud to hear them.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

An overnight stay as an anniversary treat for my wife was exactly as hoped for. Excellent food and attentive staff made it a very special occasion for both of us. Would certainly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredandhappy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your glowing review of The Savoy following your recent stay with us and I’m so pleased the experience went beyond expectations. It is particularly nice to hear you chose The Savoy to celebrate your anniversary. Many congratulations from all of us here.
I look forward to sharing your positive feedback with my team who always appreciate kind words regarding their service.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,078 in London
3,701 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,078 in London
2,608 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,078 in London
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#17 of 1,078 in London
537 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $556 - $1,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing